Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

AFL 2005 - Round 5

CyberKev

meltiger said:
CyberKev said:
If Richmond can beat Port this week (and they must think themselves a chance) then the club would be entitled to start thinking about the possibility of finals football.

Geez you're a child sometimes :lol:

You do realise two lines of that conversation will forever live on in my sig file should we get there ;-)

Nothing wrong with being a child... (Almost) everybody loves you; you can slyly deride someone and people think its cute; if you live in Victoria you get your own hospital; and if you're unlucky enough to find yourself aboard a sinking ship you get front row seats in the lifeboats...

Re: the prior conversation on Richmond's finals prospects:

After all the Watergate shit went down in the 70s, Richard Nixon's Press Secretary fronted the press and breathlessly declared - "all previous comments [on the matter] by the President are inoperative"

Given that my moderator role is this board's equivalent to the American Presidency, I reserve the same rights as Nixon should the need arise for retrospective revisionism :p

meltiger

camsmith said:
Richmond can beat Port.

I'll expect Hall to go on Tredrea as he did a pretty good job on Hamil. I agree with Mel Tiger about Gaspers performance and that free kick was shocking, where was the over the shoulder on Gas? :roll:

The free kick was an utter joke.

Agree on Hall, did the best job he could possibly do. We need Schulz back but unfortunately he's injured again.

Another positive was Delidio, showed some class on several occasions.

Turned the ball over several times though... Can't expect too much from the kid though I suppose.

I went down and watched coburg yesterday, Tambling may be another week off, but im hoping with hyde out that they bring him in.

Hyde and Tambo are intended for completely different roles within the structure. I feel real sorry for the young fella, finally starting to really shine and fractures his skull in a freak accident. :(

Tambo needs another week in the two's although I have a feeling he'll be selected.

One of the many negatives, Krakour (sp?) I think he needs to watch some tape of Milne. :?

They need to decide where they are playing Krak. If a midfielder he needs to go back to Coburg and get fit. If as a small crumbing forward... Leave him in the bloody forward line.

Another negative... ANOTHER sunday game for the Tigers, after 5 weeks you think we could have atleast on Saturday game :( Just means i need to think about last weeks loss for an extra day.

11 or 12 it is all up for Sunday games. That's the AFL punishment for being shit lol

At least the one positive is the AFL dragged Channel Collingwood and King McGuire back into line and reduced their Friday night games this year. lol So it seems anyway.

CyberKev

meltiger said:
[Deledio] Turned the ball over several times though... Can't expect too much from the kid though I suppose.

I wouldn't give this a second thought. I haven't seen a young footballer (no matter how good he is) NOT turn the footy over on occasion during early developmental stages. These days, high draft options are almost invariably screened for their skills. The turnover problems early on are mainly a result of adjusting to the extra pace and pressure of the top tier game. You only worry about constant turnovers from players after they've been playing for a couple of years. You can also wear a 1/5th turnover rate, provided a) the other 4/5ths of possession is well used and b) the player concerned isn't in the last line of defence.

the important thing with youngsters, for mine, is ensuring they have a set role to play. I'm not fully sure how Deledio is being used, but Franklin is worrying me at Hawthorn because he is being allowed to drift on a HFF. I always get concerned that young players pick-up bad habits if allowed to float too long in a flanking position up forward, which is why I'd like to see Clarkson challenge Franklin & Roughead with key forward assignments over the coming weeks.

Meltiger said:
I went down and watched coburg yesterday, Tambling may be another week off, but im hoping with hyde out that they bring him in.

How did Tambling go? I see that he kicked a goal, but was he being used up forward or in the midfield?

Also, I don't suppose you noticed where Tim Boyle was playing? We have a choice of bringing in either Boyle or Brennan this week, and while I would prefer to debut the former, I noticed Brennan was declared best player afield for Box Hill.

Meltiger said:
Another negative... ANOTHER sunday game for the Tigers, after 5 weeks you think we could have atleast on Saturday game :( Just means i need to think about last weeks loss for an extra day.

11 or 12 it is all up for Sunday games. That's the AFL punishment for being sh*t lol

Where your theory falls down here, is that Hawthorn seems to be getting heaps of Saturday arvo games.

Living in Canberra, Hawthorn has been on TV here every week except for the Essendon game (the Tiger game was on delayed telecast on the Sunday night).

meltiger

Cam went to watch Coburg not me :) lol He'll need to answer those questions mate.

Had the gf's family over :( :(

Would much rather have been watching Coburg :) lol

CyberKev

meltiger said:
Cam went to watch Coburg not me :) lol He'll need to answer those questions mate.

Had the gf's family over :( :(

Would much rather have been watching Coburg :) lol

I hear you... I've had my fair share of "I'd rather be watching Coburg" moments :D

You did miss the perfect opportunity to talk all manner of crap, as I would've believed anything you said.