Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2021 R9 Fri - Parramatta 31-18 Sydney @ Bankwest

Round 9: Parramatta v Sydney

10$ Ferret

I thought the complete opposite regarding RCG and JHW, thought it was happy banter. Mentioned to the wife how RCG seemed to be liked by the Roosters players.
Probably why he left Penrith, he wasn't enough of a dickhead

I thought the complete opposite regarding RCG and JHW, thought it was happy banter. Mentioned to the wife how RCG seemed to be liked by the Roosters players.
Could be right, I only saw a glimpse of it to be fair

The_Frog

So with Brown n Niukore potentially going on holidays... possibly long ones...

What do the Eels do..

Jordan Rankin to 6...

Try Gutherson at 6 (he played there a few years ago) n Will Smith to 1..

Blood a rookie at the centres... (I dunno how long Blake is gone for)

Or something else?

They’ve got the Warriors next week..

Will Smith played at 6 in the 2014 finals series.

The_Frog

No, it wasn't that. He downed tools until the club released him, Mitch Moses style. Parra have a number of these.

horrie hastings

No need for apologies mate I have entire seasons I've blocked from my memory....until we play like shit and the flashbacks come.out again anyway

For some reason i thought that incident got put on report during or after half time like the Hutch incident did but i do remember now Joey Johns going on about it being put on report and we got the penalty and kicked for goal.

horrie hastings

I didnt look like happy banter , seemed like JWH was pissed about something, i meant to go back and have a look again but deleted the recording, RCG looked fine, it was JWH reaction i noticed, he seemed sour about something. Banter looked good between all the other players after the game.

SDM

On Cartwright, anti-vaxers are not subject to the same concussion protocols, there is nothing to protect.

On the 2 reports, they were both careless, either could/should have been binned.
But the hysteria is misplaced. You can't penalise on the injury, it was no worse than Latrell against the Tigers, just a worse outcome.
Niukore should get 1-2 weeks off.

I’m not a Roosters or Eels fan by any stretch but geez those knees in to Hutchison were crook.

If they can retrospectively put Brown on report then they can retrospectively send him off.

I truly hope the poor kid is ok and bounces back. To see him screaming and writhing in agony was bloody horrible.

To the chooks - and I’m gagging here - but you have bloody strong culture to keep the fire alive when down n out.

horrie hastings

To the chooks - and I’m gagging here - but you have bloody strong culture to keep the fire alive when down n out.

Spot on, there seems to be a steel in the team this year that was missing last year [60-8 surrender against your team last year as an example] when they are down and out . Their defence last night was nothing short of outstanding seeing they lost Radley early and had 65% of possession going against them and Parras early tries came off kicks, i am happy with the way they are tracking this year when you take the injury toll into account, they have pride in their jersey unlike some of the other teams running around [and no that is a not a dig at Souths on this week score, i know that was only a blip and they have pride in their jersey, i'm more referring to teams like the Broncos and a few others who seem to offer up heartless efforts week in week out ]

Saxon

The trouble is that it then becomes a different rule for different players, and the ref/bunker has to judge whether the defender was fast enough and or a good enough defender to make an effective tackle. Better that the test is whether a defender was impeded.
Refs struggle enough as it is, don't make it harder for them.

Last Week

f**k me, Freddy is still crying.

The panel are trying to talk about the game in general and Sam Walkers defensive effort, and Freddy "Oh, imagine if it was against 11 players".

f**k me mate, move on.

The_Frog

[60-8 surrender against your team last year as an example]
They didn't want to have to play the Storm in Brisbane to start with, and once that was accomplished, they didn't want to get injured. I don't think it was a lack of steel as such, more there was no point getting busted for a game that was gone, but the side did fade at the business end. We did too for that matter.