Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2019 Origin II - Sun 23 Jun - NSW 38-6 QLD @ Perth

Series: NSW v QLD

big hit!

I think this is the hidden strength to Kevvie. I think all this talk about his coaching distracts from the fact guys like Slater and Thurston and maybe even Cronk will study that Blues team and work out a way to beat them in no time.

I feel these guys are a better judge than someone like Lockyer for example.

i reckon DCE does it himself. that first half of his raiding the NSW left edge was sublime. QLD just didn't convert the opportunities with the final pass. This is why Walker and Mitchell paid the price. Everyone goes on about a 4 point outcome. It really should've been much more.

ram raid

Yeah people that can string a sentence together are massive tossers. Would you prefer Hodges or GI?

I'm not talking about his articulation. I'm talking about him sounding like a wanker.

And yes I would rather listen to GI or Hodges.

But then again it's footy. I'm not looking for a philosophical mentor.

CliffyIsGod

I'm not talking about his articulation. I'm talking about him sounding like a wanker.

And yes I would rather listen to GI or Hodges.

But then again it's footy. I'm not looking for a philosophical mentor.

So it's the timbre of his voice? I'm a little confused here.

ram raid

So it's the timbre of his voice? I'm a little confused here.

:p Something like that. What do you care?

No, I just think he sounds disingenuous. And I'd like to hear him apologise for the complete wanker that he was during the contract negotiations saga. Every time I've heard him questioned about he's only managed to sound like more of a smug dickhead.

But there are far worse people in the NRL and the world at large. And I'm behind him as captain.

Let’s face facts new south welshmen:

- We’ve picked two guys out of position in the backline
- Picked another that is known for hero plays trying to rush out of the line
- Drop clearly the best centre in the game
- Picked the halves combo that is currently responsible for the second LEAST amount of points in the NRL this year
- Are missing our best forward from origin one

And...you expect us to win???

See ya Freddy, enjoy your last game coaching origin

If the weather forecast is correct, and in Perth it can be real hit and miss with very localised stormy weather, then it could be a massive equalizer for NSW. Its about their best hope.

SBD82

If the weather forecast is correct, and in Perth it can be real hit and miss with very localised stormy weather, then it could be a massive equalizer for NSW. Its about their best hope.
What’s the theory here?

I’d have thought that qld would benefit from a wet game. They have a no frills pack that don’t rely on footwork for yardage.

Rhino_NQ

What’s the theory here?

I’d have thought that qld would benefit from a wet game. They have a no frills pack that don’t rely on footwork for yardage.
And maloneys penalties will be useful shots at goal in the conditions

big hit!

- Picked the halves combo that is currently responsible for the second LEAST amount of points in the NRL this year

And...you expect us to win???

See ya Freddy, enjoy your last game coaching origin

QLD have won under more dire circumstances. Perhaps Freddy is adopting their philosophy.

What’s the theory here?

I think DCE and Munster are far more potent attacking weapons than the NSW halfs, especially against them NSW centre choices, but the wind and rain will likely curtail their expansive play and wide passing. Maloneys kicking will be invaluable in wet conditions.

SBD82

I think DCE and Munster are far more potent attacking weapons than the NSW halfs, especially against them NSW centre choices, but the wind and rain will likely curtail their expansive play and wide passing. Maloneys kicking will be invaluable in wet conditions.
I can sort of see what you’re saying, but Qld have three decent kicking options, and I would take Munster over any half in the comp for attacking wet weather footy. His deceptive strength and eyes up play is a constant threat.

The blues’ biggest attacking strength is tedesco imo. Wet weather annuls a lot of his attack because he can’t change direction on a dime. It will also limit Cook’s game out of dummy half.

Anyways, hope you’re right. Hope it pisses down and gives the blues an advantage.

OldPanther

rugby league analysis is the pits. nowhere near enough (if any) attention to Xs and Os. Everything that's going shit in a club is down to speculation from expert click-baiters. it filters into these forums as well - if a club is struggling, they're all just shit.

Folks go on about WIghton being picked in the centres, but Cronk likes it. Tom T is a fullback and rarely defends in the line. Cronk's observation of him comes from last series when he had a short stint at centre.

Now I suppose you need to take all this with a healthy dose of skepticism too - end of day, it's one of the two heads delivering the opinion, and we know they're all capable of playing the diversion game long after they've come away from the QLD origin environment - they stick together. I reckon Cronk wants to prove his worth in the media though

Cronk is probably the best guy to listen to on stuff like this, he breaks things down so well. He's also starting on Fox next year so is getting a head start now.

OldPanther

Wouldn't we prefer dry weather to move the ball around a lot?

TheFrog

Now that you put it that way, NSW are certainties.

Who will cop the blame for NSW losing tonight.

Poor Latrell and walker are out.

Pearce was smart enough to see the writing on the wall

Cleary is exempt from criticism.

Looks like it will be poor Jimmy Maloney

mozza91

Who will cop the blame for NSW losing tonight.

Poor Latrell and walker are out.

Pearce was smart enough to see the writing on the wall

Cleary is exempt from criticism.

Looks like it will be poor Jimmy Maloney
NSW will win because they picked Maloney.