Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Adam Doueihi

Well I agree that he has been written a much larger cheque than his past form warrants - however good luck to the man for being able to get it .

Also the Tigers recruitment never stops working , not only to have signed Doueihi , but also the young Storm hooker/half on a swap deal . Plus how nice is it to see another club steal a player that the rorters had their eyes on .

If only the Dragons had the brains , foresight and money that the Tigers have .

Crush

Well I agree that he has been written a much larger cheque than his past form warrants - however good luck to the man for being able to get it .

Also the Tigers recruitment never stops working , not only to have signed Doueihi , but also the young Storm hooker/half on a swap deal . Plus how nice is it to see another club steal a player that the rorters had their eyes on .

If only the Dragons has the brains , foresight and money that the Tigers have .
Gareth mate, bag the dragons by all means but don't compare them to the Tigers. Tigers are a basketcase. They haven't played finals since 2011! Not once!
They have zero foresight! Zero brains and are even worse than the Dragons.
They've signed Doueihi on 625K a year. Thats a lot of coin for him. They have just signed BJ and Luciano who are notoriously inconsistent and very risky signings. They have Josh Reynolds on 750K for next couple of years and he's barely first grade and in trouble with the law.
They have MBYE on 950K a year long term, thats about 300K too much.
Tigers aren't a team to be jealous of IMO.

crush it was not a so much a case of bagging our mighty Dragons , but more so a case of showing just how pro-active the Tigers are when it comes to recruitment . They don’t let the grass grow around their feet .

As you have said they have indeed made some awful decisions as to the amount they pay their players . I only wished that we had their type of money at our disposal, and also the post was no reflection upon Millward in his capacity as our recruitment officer - as I have always thought that he was being told just whom to sign and with that in mind has still manage a number of good buys for the team .

Signing him at $550k per year would've been salary cap mismanagement.

If you want to bag the club about recruitment, at least know something about how the cap works.
If De Belin wins his court case, signing Merrin at around 500k instead of a centre is the big mistake. If De Belin is no longer avaialable, then we still need to use his salary cap to buy a centre. Aitken and Lafai just do not cut the mustard.

redVinme

If only the Dragons has the brains , foresight and money that the Tigers have .

Until they get xerri instead... I'd say that's the real target anyways

SBD82

If De Belin wins his court case, signing Merrin at around 500k instead of a centre is the big mistake. If De Belin is no longer avaialable, then we still need to use his salary cap to buy a centre. Aitken and Lafai just do not cut the mustard.
Who says that Merrin is on $500k?

Frank Facer

I think we need Merrin and JDB. If JDB is unavailable, then we lack depth and we are also weaker at full strength. The fact that we still have Aitken and Lafai are the problems. At full strength I would have Merrin starting as one of our props, with Graham and K Sims on the bench. If JDB is unavailable then Graham has to start and our bench looks rather weak.

Old Kogarah Boy 1

crush it was not a so much a case of bagging our mighty Dragons , but more so a case of showing just how pro-active the Tigers are when it comes to recruitment . They don’t let the grass grow around their feet .

As you have said they have indeed made some awful decisions as to the amount they pay their new players . I only wished that we had their type of money at our disposal, and also the post was no reflection upon Millward in his capacity as our recruitment officer - as I have always thought that he was being told just whom to sign and with that in mind has still manage a number of good buys for the team .

l tend to agree with the thoughts of Millward buying only whom he’s told to buy.
Sadly, it seems the Gordon’s are happy to have us only possibly making the eight, each year.

Near enough seems good enough for them.

The tigers were supposed to be short of cash to buy players, having paid overs the past couple of years, yet we Saints seem only to be able to look at journeymen to be our star signings?
Funny that.
Even more repugnant is that the Rorters, having always bought the cream from the previous season, can still find money to buy, this season’s high riders.

How the fudge does that make sense?

