Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2022 GF | PREMIERS - Penrith 28-12 Parramatta @ Accor

Grand Final: Penrith v Parramatta

• Penrith Panthers

Votes: 58 66.7%
  • Parramatta Eels

Votes: 26 29.9%

Votes: 3 3.4%

Last night just wasn't our night. But it's pretty standard these days that you have to lose one before you win one so I consider this part one of our journey. We'll come back bigger and stronger next year while Penrith will be on the decline. We will be there again next year and they won't be. Our last 10 minutes where we dominated gives us something to work with heading in to 2023.

My dude this is a serious cope, unfortunately.

We'll be 6th at best next year without a Papali'i level signing over the off season. The important thing next season is to work hard on re-signing Moses and DylBro and bring in some of the younger blood like Hopgood, Russell, bring back Dunster etc.

Find another backrower over the off season, Liam Martin would be a good shout. Maybe a hooker (although we have a couple of rated juniors) and maybe a centre depending how Russell goes. Then another big crack from 2024.

Personally I'd be looking at stealing a roughie in the backrow over this off season too. Sua apparently wants out of the Dragons, and a guy like Jordan Riki could be prised away from Brisbane. Both have plenty of faults but are the kind of signing BA historically does well with. Andrew Davey returning wouldn't be an awful option either .

Exsilium

As most have said, winning one premiership is something a lot of fans want to experience in their lifetime. Back to back premierships is something to cherish. We’ve had some very lean years with a lot of dramatic twists but this is the most “complete” I’ve felt our club has been in a long time.

Was it a missed opportunity for Parramatta? Not really. You were beaten by a very good side who have been building for years. If anything, breathing life into the club off the back of a very good season will spur the club on. Be proud of what you’ve achieved. If you had of won, I don’t think many Panthers fans would have been that disappointed, it’s a massive win for the region and the NRL.

Now the salary cap will do its thing and it’ll be a tougher road for the Panthers next year and the following.

The cowboys, South’s, Sharks, Raiders and Storm will be primed for next year. Hopefully the Dogs fans see some more W’s on their draw sheet and for the rest, here’s hoping for improvement.

Great thread boys, well done to all. Glad to see the pre match entertainment went down so well. Both funny and sad to see pre game optimism dissipate within a page. Unsurprisingly the thread turned out to be better than the game itself. In fact a good game is detrimental to a good GD thread. @Fangs thanks for the ear worm last night. Smashing WHO’s Next as I type.

Blues Riff

Last night just wasn't our night. But it's pretty standard these days that you have to lose one before you win one so I consider this part one of our journey. We'll come back bigger and stronger next year while Penrith will be on the decline. We will be there again next year and they won't be. Our last 10 minutes where we dominated gives us something to work with heading in to 2023.
The last 10 minutes lol. You mean when the Panthers started waving at their kids in the stand?

SLRBRONCOS

1. Dylan Edwards - he’s alright
2. Charlie Staines - backup to Taylan May, who is a coward who attacks people from behind for no reason
3. Izack Tago - nobody
4. Stephen Crichton - smuggest arsehole in the game. Wanker.
5. Brian To’o - legitimate good guy. No idea why he plays for this scum team
6. Jarome Luai - dirty piece of shit. Sneaky elbows, gamesmanship, he can do it all. Throws gang signs every chance he gets.
7. Nathan Cleary - dirtiest halfback in the game
8. Moses Leota - unhinged lunatic. Favourite move is a cowardly forearm to the back of the head.
9. Api Koroisau - a sneaky kick here, a sly punch there.
10. James Fisher-Harris - Up there with JWH and NAS as the dirtiest thug in the game
11. Viliame Kikau - diving cheap shot merchant
12. Liam Martin - one of the dirtiest players in the game
13. Isaah Yeo - hard worker, he’s alright

14. Mitch Kenny - try hard wannabe thug.
15. Scott Sorensen - journeyman. Not much bad to say.
16. Spencer Leniu - legitimate psychopath
17. Jaemon Salmon - weak gutted dog person

Coach: Ivan Cleary - backstabbing smug arsehole responsible for the negative gameplan that is destroying rugby league.

This is who we are meant to celebrate? This team of f**king dickheads? No thanks. #NotMyPremiers
Omg this 'final flash' took my wanking arm off!
-Cn1yA.gif

Munky

You’ll have to ask the SuperCoach that one mate, but you are right your back 3 are so important and we barely pressured them all game. If you kick like we did at least the kick chase needs to be good after the first few sets it was non existent.

Watching the replay now, sixteen minutes in Moses gets the ball about forty five out with plenty of time on the last.

Does a regulation bomb straight to Edwards with no chasers and Penrith score to go 10 nil up from that kick return set.

soc123_au

Still buzzing. That first 40 is something I'll savour for a long long time. Obvious bias, but I dont think any team in the last 40 years gets on top of that onslaught. Parra did pretty well to only be down by 18.

And thank you to every one of you crazy f**kers that post in the game day threads. @Bazal @hineyrulz @Eelementary the humour you f**kers show in the face of baldness is legendary. If we had have lost last night I could have found a small place in my heart to be genuinely happy for your new found flowing locks.

addendum, I woke up this morning still bald. I suspect my pubes went wild after last nights victory though. I vaguely recall waking up briefly at around 5.00am to see Grant Atkins kneeling at the end of the bad rubbing his hands together.

Still buzzing. That first 40 is something I'll savour for a long long time. Obvious bias, but I dont think any team in the last 40 years gets on top of that onslaught. Parra did pretty well to only be down by 18.

And thank you to every one of you crazy f**kers that post in the game day threads. @Bazal @hineyrulz @Eelementary the humour you f**kers show in the face of baldness is legendary. If we had have lost last night I could have found a small place in my heart to be genuinely happy for your new found flowing locks.

addendum, I woke up this morning still bald. I suspect my pubes went wild after last nights victory though. I vaguely recall waking up briefly at around 5.00am to see Grant Atkins kneeling at the end of the bad rubbing his hands together.

I totally agree - I'm pretty impressed we only conceded 18 points in the first half.

Lack of effort was not our issue - we ere just outclassed.

…That wasn’t Grant Atkins, that was Bea Arthur.

That 1st half we put in the perfect performance, From that it is hard to get momentum back. No one beats us in that mood

Absolutely - you played incredible footy.

I'm quite proud that we were able to stem the bleeding, as it were, but we were always going to be up against it after that flawless first 40 from the Panthers.