Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2nd Test: Sri Lanka v Australia at Galle on August 4-8, 2016 - SRI LANKA WON BY 229 RUNS

Lyon has always been an absolute plodder.

Wheneverthe conditions have suited him he's never risen to the occasion.

Worst ever Aussie bowler to rack up 200 wickets.
I said this to a mate last night, he's easily the worst.

I laugh when they call him our greatest ever offie.

JJ

An insult to some pretty good bowlers...

Is Neil Harvey still around? You could have a golden oldies top 6... Simpso, Tubby, D Jones, AB, S Waugh and Harvey, they'd show more fight than this lot...

mozza91

An insult to some pretty good bowlers...

Is Neil Harvey still around? You could have a golden oldies top 6... Simpso, Tubby, D Jones, AB, S Waugh and Harvey, they'd show more fight than this lot...
Don't think Harvey would be able to find time in his schedule of whinging about how things aren't as good as they were when he was playing to make an appearence.

JJ

Don't think Harvey would be able to find time in his schedule of whinging about how things aren't as good as they were when he was playing to make an appearence.
He might want to prove the point though...

Tommy Smith

Warner and Smith plod it up again.

Don't worry, some cracking roads will be awaiting you at home this summer. And you'll score multiple centuries each and Brayshaw and Heals will proclaim "Davey Warner! Best opening batsman in the world! Steve Smith best batsman in the world!!"

And all overseas failures will be lost in backslapping and sycophantic hero worshipping.

OVP

I did think twice over Hayden as he certainly had flat track tendencies. In fact on a pitch with no seam or swing you'd pick him as an opener in an all time XI.

What swayed me was his stunning 2001 series in India. Perhaps I'm giving that one series far too much weight. But he was absolutely awesome against Harbhajan when all else floundered for the most part.

It's rare for an Aussie batsman to play spin so well. Maybe that's why he stands out. He'd be the best Aussie batsman vs spin I've seen except for Boof Lehmann.

One of my biggest lols from cricket was watching Matthew Hayden face Wasim Akram, Curtly Ambrose, Shoib Akhtar, Courtney Walsh and the like on seaming wickets. The first day of a Gabba Test was always a greentop and would swing like buggery. Mark Taylor and Michael Slater played the bulk of their career facing these guys on seaming wickets and did an outstanding job every time. Whenever the selectors would pick Hayden over Slater (due to Hayden scoring shitloads of runs on flat tracks in shield cricket) it was absolutely comical watching the guy getting beaten all ends up, every ball. The selectors then had to rush back Slater quick smart.

It's no coincidence the rise of Hayden and Langer as an opening pair was due solely to the greenkeepers preparing roads for Test matches instead of greentops. Taylor and Slater were far superior as openers in my humble opinion, and there's absolutely no way you could convince me otherwise.

The preparation of roads continue to this day, hence why the aussie cricket team sucks arse whenever they play on a seaming or spinning wicket, they have no clue. England are the number one cricket team atm by a long way, but Pakistan will make a big play, for the number one spot, very soon.

JJ

Australia's quicks are very good but on anything other than roads the batting is comical, including the vaunted Smith and Davey dumb dumb

JJ

The Don still there, but big levers gone, must be a BIG ground. 6/122

The big grounds will never stop the drop in crap pitches (f**k AFL)so its time to move shield to smaller grounds that arent roads.

OVP

The big grounds will never stop the drop in crap pitches (f**k AFL)so its time to move shield to smaller grounds that arent roads.

I think we just need to go back to the way it was about 15-20 years ago. Gabba a greentop with swing, Perth had some swing and heaps of bounce, MCG had green on the wicket early and then dry out a bit as time went on, Adelaide has always been flat and dry which should change to be more like Sydney was, Sydney used to be green early then dry the f**k out and spin like buggery.

Tommy Smith

All jokes aside, would Perry do better than Levers Marsh?

I reckon she could at least match his performances.

Meg Lanning would do better overseas than most Aussie batsmen too.

Eelectrica

Aussie media must love this. They've already got the articles written for the Indian tour. Will just need to do a couple search and replaces for a few names and scores, keep the rest intact.

The pre-series talk will be the same, the series will go the same way.

I think the problems are all mental. There's so much talk of how much they struggle in sub-continent conditions that they over think the whole thing.