Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

AFL 2006-Round 5

meltiger

The AFL must strip St Kilda of their points and demote the 3 umpires.

& refund anyone who loses money at the TAB

Absoloutely criminal.

willvillain

Funniest finish to a game (any sport) I've ever seen. I laughed my arse off when the Saints bloke got a free kick like 5 minutes after the siren, he actually had a chance to win the fecking game! Hilarious stuff.

camsmith

Just another example of the AFL doing everything they can to get the Saints a flag. It has been happening for three years, that game against Brisbane at Telstra Dome... last years game vs Freo at tassie and countless others where the saints have gotten free kicks whenever they get touched.

It is a joke. The result must be changed. The game is over when the time is up, everything after that, the point, the free kick everything that happened after that doesn't count.

The freo players heard it, im sure atleast one of the thousand umpires we now have on the ground would have heard it, but nup, we couldn't have the Saints losing a game could we?

A joke and THE RIGHT THING MUST BE DONE.

(btw, can anyone tell me if PAV kicked the first goal?? if he did, then i have been robbed $$$$ by the AFL ffs!!)

CyberKev

meltiger said:
The AFL must strip St Kilda of their points and demote the 3 umpires.

& refund anyone who loses money at the TAB

Absoloutely criminal.

Yeah, it was definitely Freo's game.

Mind you, only Freo could get themselves in a position wherein they couldn't win that game and win it well. They were certainly the better side, with Pavlich a class above any of the other players on the paddock.

Extraordinary finish!

There's no excuse for any AFL ground NOT having a siren that can't be heard comfortably above any acceptable at ground din. I mean to say, what's the ground capacity down there, 17,000? Its a joke!

CyberKev

meltiger said:
Going forward? Hughes and I would suspect whoever the KPP prospect is at the end of this year.

Yes, but you've got to get that strong prospect first, and he'll be a year of development behind where Clarke would have been.

meltiger said:
But what use would they be if the midfield is getting killed consistently? - We've had a bloke in our forward line for 14 years who would have kicked 1000 goals had he played at North, Essendon or Brisbane instead of Richmond... His goal per game percentage is as good as Lloyd and Carey, imagine how good he would have been in a competitive side.

Richo has been great, but he perfectly illustrates the downside of only having one central forward option. Richmond lacks necessary options, depth coverage and much needed viability for his impending retirement. For top forward options you need to get at the top few talls in the draft and you need to be able to set down 3-4 years for them to be cherry ripe. Getting a rare shot at a player like Clarke and passing him over for a raw outside midfielder that you also believe will take 3-4 years to get right doesn't make sound sense. They got lucky with Hughes, with everybody believing he would go a lot earlier than that, but they need more than just Hughes.

meltiger said:
We don't need half/half forwards, we need true forwards - Which is why Cleve is such a good signing.

???

Clarke plays either FF or CHF and is as true a key forward as you could find.

camsmith

Maybe someone should start a new thread on this topic, i have a feeling this will be all over the TV, papers, radio for the next week. We will be hearing alot about it.

meltiger

CyberKev said:
Clarke plays either FF or CHF and is as true a key forward as you could find.

Have heard him described as a ruck/forward before and reading the descritpion on footy draft.com which I posted would suggest he isn't a true forward.

lockyno1

Haha, sucked in the Shockers! Good to see, even though the result was wrong! I always love it when the Dockers get screwed! The other game was a close one but poor decisions were cruicial to the Bombers losing that game.

CyberKev

meltiger said:
Have heard him described as a ruck/forward before and reading the descritpion on footy draft.com which I posted would suggest he isn't a true forward.

He played the entire Carnival out of FF last season and was generally talked about as a huge FF/CHF prospect by recruiting types heading into the draft.

Brisbane were quick to talk of him as a prized replacement for Alistair Lynch after they drafted him also.

He's a true forward alright. As with most key forward/ruck youngsters, he is described as such because he had a couple of relieving runs there at junior level.

He's definitely a true forward, and every bit as true as Hughes.

CyberKev

Well, I've just been over on 'Bomberblitz' taking in the whole heartrending anguish of the great Essendon tragedy. Seriously, all that's missing is the country & western soundtrack overlay as the faithful lay their tortured souls bare about:

• the evil AFL scheduling them in with just a 5-day break;
  • the evil umpires having the gall to plot against Essendon by only giving them an 18-12 free kick advantage;
  • the evil Hawk defenders for not providing Messers Hird & Lucas with a rose-petalled avenue to goal;
  • the temerity of the evil Soviet Empire for invading Afghanistan in 1980, rather than moving the tanks in on Glenferrie; etc, etc, yada, yada, yada, sob, sob, sob...
I'm obviously a hard man, because the tears aren't coming fellas; the tears just aren't coming...

Essendon fans decrying fixturing hardships and umpiring decisions, the irony hits harder than a neutron bomb. :-({|=

lockyno1

I am not making excuses for the Dons. In the end poor decisions from key players cost us not any of those excuses.

CyberKev

lockyno1 said:
I am not making excuses for the Dons. In the end poor decisions from key players cost us not any of those excuses.

I wasn't singling you out, Lockmeister-General.

In real terms, the Bombers did what they had to do to win the game.

Hodge was held for the first time in aeons;

Williams was kept largely in check, although he did pop-up for the match winner;

Croad never threatened like he has in recent weeks; and

Mitchell struggled for three quarters, although he did come home well.

These are Hawthorn's four best players; and had anyone told me prior to the game that all four would be down during the game, I would've suggested that Essendon would have won and won well.

lockyno1

How do you think I am feeling right now. Not only did the Bombers lose, but my brother tipped the damn draw!

camsmith

CyberKev said:
Well, I've just been over on 'Bomberblitz' taking in the whole heartrending anguish of the great Essendon tragedy. Seriously, all that's missing is the country & western soundtrack overlay as the faithful lay their tortured souls bare about:
  • the evil umpires having the gall to plot against Essendon by only giving them an 18-12 free kick advantage;
  • the evil Hawk defenders for not providing Messers Hird & Lucas with a rose-petalled avenue to goal;
  • the temerity of the evil Soviet Empire for invading Afghanistan in 1980, rather than moving the tanks in on Glenferrie; etc, etc, yada, yada, yada, sob, sob, sob...
I'm obviously a hard man, because the tears aren't coming fellas; the tears just aren't coming...

Essendon fans decrying fixturing hardships and umpiring decisions, the irony hits harder than a neutron bomb. :-({|=

:lol: I look forward to reading all those excuses next week then.

meltiger

CyberKev said:
Richmond has had a harder draw. Maybe Essendon supporters should get used to be treated like the other Victorian clubs (Except Collingwood) for once in their miserable lives.

CyberKev said:
Maybe they were expecting a repeat of last years rampant pro-Bomber cheating when points were signalled as goals costing Hawthorn the game...

meltiger

camsmith said:
:lol: I look forward to reading all those excuses next week then.

Don't kid yourself mate, Hawthorn have a backline. We don't atm

We're going to have real trouble with Hird.

camsmith

Our backline has been good actually... which suprises me.

I think our midfield will win it for us, if we get it inside the 50 as well as we did last week we should kick a much bigger score and hopefully it'll be more than we let in.

CyberKev

As with most clashes thus far this year, it looms large as a 50/50 prospect, Gents.