Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2022 RL & RLW World Cup

yy_cheng

I went to school with a guy who had the same surname and he always went by the "Doo-way-hee" pronunciation.... I've been referring to the Tigers player by the same pronunciation since he came in to the top grade. No idea why he ever agreed to go by "Dooeey"...
It was mentioned on 2sm this arvo by vossy

When he came into grade he wanted to be called dooey coz he said thats how his dad always pronounced it and wanted to show respect to his dad

But in lebanese it is doo way hee and thats how he wants it to be pronounced from here on.

Maybe his lebanese team mates told him what the other pronunciation really meant

I went to school with a guy who had the same surname and he always went by the "Doo-way-hee" pronunciation.... I've been referring to the Tigers player by the same pronunciation since he came in to the top grade. No idea why he ever agreed to go by "Dooeey"...
I’d never heard the name before and still knew how to pronounce it. You hear enough Lebanese surnames and the pronunciation should be obvious. Doowie sounds like some merkin off the first boat here from Dublin.

Doowayhee was sent off for giving Atkins a gobful .... sent off ... not binned .... i wonder what he said
It would have to be similar to what Cheese said. Cheating See you in the Northern Territory, comes to mind.

Will Penisini in action in the morning.

Makka, Tepai and Takka in action Thursday.

1666071571372.png

Soto

Watched Greece v France this morning.
The Greeks did really well for the amount of amateur players they had.
Was impressed with Billy Magoulias. I reckon he would be a good bench utility.
Was in everything and then set up this ripper..

JokerEel

Not sure why Tonga have been talked up...

They are not playing well at all.

Penisini scored Tonga's first try, but was poor in defense on PNGs third.

The PNGians have always turned up .... the pacific island nations have all been talked up in recent times and PNG dont get anywhere near as much attention anymore, but PNG havent dropped off and always have a crack

I think PNG are more fanatical about League than the Pacific nations who are also heavily into Union.

JokerEel

I think PNG are more fanatical about League than the Pacific nations who are also heavily into Union.

Do any of the Pacific nations have local rugby league competitions? I think the they need to, to be classed as a Tier 1 nation.

Noise

Do any of the Pacific nations have local rugby league competitions? I think the they need to, to be classed as a Tier 1 nation.
Fiji does. Samoa does. Cook Islands did when I was there (not sure if it still does). Tonga definitely used to, I assume it still does.