Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2022 GF | PREMIERS - Penrith 28-12 Parramatta @ Accor

Grand Final: Penrith v Parramatta

• Penrith Panthers

Votes: 58 66.7%
  • Parramatta Eels

Votes: 26 29.9%

Votes: 3 3.4%

King-Gutho94

Preparing for a GF game is a double edged sword. You need the players and the coaches to both get it spot on.

BA admitted after the Townsville game this was 1st GF as head coach and wasn't sure how they would handle due to no experience to look back on.

You can always over complicated it sometimes by changing things up do what penrith did go into camp and it could have backfired as badly.

BA decided to do the keep it as normal as possible so the players felt comfortable and it didn't work.

There is no perfect way to prepare for a GF. Though the more you play in them the better you master the preparation.

I am sure if we ever make a GF under BA again the preparation will be different and probably 10x better from this week it comes from experience.

AdelaideSharky

See, I reckon getting busted for drugs and cap rorts and still keeping a premiership is getting away with it
If you really believe that then I've got a unicorn to sell you.

You'd have to be an ardent communist Labor supporter to believe that whole ASADA bollocks.

The whole thing was a political witch hunt to take the heat off two Labor politicians who ultimately went to prison.

Where was the so called underworld involvement that drunk waffler Kate Lundy was dribbling on about?

Parramatta lost that game when I think it was Dylan Brown kicked on the first tackle for Moses. Just knew they were mentally shot and had nothing. Perineal downhill skiers forever
Worth a go, Penrith are not a team to give up a lead. A trick shot early gets Parra in the lead, and they can go from there. Going set for set with Penrith in the arm wrestle was never going to work for them.

I'll sodomise him if you think it will help
It didn’t help the eels, but certainly worked out well for the smug:

B11C2A03-CC16-4245-9B25-C3104E318ABB.jpeg
An immortal in the public toilets I bet, a commemorative plaque up for him above the urinals.

Andrew Johns did vomit all over Darren Albert here in 2002.

Hutty1986

I'm very much looking forward to reading the usual gold from the usual suspects here. But straight off the bat just wanted to pass on my commiserations to the likes of @Bazal and @hineyrulz and the other good eggs who were clearly mass murderers in a past life, cursed forever to support the Baldamatta Eels.

As for the back to back premiers? What an incredible achievement- they won every comp and flogged everyone put in front of them in the big games.
Still huge question marks remaining over Nathan Cleary at origin level, but 3 straight grand finals and now 2 premierships at the age of 24 is the foundation of a great career. They'll miss Api, but at this stage they should be red-hot favourites for 3 in a row

Coaches should have a salary cap especially if their son plays for their them
Agreed, there should be no way Parra can keep a talent like Jake with the rest of the team we have. Hope we can manage to keep him somehow..........

I'm very much looking forward to reading the usual gold from the usual suspects here. But straight off the bat just wanted to pass on my commiserations to the likes of @Bazal and @hineyrulz and the other good eggs who were clearly mass murderers in a past life, cursed forever to support the Baldamatta Eels.

As for the back to back premiers? What an incredible achievement- they won every comp and flogged everyone put in front of them in the big games.
Still huge question marks remaining over Nathan Cleary at origin level, but 3 straight grand finals and now 2 premierships at the age of 24 is the foundation of a great career. They'll miss Api, but at this stage they should be red-hot favourites for 3 in a row
Cheers Bruv, i think i must of been John Wayne Gacy or something :(

stryker

Preparing for a GF game is a double edged sword. You need the players and the coaches to both get it spot on.

BA admitted after the Townsville game this was 1st GF as head coach and wasn't sure how they would handle due to no experience to look back on.

You can always over complicated it sometimes by changing things up do what penrith did go into camp and it could have backfired as badly.

BA decided to do the keep it as normal as possible so the players felt comfortable and it didn't work.

There is no perfect way to prepare for a GF. Though the more you play in them the better you master the preparation.

I am sure if we ever make a GF under BA again the preparation will be different and probably 10x better from this week it comes from experience.
There was no preparation for last night. BA didn’t fail. His 1-17 were just outmatched by a far superior outfit.

That’s the same excuse Bea made.

They’ve beaten smug before and were the only side in this man’s nrl with strong claims of being good chance.

They weren’t prepared properly is my take.

They are at least twice the side we saw last night.

Something went badly wrong, gremlins, ghost in the machine, something slimy visited upon them in their dreams.

Smug is smug, but running on, never without a hope. They even chortled on near the end, they weren’t right, but smug we’re unable to have their whole way.

Eels 2022 were a pretty good footy side. On their day, impossible to beat, except by us perhaps.

stryker

That’s the same excuse Bea made.

They’ve beaten smug before and were the only side in this man’s nrl with strong claims of being good chance.

They weren’t prepared properly is my take.

They are at least twice the side we saw last night.

Something went badly wrong, gremlins, ghost in the machine, something slimy visited upon them in their dreams.

Smug is smug, but running on, never without a hope. They even chortled on near the end.
Parra won two games that didn’t matter against Penrith and got belted in the the two games that did.
Simple as that.
Eels weren’t that bad last night. They just got smashed out of the contest.

Parra won two games that didn’t matter against Penrith and got belted in the the two games that did.
Simple as that.
Eels weren’t that bad last night. They just got smashed out of the contest.
Agree to disagree.

They could cop some of the mightiest assaults upon their persons and still be the last team with a pulse.

They didn’t come back from Queensland the same.

Something slimy got to them during the week.

I can’t put my finger in it, they weren’t at their optimum when they needed to be ( as you rightly point out).

And I’m the full rusted on Bea devotee. Best coach in the game by a long long way. He’s the dopers trip.

GongPanther

Just got home and too smashed to comment but looking forward to going through the thread tomoz. Absolutely gutted for Parra fans, especially @Bazal and @hineyrulz and bald people in general. To @soc123_au, @Fangs, @GongPanther, @MugaB, @Munky, @ACTPanthers and any other merkin I forgot, a hearty congratulations from me. Tis an amazing club you support and will be a powerhouse for many a year. God bless rugby league and all who sail on her.
Same here with reading the GF thread, which I'll spend time tomorrow. Simply too busy at times to read things in here.

Just got home and too smashed to comment but looking forward to going through the thread tomoz. Absolutely gutted for Parra fans, especially @Bazal and @hineyrulz and bald people in general. To @soc123_au, @Fangs, @GongPanther, @MugaB, @Munky, @ACTPanthers and any other merkin I forgot, a hearty congratulations from me. Tis an amazing club you support and will be a powerhouse for many a year. God bless rugby league and all who sail on her.
There’s a few smugnificent heroes you’ve left out, @Pantherjim. , @Smug Panther, @Kilkenny, @Murraymob1 and you probably missed the post game press conference when @SLRBRONCOS denounced kevvie and swore his undying allegiance to smug.

Twas good watching Ivan being yanked off the table for young Slarree.

Reflector

Nathan is fine at Origin level- no worse than Munster, and at least comparable to Joey and JT in Origin at the same point in their careers.

Having Turbo, Latrell and Fox for at least one game (instead of none of them) would've helped as well TBF...