grouch
The only way to make this jumper good, is if Gallen was wearing the same jersey in the photo on the jersey, creating an infinite loop
It is shit, but hey it’s his last game at Shark Park, retiring etc etc, so I reckon just let it go.a fitting tribute...
yuck!
No you fool! I do care. It's a shame you haven't worked that out. My first degree was in communication studies and Public Relations was a main subject.
I didn't ask if you care. . . I asked why you care.
For a guy with a degree in communication studies you suck at communicating.
Found this a bit interesting it’s probably nothing but look at the logo the NRL have used in this wallpaper for the Cowboys. It’s a upgrade on the the current one if you ask me but they might need to change the date.....
View attachment 32571
Fair enough I just assumed it was 1995 when they came into comp.Why would they need to change the date?
The club was established on 30th November 1992.
Fair enough I just assumed it was 1995 when they came into comp.
I care because all the different jerseys cheapen the game. It comes across and clubs trying to make money at the expense of the club identity. People pick up on that and it seems like "selling out".
It is nice that the Raiders promoted a charity and it would mean more if it was a one off rather than how it is now with clubs changing their jersey most weeks. Each jersey loses value.
I factor that in as one of the reasons NRL clubs get crap crowds. The decreasing identity. The ,most identifiably jersey in Sydney is the Swans jersey because it rarely changes.
You're absolutely right. A one-off jersey has a devastating effect on their clubs ability to bring in new fans. It wasn't about giving Charity some exposure to existing fans. It wasn't about any fundraising that was being done at the ground at the time.
I'm glad you have a degree in Communication studies where 'Public Relations was a main subject', because I'm sure your expertise is much better than any executive at the Raiders or the NRL. We can ignore all the evidence from sporting codes around the world because you studied Public Relations at one time.
Get off your high horse and look at the actual arguments about the use of a one-off jersey and the impact on expanding the audience. It has minimal impact and in this instance is more about giving back to an important community organisation.
Following on from Timmah's point, I think most people at the Broncos v Souths game wouldn't even have been aware that the Broncos had a charity (GIVIT) on the front instead of NRMA. The jersey design was exactly the same. I would guess that the exposure to Canberra's jersey would have been a lot higher because you would have had more people at the ground and watching it on tv wondering what the different jersey was for. Whilst it goes against brand recognition, the point of the charity jersey is not generate recognition for the team. It is to generate recognition for the charity.
You do realise you are the only one arguing your side of the argument? What you are arguing is exactly what the club was trying to achieve for the brand awareness of the charity. They wanted people to be asking why are Canberra in a different strip!No it wasn't. Don't get churlish with someone whom is calling a spade a spade. The Raiders should have worn a strip that reflected their main green colour. Simple as that. Expose the charity as much as you like
Brand recognition should be maintained. The charity recognition can be done in other ways. The loss and confusion as a result would not have helped the Raiders capture more fans. Good causes are just that. A footy side in a competitive market for the sporting dollar is another. On this we dissagree.
Firstly the "club identity" doesn't really exist, that is you placing more meaning onto something then is really there because you have a passion for it.
You getting upset at a jersey changing is no different then a hardcore comic book fan getting upset when a character's design is changed for a movie, to you it is deeply meaningful, to the general public, i.e. the majority that make up the target audience, it's just a new superhero movie that they might be interested in spending money to see.
At the end of the day a footy team's logo, jersey, etc, are just part of a brand, a brand that at it's core is really no different then any other brand in it's purpose, and except in the eyes of a tiny minority of fanatics, holds no greater meaning then any other brand to your average punter.
If it were true that there was significant diminishing returns from each different design then the clubs would stop making more and more jerseys as they wouldn't make any money.
The fact that they make money, in some cases lots of money, is the problem that you are always going to run into when you argue against one off jerseys. You may dislike them, but obviously they are very popular with the majority otherwise they wouldn't sell, and the fact that they sell well obviously shows that the majority don't see them as selling out or 'diminishing the clubs identity' and rather see them as either a novelty or maybe even as enhancing their interest in the brand.
Unfortunately the reality is that crowds are more or less the best they have been since about the 60's (i.e. since the advent of broadcasting games on TV) and if I remember correctly the NRL has better merchandise sales on average then the AFL.
So yeah, so much for that theory.
Confusion when it comes to one-off alternate jerseys would only last as long as it takes to read the score bug. The only occasion where I'd accept that there's some confusion is when the Knights wear their mining jersey against Wests Tigers. The Raiders' charity jersey looks to be based on their current white alternate jersey and is still in club colours (navy has been a Raiders club colour for years).
When it comes to wearing a jersey for charity, the PR benefit that comes from supporting charity far outweighs anything that would be lost from momentary confusion. And since it apparently adds weight when trying to make a point on this subject - I have a bachelor's degree in business specialising in marketing and public relations.
You do realise you are the only one arguing your side of the argument? What you are arguing is exactly what the club was trying to achieve for the brand awareness of the charity. They wanted people to be asking why are Canberra in a different strip!
Mate, you always find something to be offended by or complain about, honestly I have never seen someone whinge so much in my life. The idea of wearing this jersey was to get people talking about why they were not in their usual colours, that is the whole point of the exercise. It is called awareness raising for a reason!Lol. We are chatting on a thread that little or negligible people will ever see. The viewers (especially new ones,youngsters & the elderly)on Sunday afternoon would be wondering what side was playing Manly? You also assert that I'm the only one arguing /supporting this point. That's not true.Others have chipped in and have 'liked' the comments put forward. So trying to isolate me as a lone wolf is a fairly low and misleading act. Then again we are chatting about a means of misleading the public !?