Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2023 State of Origin ~ Game 1 *31st May*

T.S Quint

They obviously stump up some cash, but is it worth it in the long run?? You are never going to convert those insular deadbeats.

It’s all about the moolah.
I don’t think PVL would care if they play to an empty stadium as long as the Adelaide government give them enough money to cover it.

King-Gutho94

I personally don't mind one neutral game every year - its fair and reasonable then doing it every 3 years.

NSW cant sell out 2 home games and it makes every game an event as you only get one origin game every year.

I would take it NZ & Eden Park - they deserve an origin in a few years.

T.S Quint

I am more interested about the party afterwards mate.

I went to Vegas last year and the place is wild.

The chances of me getting to Vegas to watch a footy game are pretty slim, so the party doesn’t interest me much.

It would be an interesting experiment though. I know they did it a long time ago. Can’t remember how much of a success that was.

84 Baby

also form over a longer period counts for a fair bit. Teddy as an example is clearly not the best fullback on Current form but no way in hell would you seriously consider not picking him.
Yeah Queensland kinda killed the picking on form when they dominated even in years when the likes of Thurston, Lockyer, et al were massively out of form in club football

Soren Lorenson

Munster yes. Grant? I can't put him at that level. Same as Walsh. Walsh's defense isn't proven and let's see him next year once coaches have had time to work the little cocky prick out. Different ball game.
Right now Dylan's a better player. Coaches worked him out and he evolved his game
I liked this because cocky little prick is the most accurate description of Reece Walsh you could possibly ever have. I hope TPJ runs him over in Origin.

King-Gutho94

I liked this because cocky little prick is the most accurate description of Reece Walsh you could possibly ever have. I hope TPJ runs him over in Origin.
Didnt take Broncos long to make him a little arrogant shit.

In saying that he probs always was we just didnt notice it in a shit warriors team.

eels_fan

Didnt take Broncos long to make him a little arrogant shit.
Been watching him play since u13s as my nephew was in the same comp and rep sides.

he was an arrogant shit already at 13 - by u16s you’d have thought he’d won a dally m already the way he carried on.

but for 3 nights I’ll cheer for him…

It’s all about the moolah.
I don’t think PVL would care if they play to an empty stadium as long as the Adelaide government give them enough money to cover it.

It's all about a long term strategy. You won't win them over with one game, but continual exposure will give them an opportunity to be won over. It's up to the brand to sell itself once they get exposure

AFL is shit at SOO. It was a big deal at one stage then players were pulling out en masse due to "injuries" and SOO became just another club round and the quality suffered and crowds boycotted the games.

RL SOO is so much better and played with much more passion. It will show the AFL SOO up with more exposure imo

Soren Lorenson

RL SOO is so much better and played with much more passion. It will show the AFL SOO up with more exposure imo
The referees better keep reffing the games to a different standard then, otherwise RL SOO will go the same way. Imagine the game is ruined by a marginal head high or dodgy hip drop call. They better swallow their whistle imo.

I love watching him play. But I would of picked Ponga. He is smarter and all class. Walsh is instinctive. I reckon it works against weak defenses but unsure about top shelf ones.

The chances of me getting to Vegas to watch a footy game are pretty slim, so the party doesn’t interest me much.

It would be an interesting experiment though. I know they did it a long time ago. Can’t remember how much of a success that was.

1987 in California, about 12k to the game

Never since, though with Tina Turner promoting league here soon after that, would have been a good opportunity to play again there late 80s or early 90s I would have thought