Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2019 Crowd Watch

Its a Sydney thing. allergy to travel or something I think.
Better to take 15mins less and not have as good an experience apparently
How good's this attitude hey!

Instead of thinking of ways to encourage fans to attend existing games, you're more interested in mocking the reasons casual fans won't attend.

Separate out the thought patterns and discuss like adults hey?

1. We're all footy fans, we're all gonna go. Extra 10km/15min is no drama
2. CASUAL FANS - people who don't attend footy more than a handful of times in a year, sometimes only once or twice - it needs to be as easy as possible for them to attend.

That's the discussion that needs to be had. How to get those people attending. If that means keeping the game at a venue a bit closer to the home area of both clubs, then that's a good thing.

But yeah, keep mocking "oh noes extra 15 minutes" like it means something :thumbsup:

Hank_Scorpio

Instead of thinking of ways to encourage fans to attend existing games, you're more interested in mocking the reasons casual fans won't attend.

2. CASUAL FANS - people who don't attend footy more than a handful of times in a year, sometimes only once or twice - it needs to be as easy as possible for them to attend.

That's the discussion that needs to be had. How to get those people attending. If that means keeping the game at a venue a bit closer to the home area of both clubs, then that's a good thing.

But yeah, keep mocking "oh noes extra 15 minutes" like it means something :thumbsup:

Would have thought providing a modernized, comfortable, exciting sporting venue is a significant encouragement for the casual fan to attend. Watch the footy at a white elephant or a shiny new showpiece, tough choice!

as in the ones up around Yamba?
just noticed that tweet was made at 4, they wouldn't even get there in time!

Its a nice gesture, and they deserve it, but not much logic behind it

Yep. That was the reason for my sarcastic post.
Although it was Peter Beatie. He probably thinks the game is on at Suncorp.

Would have thought providing a modernized, comfortable, exciting sporting venue is a significant encouragement for the casual fan to attend. Watch the footy at a white elephant or a shiny new showpiece, tough choice!
All this ridiculous reply shows is your unwillingness to engage in mature debate.

Stop treating this like a discussion among rusted-on footy fans.

For the most part they're not actually knowing or caring about the venue. They're caring about the teams involved, whether its easy to get to, and the cost.

Ask them to go to a further-away venue and that may well see them decide not to go. If you don't think that's a factor then I can't help you.

Yep. That was the reason for my sarcastic post.
Although it was Peter Beatie. He probably thinks the game is on at Suncorp.
This would be a fair comment if it were only local brigades fighting the fires - however with the fires in Northern NSW last week I understand that strike teams from around the state and even from Victoria and SA came in. So it stands to reason it wouldn't just be from those areas.

Also fairly confident the tickets were offered through the RFS over recent days, not simply from Beattie's tweet this afternoon.

This would be a fair comment if it were only local brigades fighting the fires - however with the fires in Northern NSW last week I understand that strike teams from around the state and even from Victoria and SA came in. So it stands to reason it wouldn't just be from those areas.

Also fairly confident the tickets were offered through the RFS over recent days, not simply from Beattie's tweet this afternoon.

Even better. Those Victorian and SA firies better get cracking too.

Thats like saying I'll got to this avg restaurtant thats near me, the foods pretty good but the service and ambiance is terrible, or I could drive another 10km and go to an amazing restaurant where the food is just as good but the service and decor are out of this world. I'm guessing the better of the two options for most people would be drive an extra 10km for a much better night out?

In regards to causal fans, again Id say its much harder to attract casual fans with less buy in to the teams performance to a sub standard 2/3rds empty venue in the middle of nowhere than it is to a sold out state of the art venue tahts surrounded by places to kick on to after the game, even if it is a little further away. Anything under 30k tonight will prove my point.

Regardless, Old pistol Pete looks like a total dick mentioning it 5hrs before the game. He does understand that most people can’t just drop their shit and go to a game with a few hours notice right?

f**k me the nrl has no strategy. Absolute chook raffle

Regardless, Old pistol Pete looks like a total dick mentioning it 5hrs before the game. He does understand that most people can’t just drop their shit and go to a game with a few hours notice right?

f**k me the nrl has no strategy. Absolute chook raffle

Absolutely.
As genuine as this offer may have been, and yes, it is a nice offer, I see it as just a publicity stunt.
Let's be real here. How many RFS crew went up to fight the fires from Sydney and surrounds? Because, tbh, these are the only people who could take up this offer.
Let's just assume 20 crews went up. Assume each crew had between 4 and 10 people. That's between 80 and 200 people who could realistically take up this offer. Let's just say 300 to be generous.

Now, of those, how many are RL fans? Narrowing it down, how many are Rabbits or Manly fans? How many are exhausted and can't be f**ked? How many are from the Illawarra, Blue Mountains or Central Coast?

Seriously, and I said it before, as nice as the offer is, it will be lucky to add 20 people to the crowd and is nothing more than Beattie being seen as a moral martyr.

Jamberoo

I wonder if it's because outside of corporate tickets it's not possible to buy AFL Grand Final tickets in advance?

Would limiting the sale of the NRL Grand Final tickets to the week of the show; ensuring that the crowd already knows who is in the Grand Final when they are buying tickets assist in selling out the Grand Final? Or would it do the reverse due to the lack of 'attendance culture' in Sydney?
Down here it took 40 years of GF crowds between 100k and 122k, then a reduction to under 100k in 1992 to bring about the crazy demand for tickets.
Hopefully a similar thing will happen in Sydney once we have three GFs in a 45k - 48k venue, meaning lots of fans upset about missing out, then the move to a 70k stadium. To create crazy demand, club members need to miss out on tickets in 2020, so that Clubs can then introduce memberships with different priority for GF tickets for 2021/22, then hope it flows on once ANZ reopens.

Hank_Scorpio

All this ridiculous reply shows is your unwillingness to engage in mature debate.

Stop treating this like a discussion among rusted-on footy fans.

For the most part they're not actually knowing or caring about the venue. They're caring about the teams involved, whether its easy to get to, and the cost.

Ask them to go to a further-away venue and that may well see them decide not to go. If you don't think that's a factor then I can't help you.

Speaking of ridiculous replies... I’m not asking for your help, it’s my opinion that better facilities would incentivise casual football goers to go over an eyesore location closer to home.

I speak as a casual sports fan of many sports, along with close friends, who are happy to travel up to 90 min each way if the event and facilities have the right appeal. Don’t speak on behalf of a large group of people like it’s fact. You stated your opinion, I disagreed.