Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

AFL winning the PR war

DC_fan

No one where I live likes it. I live in one of the biggest cities in the country.

Do you know everyone where you live? If you do than you know a lot of people considering you live in one of our biggest cities.

Or, is it as I suspect it is, just what your league mates are saying ? Which obviously being league fans I think they would say.

Enjoy your day

DC_fan

I am not a rugby league tragic, I have only been watching it for 15 years but I like it at lot and I want to help save it from the AFL monopoly.

Plus I think we can all just live together anyway.

And I wish people on this site had that attitude.

A believer in liberalism, who believes both sports can live together in cohabitation. I suppose so far both sports have. A realist may say sooner or later, that one of the sports will become the hegemonic sport in the nation, and other other will just have to live with it.

Enjoy your day.

Im not sure that is the case as both have too many bolt on fans. The sport that will fall off is rugby union. AFL and NRL will live forever together.

The AFL is the sport favoured by politicians in all Federal and State governments for kids of Australia to play because it is a game invented in Australia and is thus uniquely Australian.

Like all football codes its roots are firmly in Great Britain and Ireland
afl is a fusion of 19th century Rugby and Gaelic football, pure and simple.
Its Australian in origin as pasta

T.S Quint

I’ve lived in Sydney my whole life, and not once have I ever sat on my roof drinking island coolers.

I don’t even know what a f**king island cooler is!

NRL lost the media war two decades ago. We’ve been wimpering along ever since. Don’t we spend millions every year on a media Dept? They don’t seem to be able to influence much. The reality is the media know they can only go so far negatively against afl without big repercussions, Sydney media know they can stick the boot into nrl as much as they like and our weak leadership won’t do a thing about it other than come up with a hashtag!

If you think all the negative media around nrl doesn’t put people off the game or discourage them from folllowing it you are kidding yourself.

NRL lost the media war two decades ago. We’ve been wimpering along ever since. Don’t we spend millions every year on a media Dept? They don’t seem to be able to influence much. The reality is the media know they can only go so far negatively against afl without big repercussions, Sydney media know they can stick the boot into nrl as much as they like and our weak leadership won’t do a thing about it other than come up with a hashtag!

If you think all the negative media around nrl doesn’t put people off the game or discourage them from folllowing it you are kidding yourself.

taipan

We don't need a negative media, we got PR.
It's go tittle to do with weak leadership, if a major powerful media outlet wants to screw you,they'll do it.Funny when a former News man was the CEO of the NRL and News owned half, the number of negative stories was far fewer than the encyclopaedia rubbish dished out by that outlet today.

Media Depts for codes,don't have newspapers or Tv stations to flood the outlets.They can only do so much to keep their fans informed, with positives in the main.News outlets want scoops, and they are not going to get it from in-house sport media.

AFL spends a fortune on marketing, feel good stories,exaggerated stories and even BS,as GWS bears testimony,And they get a swag of pro rata advertising and good new stories from News Ltd.
And if your code has little surplus to spread the spin,yoiu are behind the 8 ball.AFL has never had their warchest wiped out ,as rugby league has in 1995/6.

Yeah well your mate Smith got News Ltd offside ,which you thought was great.So Rupert throws a dummy spit ,gives AFL a bonus in its TV deal, and promises to promote them in Nth States.Judging by what's going on with News journos in Sydney ,they are doing just that.Obeying his master's voice.
Any negative NRL stories get coverage in the Vic press,positives are rarely acknowledged.

And how many AFL cover ups in Sydney .Franklin incident in the past, was knocked on the head quickly.Wonder why?
Of course negative news puts people off the game.Then why in the hell did Smith get Rupert offside by going rogue?And we now get all the Rothfield,Kent etc garbage regularly.Rupert is a wealthy gimp,who lives on pride.Pride dented he go\es in for the kill.

Off Frilingos and Mike Gibson were alive and working on the D.T. the NRL would get a fair and balanced coverage.You probably have no idea who these quality journos were.

We don't need a negative media, we got PR.
It's go tittle to do with weak leadership, if a major powerful media outlet wants to screw you,they'll do it.Funny when a former News man was the CEO of the NRL and News owned half, the number of negative stories was far fewer than the encyclopaedia rubbish dished out by that outlet today.

Media Depts for codes,don't have newspapers or Tv stations to flood the outlets.They can only do so much to keep their fans informed, with positives in the main.News outlets want scoops, and they are not going to get it from in-house sport media.

AFL spends a fortune on marketing, feel good stories,exaggerated stories and even BS,as GWS bears testimony,And they get a swag of pro rata advertising and good new stories from News Ltd.
And if your code has little surplus to spread the spin,yoiu are behind the 8 ball.AFL has never had their warchest wiped out ,as rugby league has in 1995/6.

Yeah well your mate Smith got News Ltd offside ,which you thought was great.So Rupert throws a dummy spit ,gives AFL a bonus in its TV deal, and promises to promote them in Nth States.Judging by what's going on with News journos in Sydney ,they are doing just that.Obeying his master's voice.
Any negative NRL stories get coverage in the Vic press,positives are rarely acknowledged.

And how many AFL cover ups in Sydney .Franklin incident in the past, was knocked on the head quickly.Wonder why?
Of course negative news puts people off the game.Then why in the hell did Smith get Rupert offside by going rogue?And we now get all the Rothfield,Kent etc garbage regularly.Rupert is a wealthy gimp,who lives on pride.Pride dented he go\es in for the kill.

Off Frilingos and Mike Gibson were alive and working on the D.T. the NRL would get a fair and balanced coverage.You probably have no idea who these quality journos were.

If your club and players could manage not to f**k up so often that would be a lot of the negative media sorted out overnight!

taipan

If your club and players could manage not to f**k up so often that would be a lot of the negative media sorted out overnight!

Perhaps you need to keep up to speed of late,instead of the media hysteria.

BTW I've never argued against the media,getting stuck in, if its a major drama.
The same media that had a picture of Seymour on their front page ,because he'd had a little too much to drink, and blew the whole thing out of proportions.

No, the NRL needs to find out from the AFL,how they're able to sweep so many things under the carpet.Where clubs and players have stuffed up.
One wonders how much more drama there was with the Weagles and all the drug issues.We know it's OK to pay hush money in WA to shush up sexual harassment backed by the code's CEO.

Billythekid

Yet conversely, their constant exaggeration of the popularity and playing numbers has led foxtel to massively overpay for TV rights, and given the very poor return they've reaped in exchange for big money you can bet the farm that next time the rights are up for grabs news corp will remember that.

Y'all said that last time around. I'll believe it when it actually happens.

NRLMad

Just simple things but things that annoy me:
- milk of the AFL
- maccas $5 get a sherrin
- Coles promotes afl

Why doesn’t the nrl do this sort of stuff. It’s product placement. I see heaps of swans hats, do they encourage ppl to wear them?