Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

A Contract is a Contract, is a Contract....or is it?

Father Ted

im kinda torn, i dont like moltzen at all and want him to go

but on the other hand him staying pisses saints off

Nah Vic , you keep him!!! from what little we've seen of his character, I think we just dodged a bullet :D It just might be it turns into a fight to get someone to take him.

Father Ted

Well you know what they say Vic, every cloud has a silver lining. I believe we'll do well out of this regardless of the outcome. There's certainly a few other players in the pipeline.

Signing a player to piss off someone else. Is that the basis of Schultz's business plan? Wouldn't surprise me.

And Vic, you keep telling everyone that you love Saints. Keep living the dream. lol

A certain monster of a prop from the Broncos is only asking 250K and is testing the market. The money we saved on precious might turn into something mongrel and wonderful

thommo4pm

Who exactly does it piss off mate?

I think the majority of our fans don't really care if he is here or not.
I think it annoys you guys more if he stays with you.

Fordy20

But we don't know that he's staying. All we know is that the Dragons and Tauber have had since July at the very least to organise Tim's formal release from the Tigers and for whatever reason they've failed to do so. The ball is clearly in the Dragons court. They need to make a decision as to whether they want Moltzen or not and if they do, then they need to secure that release. The Tigers administration doesn't want him, Sheens thinks he's a fullback, so all this garbage about the club wanting to keep Moltzen because they are going to punt Lui simply doesn't wash. It's just confected bullshit by the media.

EDIT:

It's probably in the Dragon's best interests to do nothing anyway. If they don't pursue a release, the Tigers have to feed the prima donna for another year. At the end of that year, then they could decide to enforce their contract or they could say that the old contract was invalid, then sign Tim for minimum wage or simply not bother with him. At first it looked like Doust not securing a release looked like a stuff up, but it's turned out to be a masterstroke. He's even managed to avoid negative press for not securing the release and people are blaming the Humphreys for some illogical reason. My hat goes off to him.

But we don't know that he's staying. All we know is that the Dragons and Tauber have had since July at the very least to organise Tim's formal release from the Tigers and for whatever reason they've failed to do so. The ball is clearly in the Dragons court. They need to make a decision as to whether they want Moltzen or not and if they do, then they need to secure that release. The Tigers administration doesn't want him, Sheens thinks he's a fullback, so all this garbage about the club wanting to keep Moltzen because they are going to punt Lui simply doesn't wash. It's just confected bullshit by the media.

EDIT:

It's probably in the Dragon's best interests to do nothing anyway. If they don't pursue a release, the Tigers have to feed the prima donna for another year. At the end of that year, then they could decide to enforce their contract or they could say that the old contract was invalid, then sign Tim for minimum wage or simply not bother with him. At first it looked like Doust not securing a release looked like a stuff up, but it's turned out to be a masterstroke. He's even managed to avoid negative press for not securing the release and people are blaming the Humphreys for some illogical reason. My hat goes off to him.
Deadset Fordy, you should run for CEO of the Tigers.

You make Schultz's contradictions look like pure amateurism.

Father Ted

EDIT:
It's probably in the Dragon's best interests to do nothing anyway. If they don't pursue a release, the Tigers have to feed the prima donna for another year. .

As I thought Benji better love him because I'm not sure how many friends he's got left at either club

Fordy20

Deadset Fordy, you should run for CEO of the Tigers.

You make Schultz's contradictions look like pure amateurism.

If Humphreys can cause all sorts of havoc amongst the playing group like he did when he allowed Gibbs, Fifita, Fulton, Heighington, Ryan and Moltzen to shop elsewhere and not get fired by the coach, I reckon he's doing a good enough job. Getting one over Doust by making him play by the rules is just a bonus.

you guys should try and get mitch brown, such an under rated player who just isnt mates with the right people at the tigers. is a top player and a much, much better fullback then moltzen

If Humphreys can cause all sorts of havoc amongst the playing group like he did when he allowed Gibbs, Fifita, Fulton, Heighington, Ryan and Moltzen to shop elsewhere and not get fired by the coach, I reckon he's doing a good enough job.
Sounds like a match made in heaven.
Fordy20 said:
Getting one over Doust by making him play by the rules is just a bonus.
Well as they say Fordy, 24 hours is a long time in politics. Have you read this morning's paper? Looks like your fearless leader has done another backflip.
WESTS Tigers chief executive Stephen Humphreys has revealed the Tim Moltzen contract dispute will be resolved in days - and he is likely to be released to the Dragons.

It is a stunning about-face from last week when the Tigers appeared ready to dig in and not release the utility star, who signed with the Dragons mid-season.

"We will have a conversation with them in the next few days about it, but we have been working on the assumption that he won't be here next season.

"His move depended on us granting him a release, and that is the process we are going through now."

Asked why the clubs position had changed, Humphreys said: "He has signed a contract with the Dragons, so that is where he's likely to end up."

Humphreys refused to be drawn into speculation that the Tigers were struggling to fit him into their salary cap if they did decide to keep him.

It has been assumed that money could be freed up if they sacked halfback Robert Lui, although there have also been suggestions the club was trying to move on centre Mitch Brown. "But we are not moving on Mitch Brown."

[Excerpts] More:
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/n...llawarra-dragons/story-e6frfgbo-1226162528357

Cue to WT saying, 'we didn't want him anyway'. lol

TheRev

Humphreys is making sure he makes his players departure as difficult as possible, frankly it doesnt surprise me after the galah he made of himself mid-season, when Moltzen signed with the Dragons...

Assumably he is one of those people who will have a whinge regardless of what decision somebody makes, and in this case he was the one who told Moltzen to go look elsewhere, then somehow act shocked and wronged when he actually signed elsewhere.

Breathingfire

If Humphreys can cause all sorts of havoc amongst the playing group like he did when he allowed Gibbs, Fifita, Fulton, Heighington, Ryan and Moltzen to shop elsewhere and not get fired by the coach, I reckon he's doing a good enough job. Getting one over Doust by making him play by the rules is just a bonus.

1. Since when is a CEO employed by the coach? The board employ him and therefore a coach has no authority to sack a CEO.

2. Since when does a CEO release players that the coach wants to keep? The coach and CEO work together because the coach knows which players he wants to coach and the CEO knows how to balance the books.

Father Ted

The Tigers have had a few reasonable seasons But given what we've seen of the guys in charge its a bloody miracle

Don't speak too soon they haven't changed their minds for the third time yet.

With this many backflips Humphreys should join the circus....

There's a reason why they were called the Balmainiacs in olden times. Mad as cut snakes, the lot of them.