Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2024 Squad List

Dragon David

Nearly fell off my chair… there’s no way right? Did I miss something ?

Sorry… you were right. Still lost as to how why ?
In a better team and being coached by Meninga and his offsiders, Sloan, Lomax will shine. We know what Hunt can do when he plays in a strong team.

Look, as far as our squad is concerned most of what we have are not really top rate in my opinion and when you have say 4-5 okay players and 13-12 others in your 17 who take the field and from the bench, your team isn't really going to win much. In our case, we have to start replacing at least 5 also rans with much better players that would increase our better players to say 10. The next year, get rid of a further 5-7 players so that then the 17 you end up with are indeed even much better. When a couple of these better players go elsewhere or retire, you just replace like for like. That is how the good teams just have to do it, like Penrith.

Build to a good squad and replace a few with similar good players for those positions when players go. Simple formula which we haven't had for a loooooong time.

If we were to get just one decent player, he would start off playing Dragons footy unfortunately - just like Hunt has done. The good player tends to drop in intensity. We lose one reasonable player to another better team and they come on stronger.

So, we need more better players to start off not one or two and build like I have mentioned.

My thoughts guys and I'm sure most of you have the same thoughts and I hope this is what Flanagan will be working on.

Kyle who? Bulldogs lost 7 out of 10 with him as starting half/ five-eighth before relegated to interchange.
This isn't obviously a merit-based appointment. Will be watching closely.
I have no doubt S Flannagan will select the top 17 on merit each week.

Most important positions to fill are forwards. Then 5/8 and fullback. But god help us we need forwards otherwise there’s no point even taking the field in ‘24 with the useless powder puff pack we fielded in ‘23.
Yes two good props, a left edge forward and a hooker.

With Lomax to fullback, maybe Suli to his preferred right-center position, and Holmes to left-center.

I would like to see both Bird, Hunt, and Amone on their way. We their salary cap I'm sure we can do much better. On the other hand, I think Flanno can sort out Matt Feagai, and if he can't, there are some bright young outsidebacks coming through our pathways system.

Draginzaaar

Yes two good props, a left edge forward and a hooker.

With Lomax to fullback, maybe Suli to his preferred right-center position, and Holmes to left-center.

I would like to see both Bird, Hunt, and Amone on their way. We their salary cap I'm sure we can do much better. On the other hand, I think Flanno can sort out Matt Feagai, and if he can't, there are some bright young outsidebacks coming through our pathways system.
Holmes? Can we actually sign someone before we start putting them in the team?

dungay dragon

i see the Panthers have resigned exc young prop Lyndsay Smith.
Shame wouldve been a good get
Shaun Keppie unwanted at Manly ?? On a a similar level to Twal but can bend the line if used right .
Justin Olam would be a nice pick up if he can be prized away from Storm

Parko1310

i see the Panthers have resigned exc young prop Lyndsay Smith.
Shame wouldve been a good get
Shaun Keppie unwanted at Manly ?? On a a similar level to Twal but can bend the line if used right .
Justin Olam would be a nice pick up if he can be prized away from Storm
Depends, Olam is a pretty similar player to Suli in terms of the power game, plus he's got worse defence. If the power game at the expense of any speed is how flanno envisages playing then I agree a decent buy. But he might want a different style and I think that might be the case because I don't see Suli staying in 25 either

Id add he is a crab runs sideways and the reality is on this year’s performance I don’t think any club would want him.
Agree, a waste of space and money, so why hasnt Flanagan shown him the door same as the others, some of which are better than Bird.

Dragon David

Your defense wont improve tho. First Sloan needs a brutal off season by our hi performance coach before being put up against internationals.
The thing is though RVH not all fullbacks have both strong attack and defence as part of their hardware. Even though Sloan lacks being a good defender, if you take Reece Walsh for instance, his defence isn't all that efficient but his greater attacking ability in a better team makes up for it. While I say Sloan and Lomax will shine, if of course they actually get on the field, I mean it in terms of their attack and the other players that Meninga has will do better at defending leaving less defensive work for the likes of Sloan to shine in attack.

I hope you get what I mean?

Kyle who? Bulldogs lost 7 out of 10 with him as starting half/ five-eighth before relegated to interchange.
This isn't obviously a merit-based appointment. Will be watching closely.
As they say - "Lies, damned lies, and statistics" 😊

Personally, I’m optimistic regarding Kyle, who’s unwanted by all due to recent experience with Gus’s Goons.

This year with KF at 5/8 Dogs lost 7 out of 10 yeah? Without KF at 5/8 did they improved drastically?

They lost 10 out of 14 – so I’d reckon that stat is more a reflection on the Dogs and them using KF as their ‘scapegoat’.

In 2019, under coach ‘Dad’ at Sharks, he came to the attention of one of the league best talent recruiters (Rorters)

In 2020 for the chooks, he was the third highest point scorer in the NRL at the ripe old age of 21

His goal kicking alone was 78% – 6th in NRL

He was surprisingly released 1 year early. All reported KF was very hard done by, and it appears Roosters thought they had identified the next JT in Sam Walker.

There’s not enough paper to record all the shit he endured at the Dogs (which has got to affect your confidence)

Jamie Saward couldn’t crack a regular first grade spot at Roosters before Dragons. When Bennet coached Soward he installed the confidence that enabled JS to go from ‘speed hump in defence who never takes on the line in attack’ to the man who guided us to our last premiership.

Who better than Dad to re-install, in son, the self-belief?

f**k, I hope I’m right and ur wrong!

Slippery Morris

I like your way of thinking Hounds of Dracula. We can only wait and see what happens.

With the Roosters, they did have Sam Walker and Kyle was probably on a fair bit of dollars so needed the cash to strengthen another spot which they did in Suaulii. The Dogs did not get Kyle cheap and he was on a decent wicket.

Tell me one player that has gone to the dogs and improved in the last 2 years? Kikau, Mahoney, Burton, etc. They have gone backwards. Burton is a centre not 5/8, Mahoney most missed tackles in the NRL and Kikau apart from being injured most of the season, his laziness in defence really stood out in the end.

I like your way of thinking Hounds of Dracula. We can only wait and see what happens.

With the Roosters, they did have Sam Walker and Kyle was probably on a fair bit of dollars so needed the cash to strengthen another spot which they did in Suaulii. The Dogs did not get Kyle cheap and he was on a decent wicket.

Tell me one player that has gone to the dogs and improved in the last 2 years? Kikau, Mahoney, Burton, etc. They have gone backwards. Burton is a centre not 5/8, Mahoney most missed tackles in the NRL and Kikau apart from being injured most of the season, his laziness in defence really stood out in the end.
Thanks Slip.

Tell me one player that has gone to the dogs and improved in the last 2 years?

For us Dragons it an all too familiar story, unfortunately.

Anyway, aside from the money, that you rightly point out, the introduction of the ‘6 more tackle’ rule mid 2020 made Walker’s style of play potentially more valuable to the Roosters. With Walker though, they have since struggled to get the balance of ‘structure’ and ‘heads-up’ footy right. Kyle was viewed as very structured, perhaps too structured to adapt to the new rule.

Didn’t mention that earlier as it would take the gloss off my argument - LOL

getsmarty