Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2024 Rabbitohs Round 5 - Vs Warriors

Hellray

Well here we are just about Game Day once again. As we head into round 5 it’s great to have another home game at Accor and Saturday arvo footy is great. Our members and fans have been asking for more day games yet when we get them which is rarely the issue is they still don’t turn up. Now I know the weather isn’t gonna be good on Saturday but when has a little bit of rain hurt anyone! There is plenty of places to get undercover at Accor. Now I know we probs will only get about 10-11k but I would love to see a crowd upwards of 15k out there the boys need our support. And let’s show we really like our afternoon footy! I know the Warriors have a number of fans in Sydney too and they’ll turn up it would be embarrassing if there was a 50/50 split of members and fans there. We last played the Warriors in about round 18-19 I think it was in NZ last year in a very wet game and won 28-6. We could see similar conditions this time around. The Warriors fans are very loud too and we are meant to be the oldest loudest and proudest I can say happily we are the oldest and proudest but certainly not the loudest. Last week apart from the Burrow you could hear a pin drop on the players side tunnel that noise from our members just no longer there no South Sydney chant nothing no passion. When the Bulldogs chant went up around Accor you could hear it on both sides of the ground. So cmon Souths members let’s bring that noise back our home games let’s be the boys 18th man let show our passion. Lets get back to being the loudest if everyone contributes we can do that!

Looking at the Warriors we have had the wood on them 14 of the last 15 times I think we have beat them let’s hope that keeps up. The Warriors as we know have Webster as coach who I really rate and he took them to the top 4 last year. They’re such a strong side all over the park with good depth. They’re coming into this with a 2 and 2 record so they’ll be hungry to go 3 and 2. They played the Knights last week and whilst their attack was a bit off their defence was very good. They really work hard for one another as well. Whilst Metcalf and Capewell are out they have enough depth to cover that. They get a big boost in CNK coming back from injury too. They have RTS and DWZ to cause havoc out wide. SJ and TMM form a strong halves combo. SJ kicking game has been on song and he’s playing really well at the back end of his career creating lots in attack as well. Then up front they have big AFB and Tohu plus Niukore, Ford, Barnett etc… then they have a strong bench who come on and do their thing too. They have threats all over the park.

Looking at us we are coming in with a 1 and 3 record. We had a gritty win last weekend against the Dogs. But the pressure is still on. Last week means nothing if we can’t back it up this week. Looking at our team losing AJ is a big blow with Thompson coming in. We lose Shaq with HIA as well with Keppie coming back in. We are without Campbell, Munro, AJ, Arrow, Havili and Shaq so our depth is certainly being tested. But we have a good enough side out there to get the job done. I am a bit worried the Warriors will catch us for pace on the edges but I think the heavy rain they predict would help us to negate that speed. For us though it all starts with completion rate again we need to complete highly to have a chance and in the middle our pack has to lift. Our pack was a bit better last week but we need to go up a notch this week. Tom and Tats have to start strong and we will need big games from Keaon, Hosty and Cam again. Then we will need Moale, Duncan and Keppie to bring it off the bench. Do that and we give Cody, Trell and Wighton the chance to put some plays on for us. In this weather the kicking game will be important so we need Hawko to stand up in that regard. We need more from Cody too he’s been well down on form and he must lift this week. Defensively we are gonna have to be on right across the park too otherwise the Warriors will hurt us. Limiting offloads will also be important as will our discipline which needs to be much better than last week. Another area we need to improve on is our kick chase and line speed cmon Souths show some bloody enthusiasm in those effort areas.

Not long until the players come onto Accor Stadium here on this wet Saturday afternoon. But still great to see so much red and green in those stands let’s make sure we can hear that this arvo lets get that South Sydney going for the full 80mins this arvo at Accor Stadium. Let’s make sure everyone at home watching or wherever watching knows this is South Sydney home turf and a South Sydney home game! Lets do everything we can to get our boys home this afternoon and get those vital 2 competition points.

Ok as we look down the tunnel here at the Rabbitohs home ground we can see the visitors from across the ditch making their way down the tunnel………… Rabbitohs Members and Rabbitohs supporters please give a warm South Sydney welcome to the New Zealand Warriors……….

10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1………….

OK RABBITOHS MEMBERS AND RABBITOHS SUPPORTERS ITS TIME TO GET ON YOUR FEEEETTTTTTTTT…… SHOW THE COLOURS CLAP YOUR HANDS STAMP YA FEET AND SCREAM YOUR LUNGS OUT!!! HERE THEY COME YOUR South Sydney RRAAABBBBIIITTTOOOHHHSSSSSS!!!

LETS GO RABBITOHS

BBBOOOOOOO HAVE A LOOK LIAM THEY ARE OFFSIDE THEY ARE ONLY BACK 7 METRES BBBOOOOOOOO

CMON LIAM FLOP SECOND EFFORT WHERE IS OUR PENALTY BBBOOOOO LEG PULL BBBOOOOOOO

CMON THEY ARE LAYING ALL OVER US WHERE IS OUR SIX AGAIN CMON MATE REF FOR BOTH SIDES MARKER NOT SQUARE BBOOOOOOOO

BBBBOOOOOOOOOOO HIGH TACKLE PULL THE WHISTLE OUT OF YOUR ARSE BBBOOOOOOOO

FORWARD THAT IS FORWARD CMON TOUCHIE HAVE A LOOK BBBOOOOOOOOOOOO

Let’s make sure we do all we can to get the boys that extra penalty or six again!

