Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Game 2023 NRL draw

Apey

There's always going to be a few outliers with the rest very similar.

That ranking based on ladder positions is totally flawed but lap it up everyone.

A real analysis would not utilise a static ladder position but rather implement a forecast of team performance for next season based off recruitment / circumstance and then apply the draw implications before coming up with a still very simplistic output.

For example the process undertaken for the current list probably suggests Canterbury would lose to 3 or maybe 4 teams that they are likely now better than. Currently that would suggest they have a harder draw when in reality it’s possibly easier.

You don't like schedules assessed at the end of the year and now you don't like them assessed at the start of the year.

We can only go on the info we have at the time which will no doubt be completely different by the end of the 2023 but it gives everyone something to talk about.

I have no problem admitting that on the info we have today the chooks have a user friendly schedule for the first time in 6 years.

Jamberoo

Long season ahead - that’s a good thing right?

I like what they have done with Dolphins playing big teams/games early @ Suncorp. Perth seems strange though.

Storm have one home game before AFL starts but disappointing to be playing away in Rnd 27 during the AFL’s pre-finals bye. A few Sun arvo games which is good for those of us with young kids.

It would have been great to see a game in Tassie, but overall lots to like.

Maximus

You don't like schedules assessed at the end of the year and now you don't like them assessed at the start of the year.

We can only go on the info we have at the time which will no doubt be completely different by the end of the 2023 but it gives everyone something to talk about.

I have no problem admitting that on the info we have today the chooks have a user friendly schedule for the first time in 6 years.

In the Dally M thread there were numerous Sharks posters suggesting that they didn't have an easy draw because look where their opponents finished in 2021. That's apparently now "totally flawed" because it would show the Sharks have an incredibly easy draw.

Wests Tigers the only team to thank the Warriors for the COViD times by taking a home game to NZ. Very selfish of the other clubs, especially considering the complexities of the grounds due to the world cup.
to judge how Altruistic this is we need to know if they being paid to take the game there!

Saxon

As has been covered a few times - AAMI Park is out of action all of Round 1.

AFL won't start til Round 3 of NRL in 2023, so there will be NRL with clear air in Round 2 - Storm v Bulldogs.
That's partly my point. Why play vs Dogs in Melbourne - who have been dreadful for years - when with a little juggling of the schedule you could play Parra instead?

Also, no reason not to use Docklands.

The Sydney Roosters have expressed their unhappiness with the 2023 NRLdraw, claiming that the annual schedule is put together with too much influence from broadcasters.

Tri-colour chairman Nick Politis has maintained his belief that certain clubs are repeatedly drawn into ‘blockbuster' games, regularly scheduled because they're good for ratings.
“Please don't call it a draw. Can we get it right? It's a TV schedule,” Politis said, via the Daily Telegraph.
The Roosters will have to face four of last year's top five sides twice in the draw, and the perceived imbalance has led Politis to claim that “the AFL have got control over their draw but we roll over to the networks.”
Politis has also called for the NRL to re-examine the infrequently-suggested conference system, akin to that used in the American NFL.

The Roosters maestro also claimed that the current imbalances in the draw were creating a false perception of an equal competition.
“Some clubs are lucky that they play the bottom-eight teams twice and the top teams only once,” Politis said.

“You look at the table and you say ‘gee, what a great competition' because it's so close – but it's manufactured by a TV schedule.

“They need to do something. There are all sorts of models.”

Canard

The Sydney Roosters have expressed their unhappiness with the 2023 NRLdraw, claiming that the annual schedule is put together with too much influence from broadcasters.

Tri-colour chairman Nick Politis has maintained his belief that certain clubs are repeatedly drawn into ‘blockbuster' games, regularly scheduled because they're good for ratings.
“Please don't call it a draw. Can we get it right? It's a TV schedule,” Politis said, via the Daily Telegraph.
The Roosters will have to face four of last year's top five sides twice in the draw, and the perceived imbalance has led Politis to claim that “the AFL have got control over their draw but we roll over to the networks.”
Politis has also called for the NRL to re-examine the infrequently-suggested conference system, akin to that used in the American NFL.

The Roosters maestro also claimed that the current imbalances in the draw were creating a false perception of an equal competition.
“Some clubs are lucky that they play the bottom-eight teams twice and the top teams only once,” Politis said.

“You look at the table and you say ‘gee, what a great competition' because it's so close – but it's manufactured by a TV schedule.

So complain, but offer no alternatives?

Standard RL

Colk

So complain, but offer no alternatives?

Standard RL

Wah wah but I want the draw the way i want and which benefits my club the most.

The whole idea of conferences I bet in his mind would be based on all of the Sydney teams playing each other twice which wouldn’t evidently be fair on those clubs outside of Sydney either.

Stinkfinger

The Roosters will have to face four of last year's top five sides twice in the draw,
They've got 1, 4, 5 and 7 twice. That's three of the top 5. They get Souths because its a rivalry. This is the same bloke who wanted the first two rounds nullified a couple of years back after his team lost them both.

That's partly my point. Why play vs Dogs in Melbourne - who have been dreadful for years - when with a little juggling of the schedule you could play Parra instead?

"A little juggling" in this sort of draw probably roots the whole thing tbh.

But yeah not sure why opponent is terribly relevant either? First home game's gonna draw well anyway and even then the Bulldogs aren't the worst option?

What's that got to do with anything? They were based in Australia, they already had no hopes of finals, they didn't have a full off season to reconnect with the local community.

Playing week 1 in Auckland, new season, fresh start, a healthy dose of false hope should have been a no brainer compared to taking it to Wellington.

The fact they played a handful of games in NZ this season is irrelevant to that.
You literally said "a celebration" - they had celebrations basically all four games last year.

Also - fairly sure Harry Styles is playing Mt Smart on the 7th which likely means they wouldn't have access to the venue most of the weekend anyway?

Maximus

Oh no, they got a tough draw (even though it doesn't seem particularly difficult) so suddenly it's a problem.

Where has he been the last 2 decades?

KeepingTheFaith

You literally said "a celebration" - they had celebrations basically all four games last year.

Also - fairly sure Harry Styles is playing Mt Smart on the 7th which likely means they wouldn't have access to the venue most of the weekend anyway?

Celebrated Christmas last year too, better not celebrate it this year.

Auckland has other stadiums, or play away week one if there's really no alternative. Their first home game should be in Auckland not Wellington where few people give a shit.

Tigers1986

Ideally, we adopt a loose pool system.

17 teams. You finish in the top 8, you play all 7 in your pool twice the next season. The other 9 once. That's 23 games. One magic round rival for the 24th game. Byes to fill up until Round 27.

When we get to 18, then it goes everyone in your pool of 9 twice (16 games) plus the opposing 9 (25 games) and then 2 byes for 27 weeks.

There is no perfect system due to roster changes and the other variables. Unless they run a 34 game season, or cull clubs.

So, you know for a fact that the Docklands is available that week, especially considering who owns it?

Celebrated Christmas last year too, better not celebrate it this year.
That could be the most ludicrous comparison... ever

Auckland has other stadiums, or play away week one if there's really no alternative. Their first home game should be in Auckland not Wellington where few people give a shit.
10 Warriors games at an average 20k and "few people give a shit"?

So, you know for a fact that the Docklands is available that week, especially considering who owns it?
Docklands is available, but the club has a pretty iron-clad agreement with AAMI (which sadly works in AAMI's favour, forcing them to likely Docklands at end of season)