Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2019 Grand Final 3,2,1 v Raiders

I think it is doubtful to be honest. I am resigned to what now appears to be the inevitable fact that Latrell is going to move. I think, unfortunately, it is looking like it will be the Bulldogs. The Eels offer is still in the mix too. Unless he stays with us (I would love to think that is still possible due to loyalty, a realisation that it would actually be better for his career, or now that his mate, Joseph Manu, has re-signed), it is looking most like it will be one of those two clubs. Hopefully we will find out very soon and end the speculation.

On a brighter note, it is wonderful that Cooper is becoming our specialist halves coach, starting from mid November, when the boys return to training. He will coach the halves from Harold Matthews through to first grade, which is fantastic. Hopefully he will stay with the club for years to come. He will continue to play a considerable role in building our culture, as he is such a great role model off the field (not to mention quite a handy player on it). Well done to all concerned at the club for this smart move.

Peter Quinn

IMG_20191101_105217.jpg IMG_20191101_105217.jpg IMG_20191101_105217.jpg
I think it's got to do with players being forced into wrapping around in front of them and every which way they can. All that will do is put heaps more pressure on the shoulder at point of contact.

Peter Quinn

I think it is doubtful to be honest. I am resigned to what now appears to be the inevitable fact that Latrell is going to move. I think, unfortunately, it is looking like it will be the Bulldogs. The Eels offer is still in the mix too. Unless he stays with us (I would love to think that is still possible due to loyalty, a realisation that it would actually be better for his career, or now that his mate, Joseph Manu, has re-signed), it is looking most like it will be one of those two clubs. Hopefully we will find out very soon and end the speculation.

On a brighter note, it is wonderful that Cooper is becoming our specialist halves coach, starting from mid November, when the boys return to training. He will coach the halves from Harold Matthews through to first grade, which is fantastic. Hopefully he will stay with the club for years to come. He will continue to play a considerable role in building our culture, as he is such a great role model off the field (not to mention quite a handy player on it). Well done to all concerned at the club for this smart move.
TFR, don't be fooled by these 10 million dollar figures floating around. Latrell knows better than anyone the extremely high expectations that come with that. A more reasonable contract would be 3 or 4 year contract for 3 or 4 million. That's what he will like more.

Peter Quinn

If Souths can get in the market for players, id be inclined to look at the very best of them. If the Turbo Bros have signed with Manly, they are out of the mix. But Latrell and Jared are still in there. Friz is a good player and would be a replacement for John Sutton, but hasn't he too got a crook shoulder? I'm not certain about that but it's worth checking out. No doubt Fafita will be good, but that could be three or four years from now. Or it could be much sooner.

Thanks Peter, that is a sensible comment. I would like to think that he would (as that would bring us back into the picture!), but he is still a young man and the lure of the megabucks cannot be underestimated. You also need to consider that the importance of providing for your family is especially important in indigenous culture (which I think is great BTW), but this would also be playing heavily on his mind. The prospect of a guaranteed income for 10 years would also be significant when you have the threat of injury always hanging around. There are more 5 to 10 year contracts these days, so it is not beyond the realms of possibility. Anyway, at the end of the day, none of us know. At the very least, players like to 'test the market', so it could go either way, I don't want to be overly pessimistic, but we will not be able retain everyone, and I have a feeling that Latrell is going to be one of those that we can't. There will be nobody happier than me if we retain him, I can tell you!

Bennett has a point about having an enquiry.

The Turbo brothers have signed, I think. That is going to squeeze their salary cap. Something like $3.5m of their cap will be spent on about six players. That is a high risk gamble by Hasler. Anyway, the Dragons and Tigers have built 'war chests' to go after players. So Frizzell may be looked after. I think you are right about his shoulder. If we lose Latrell (and JWH to Penrith perhaps), we could go after Fifita, so let's see what happens there. Very interesting week or so coming up.