South Sydney CLAP CLAP CLAP

EVERYONE NOW

GO South Sydney GO South Sydney WALKING ALONG SINGING A SONG SINGING GLORY GLORY GLORY ALL THE WAY!!!

CLAP CLAP CLAP CLAP CLAP CLAP CLAP RRRAAABBBIITTTSSS

CLAP CLAP CLAP CLAP CLAP CLAP CLAP RRAAABBIITTTSSSSS

P.S All the best to my kiwi mate and international member Callum at his third and final game on his trip out for the first time too Australia. It was a blast in the Burrow with you last week mate. Enjoy sitting with your Warriors mate who now lives in Sydney at this game. Look forward to our catch up after the game hopefully we are all belting out Glory Glory. Let’s send you off early next week with another win brother!!!

I predict we will keep our win record up against the Warriors and make it 15 of the last 16 wins…

Buckle up folks Souths to prevail with another gritty heart stopping nail biting win Souths by 2 points!
For those not at the game, we get a double header on Fox Sports today with the Reggie’s game also televised live.
4hrs of the bunnies let’s goooooo

callmack1

A very big, good morning to all my fellow South Sydney members and fans. Rise and shine everyone!! Get up, get moving, get you colours on and get hyped because it's game day babyyyyy!!! We're on today and will grace the Accor Stadium turf this afternoon in what is a massive, massive clash against the NZ Warriors. I'm really feeling it today and feeling everything. Nerves, excitement, I'm incredibly hyped. Dunno if you guys feel it as much as me but whenever we play the Warriors, it's always personal. I'm a Kiwi, but I'm as South Sydney as they come so going up against the team from my country is always interesting. Most of my mates are Warriors fans so there's a lot riding on this one. Absolutely pumped!!

It's a massive game for our team today as we chase a second win in a row for the first time this Season at home. It'd be huge if we could somehow do it, start stringing some wins together and really start to build our Season. That's what today is all about, the opportunity to start to build and show that last week wasn't just a flash in the pan, show that it was a move in the right direction. We need to build on all the good things we did last week and fix up the things we weren't so good at. It's going to be wet today, so the biggest thing will be ball control. We did really well in that area last week, and it made a big difference. That was in a dry game, so the focus on completions has to be even heavier in a wet/damp game.

It's not going to be easy against a Warriors side that I believe, are a genuine Premiership contender this year. They're a quality side full of skill, speed and power, and they seem to have finally developed that steel that all the good teams have. It's a scary prospect. We have to play out of our skins today if we want the result. It'll have to be a performance for the ages, they're that good of a side now. They'll see this as a massive opportunity, getting us while we're a bit down. On the up I hope, but certainly still a bit down.

However, you know what, both teams went into the Round 18 game last year with similar form lines and look what happened. We can do it. I really believe we can lift and do it. Warriors fans are nervous. My best mate, who's a Wahs fanatic, said last night that he's really nervous for today because we seem to be a bit of a bogey side for them, and he knows what our team is capable of. I hope we show what we are capable of this afternoon.

Jeez I feel hyped, but also really nervous. We're up against it, and it doesn't look likely, but there's just that little bit of me that has a massive amount of belief for today. I hope the boys have that same belief.

We are South Sydney!! We can do this!!

Let's goooooooooo!!!

callmack1

I'll be there trying everything I can to get the boys home, regardless of the conditions. This is the last game of my Aus trip so a win would just be so special! Come on lads!!

assess5

Basically the same team currently scoring 5 wins from 17 starts.

Few different like Graham gone from the centres, big loss, Arrow gone from the forwards, another big loss.
Shaq Mitchell and Tallis Duncan to my mind are the only two replacements who have made a success, maybe Keppie will find his feet soon.

Enormous lack of pace, all across the field.

I think I see the wisdom of Handyman bemoaning the lack of aggressive and successful recruitment planning all last year.
Hate to say it but the Warriors are favourite to win.

Big fingers crossed again, I suppose, but this so like all those years when Souths just didn't have the team.

speedster

Looks like they're going to play Roger on the wing. Curious move at first but now that I think about it, it appears he could play as a 2nd fullback from the back as well as doubling as the DWZ impersonator on the right when they attack the line.

They've also dropped Lussick and added another forward (Laban) to their bench now that CHT has been included.

We need to run harder and tackle harder to stay in this contest, kick really well in the conditions and try and dominate possession and field position to be a chance. If they beat us in those areas, it will be a long afternoon.

speedster

Now they're saying Hawkins is set for a long term stint in 1st grade. Not necessarily. There's still the Wighton-Walker option if Dean doesn't step up.

speedster

Thing with Lachy is he is too automatic with his kick set up and lacks the ability to react and change his routine. He has a slow wind up to start with but gets charged down too often because he can't see them coming at him and unlike other good kickers at NRL level, doesn't step and reset but just continues to blindly go through with the kick. Not saying getting his leg busted is his fault but he failed to react when most other halves would. Not sure if he has it in him to learn from this but maybe this injury will be the catalyst for him to add a quick step and reset approach to his kicking.