Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

8,903 at Aussie

Copa

ucantseeme said:
If Manly lost to Canberra the night before the crowd would have been double but since this game had no bearing on the top 8 or the spoon they didnt draw a big crowd.

Who here enjoys watching a dead rubber?
Canberra pulled a bigger crowd... and canberra gets bugger all away fans and they were playing for nothing but pride.

Focal Point

Renowned League Expert said:
Look, how many times do we have to go through this crowd bullsh*t? For the last 50 years the Roosters have averaged just on 11,000 at home games, same as every other Sydney club. Some years they average 20,000, some years 5,000. But when all is said and done they average 11,000. Year after year.

Who the hell cares if some days they draw 9,000?

Yet you bag out penrith for being the most poorly supported team?:roll:

Stop contradicting yourself league fraud. You're already a joke.

Now when are we going to see you eat that hat?

Snappy Tom said:
Well done all those die hard fair weathered Roosters fans for getting out to Aussie today and saying a big thanks and farewell to Ricko.

What a bloody disgrace to a so called icon of the club, it's one and only local junior.

I wonder what kind of bullsh!t excuses we are going to hear?
Bloody piss weak effort.
Make Storm crowds look great.

Renowned League Expert said:
You have to understand that times change. You can watch every game on TV, now. You're stuck in the past. Someone who watches on TV is no less a fan than someone who attends the game. Support is multi-facted. It's not always about sitting out there at the game. Hearing opposition fans screaming "Get 'em onside!" seventy-five times a game is not everyone's idea of fun.
Yes they are.

I was there and there was easily over 8000 there, so there is no credance in any assumptions that there werent.
It was freezing cold, fathers day, pissing down rain most of the day,the bandwagonners stayed away and yes it was extremely disappointing to have such a small crowd esp to farewell ricko.
Id say there were only around 50 bulldogs supporters in the ground, which also contributed.

And fair dinkum for some of you souths and parra fans to be criticising roosters crowds and bandwagon supporters look in your own backyard, when you were going crap you couldnt pull a crowd of 8000 to a game.

All teams have fairweathered fans, exceptions to these would be Newcastle,Broncs,Saints,cowboys and storm

The rest of us cant say as much

OVP said:
The Roosters fans being paid out by a wanker who names himself after f**king Cat Food is water off a duck's back. Some of us have Fathers who dont like Football, tard. There is more to life than a game of footy you know. Moron.

Ahhh the excuses.

Roosters played on Fathers day last year at the same venue. Crowd was 24114.

What was so special about Father's day this year the crowd was down by 2/3rd's on last years?

Nuffy

Roosters would have the worst group of supporters......bad winners, sore losers and fairweather fans without peer.

Exhibit A.................Rooster Cogburn...........aka FF.
Exhibit B.................Renowned league expert............aka FIGJAM.

For a loyal clubman to get such a piss poor sendoff is an embarassment to the club.

For all the success that the Roosters have enjoyed over the last few years, its still not enough to engender a sense of loyalty and commitment from their fans, sad really.

Ron Jeremy

Just a matter of time before we saw it.

I had suspicions midway through the year when the Eels played the Roosters.

14,000 people present......12,000 of them were Parra fans lol

Ron Jeremy

Also great to see Canterbury fans travel when they're loosing?? they never have & never will, easy to get good crowds when successfull but when your team is struggling they are never cited.

Tommy Smith

Five pages of whinging...this is great stuff! Keep it up!

Put simply, Roosters fans are no different to Parra fans, Penrith fans, Manly fans, Tigers fans etc etc.

When the Northern Eagles were losing and it was Toovey's last game for the club, about 6000 turned up. Parra supporters notoriously booo their team when they lose, and cheer for them/fill the stadium when they win. Tigers/Panthers fans fill out the stadium when they are winning (bangwagoners) and stuggle to get 8'000 when they're losing.

Australian fans on the whole are pretty fickle, apart from a diehard core of fans. The Roosters are no exception. Get over it you bunch of whinging sooks.

Misty Bee

Love this thread! Perfect payback for Moffo's pathetic "I'm gunna love watching Parra lose" thread!

And the bandwagoners jibe - that'sbeen thrown around since Dally Messenger was rookie of the year!

I can remember Parra's home crowd dipping below 10k about twice since the ground was built 20 years ago! I also recall Brett Kenny's farewell - a wooden spoon playoff v Balmain - and 17 000 turned up.

Excuses -

Fathers day. Yeah, would only affect Easts, as all other clubs fans are bastards. :roll: Odd, when the biggest industry in Easts area is paying for a root! Maybe rooster fans had to visit 12 different blokes on father's day.

It was wet. Diddums, poor bloody Ricko didn't play in a driz-a-bone, did he!!!! Maybe the game should have been played at Henson Park, so you didn't have to get out of the Beamer and get your perm ruined.

It was a 'who cares' match - against your current biggest rival? At least your team got fired up. Maybe the SFS latte machine broke down. Or the Bulldogs flares threatened the sheen on your finger nail polish.

At Canberra, the locals turned up to cheer Ian Hindmarsh, and even though they got caned, they stated to cheer him big time when he bagged his double.

Sharks fans gave Peach a send off that left him and his dad misty eyed.

Parra had a sold out crowd to send off Matt Peterson, and he didn't even play!!!!

Snappy Tom

Misty Bee said:
I also recall Brett Kenny's farewell - a wooden spoon playoff v Balmain - and 17 000 turned up.

Misty I remember that day well. We sat in the Western Grandstand and had a ball. Kenny played a wonderful game that day and showed he still had all the skills.

Funny I was thinking that same thing last night about Bert's last ever game.

Well done buddy.
:)

Nuffy

Nice try TS.

Roosters fans have shown themselves to be as weak as piss.

Newcastle crowds are up, and we have run last all year.

True fans support their team not matter what, Roosters fans support their team when they are winning, pure and simple.

Snappy Tom

Tommy Smith said:
Five pages of whinging...this is great stuff! Keep it up!

Well the whinging would not be coming from Roosters/Sydney Swifts/Swans fans. The only thing they are coming up with is p!ss poor excuses.

Nuffy

Also Immortal,

You are asking for bad karma by using that signature. Don't tempt fate!