Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2019 GF | PREMIERS - Roosters 14-8 Raiders @ ANZ

Grand Final: Roosters v Raiders

Alan Johnson

Tainted game but the Roosters have been on another level for two seasons and were always odds on to go back-to-back. Who else is leaving apart from Cronk?

nick87

Bad call but didn’t cost us the game
We just weren’t good enough on the night I’m afraid

that’s footy

Canard

Of the 60% possession, 65% territory, and 20 odd plays inside our 20 that you had in the 2nd half last night, why is the 1 with a dodgy referee signal the sole one that stopped you from winning?

Why was the dodgy signal that denied you a single play more critical in deciding the outcome than, say, the missed knock on call against Whitehead diving on a loose ball on halfway in the 55th minute? That denied us a set of 6 in attacking position. If we are going to play the hypothetical game, if that knock on is called and we get a scrum, maybe we score while cronk is in the sin bin.

Let me guess though, that call is different for some reason.

Fact is Raiders had more than enough possession, territory, and opportunity to win the game. IF they were good enough. They were not.

The meltdown continues.

You won mate. Continuing to put shit on Raiders fans is poor form.

There is literally a rule that says changing a decision on the run is not allowed. It doesn't matter if they would have scored or not, they weren't given the chance

What about the other chances they had in the 2nd half? Do we just ignore them?

I don't remember too many people being upset by that touch judge call in week 1.

skeepe

What about the other chances they had in the 2nd half? Do we just ignore them?

I don't remember too many people being upset by that touch judge call in week 1.

I don’t remember too many Raiders fans trying to argue that the touch judge’s call was correct either.

Meanwhile we’ve got Tweedle-dumb and Tweedle-dumber here trying to tell us Cummins did the right thing by changing mid-play, something that literally never happens and, according to the rules of the game, cannot happen.

I don’t remember too many Raiders fans trying to argue that the touch judge’s call was correct either.

Meanwhile we’ve got Tweedle-dumb and Tweedle-dumber here trying to tell us Cummins did the right thing by changing mid-play, something that literally never happens and, according to the rules of the game, cannot happen.

The call was ultimately correct though.

You are advocating for an incorrect call to stand.

Justice was served.

skeepe

The call was ultimately correct though.

You are advocating for an incorrect call to stand.

Justice was served.

The Raiders were denied an opportunity to put on a play due to referee interference.

If Cummins never waves for six again, Wighton does something different.

There is nothing just about that.

The Raiders were denied an opportunity to put on a play due to referee interference.

If Cummins never waves for six again, Wighton does something different.

There is nothing just about that.

The result would not have changed.

Raiders attack was simply not good enough.

skeepe

As an aside, have there ever been worse winners* than these Rooster fans? Danish and Valheru are having an epic meltdown despite their team winning* the grand final and becoming back-to-back* premiers* - just because people aren’t giving the Roosters enough praise for their liking.

I have never seen such sore winners* my entire life. You’d think you’d be happy with the win*, but that’s not enough for these f**kwits.

Spot On

I guess raiders luck ran out with that touch judge call in week 1.

Bizarre how they didn't complain about an incorrect call but are sooking about one that was ultimately correct.

Correct.

See the HIA Rule thread. Some don't watch the game before blowing up.

skeepe

The result would not have changed.

Raiders attack was simply not good enough.

Maybe. Maybe not. But surely we deserved the chance to f**k it up ourselves.

Cummins took that from us. Only a fool would try to argue otherwise. But hey, if the shoe fits....

nick87

Congrats to the roosters
They’re a really good team and defended incredibly well

really think the game needs to do something re: the ball hitting your trainer, those are the rules so no issue with the call, but no one would honestly say that a ball hitting your own trainer should result in you retaining possession

the referee made an absolute hash of the 6 to go call and more than the officials making a mistake the thing that annoys me most is the nrl desperately trying to justify it

simply say it was an error and keep it moving

really proud of the raiders effort. They played their arses off all year and gave it their absolute best last night... there is 100 things that could have gone differently and maybe we win. But ultimately we had our chances and didn’t take enough of them.

that’s sport. It’s exhilarating with its highs and crushing with its lows.

Maybe. Maybe not. But surely we deserved the chance to f**k it up ourselves.

Cummins took that from us. Only a fool would try to argue otherwise. But hey, if the shoe fits....

You guys did f**k it up yourselves in the first 30 minutes of the 2nd half.

4-0 penalty count and a sin bin and still couldn't score.

As an aside, have there ever been worse winners* than these Rooster fans? Danish and Valheru are having an epic meltdown despite their team winning* the grand final and becoming back-to-back* premiers* - just because people aren’t giving the Roosters enough praise for their liking.

I have never seen such sore winners* my entire life. You’d think you’d be happy with the win*, but that’s not enough for these f**kwits.

You said the result was tainted and that we should be embarrassed. The meltdown is all you. I’m having a hair o’ the dog and watching the game again. Boy, I hope we don’t lose

Danish

Delicious butthurt