Crush

As you have said they have indeed made some awful decisions as to the amount they pay their new players . I only wished that we had their type of money at our disposal, and also the post was no reflection upon Millward in his capacity as our recruitment officer - as I have always thought that he was being told just whom to sign and with that in mind has still manage a number of good buys for the team .
Yeah mate, they had some players leave them last year so had a lot of coin to spend. But lets face it, those 3 guys they have bought are OK but nothing exceptional for the coin they no doubt spent on them.
Luke, Merrin and Wiliame are pretty bloody ordinary acquisitions though too aren't they!
Cheers mate.

l tend to agree with the thoughts of Millward buying only whom he’s told to buy.
Sadly, it seems the Gordon’s are happy to have us only possibly making the eight, each year.

The tigers were supposed to be short of cash to buy players, having paid overs the past couple of years, yet we Saints seem only to be able to look at journeymen to be our star signings?
Funny that.
Even more repugnant is that the Rorters, having always bought the cream from the previous season, can still find money to buy, this season’s high riders.

Buddy unfortunately we could go on and on about the WIN Corp. reluctance’s to spend a penny or two on the project at hand , which of course is to provide plenty of dollars through their media organizations and by so doing providing the footy team with a better bank balance.

Many on here have said that this is a bit of a hobby horse for B.G. , perhaps so however his son should be doing his best to get the Dragons back onto a sound financial footing . Of course his job is made so much harder when you have the Keystone Cops bungling along the corridors of power .

Yeah mate, they had some players leave them last year so had a lot of coin to spend. But lets face it, those 3 guys they have bought are OK but nothing exceptional for the coin they no doubt spent on them.
Luke, Merrin and Wiliame are pretty bloody ordinary acquisitions though too aren't they!
Cheers mate.

Remember when . . . The Tigers and Magpies were forced to amalgamate- Manly and Norths and also when they attempted to shove Souths and also Cronulla out of the competition way back ago ?

I used to think “ the poor devils , I am so glad that the same will never happen to St.George “ . How wrong was I , how times changed so much that we also had to join the same list of ‘ amalgamees ‘ .

Unfortunately for both parties of each Joint Venture they still carry their original genetic make-up , their own souls of the team they once were and still carry that today regardless of what their new club name maybe .

Perhaps that is partially the reason why they never hit the same heights that they once did .

Remember when . . . The Tigers and Magpies were forced to amalgamate- Manly and Norths and also when they attempted to shove Souths and also Cronulla out of the competition way back ago ?

I used to think “ the poor devils , I am so glad that the same will never happen to St.George “ . How wrong was I , how times changed so much that we also had to join the same list of ‘ amalgamees ‘ .

Unfortunately for each Joint Venture they still have their previous club identity , their own souls of what they once were and still carry that today regardless of what their new team name maybe .

Perhaps that is partially the reason why they never hit the same heights that they once did .
Completely agree..

Illawarra would have been much stronger without the weight of St George around their neck..

But.. We are where we are.. So best we make the best of a bad situation...

Saint_JimmyG

I’d be more annoyed with Luke’s signing, than Merrin. After all, SGI had Robson as contingency for McInnes.

Saint_JimmyG

Funny that.

TBF, the Chooks have released both Cronk and Mitchell. Both would be on serious coin. There are probably others I’ve forgotten about too,

Saint_JimmyG

Completely agree..

Illawarra would have been much stronger without the weight of St George around their neck..

But.. We are where we are.. So best we make the best of a bad situation...

Are you off your meds tonight, buddy?

Saint_JimmyG

Gareth mate, bag the dragons by all means but don't compare them to the Tigers. Tigers are a basketcase. They haven't played finals since 2011! Not once!
They have zero foresight! Zero brains and are even worse than the Dragons.
They've signed Doueihi on 625K a year. Thats a lot of coin for him. They have just signed BJ and Luciano who are notoriously inconsistent and very risky signings. They have Josh Reynolds on 750K for next couple of years and he's barely first grade and in trouble with the law.
They have MBYE on 950K a year long term, thats about 300K too much.
Tigers aren't a team to be jealous of IMO.

You’ve omitted the fact WT are coached by McGuire, a premiership winning coach, It’s much closer to semi final football than SGI under McIdiot.