Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

AGM Synopsis

macavity

Well, the AGM was tonight.

No real suprises I guess.

The only motion of note on notice was to extend the term for directors to 2 years. It was carried 140-something votes to 40-something, in spite of the best efforts of quite a few in the crowd. Bit of a disappointing result given the need to increase, rather than diminish, the accountability of the board.

Michael Hill was granted Life Membership of the club. Certainly warranted as he has given alot to the club. He does come over rather prickly in person though, to say the least. Very Autocratic style of management was evident. In accepting life membership he made a forceful yet eloquent speech about the history of the club, seeking to put the current troubles into perspective. Surely, however, I was not the only one to see his account not neccessarily as reflecting on triumph over adversity, but as also recounting a history of hand-to-mouth breadline existence, something to not exactly be proud of.

When the floor was opened to questions, it was quite obvious that most everyone was hesitant to speak up, probably mainly due to Hill's total inability to answer a question without sneering at the inquisitor. Questions were asked about Gizmondo (not worded well, but had the right basic question) - basically, Hill said he had handed his paper trail over to Hadley. One wonders if Hadley will publish anything of it, or for that matter if they would given anyone else the correspondence. By the sounds of it on that matter there has either been a massive misunderstanding or one side is lying. Who knows.

Questions were also asked about training methods (answer: we are unlucky but on top of it..), player psychology (answer: we have in the past but dont currently employ a sports psychologist as it is at the coaches discretion)

I also asked a question about the loss of 1500 members in one year, to be told that 'we have a natural churn of members, and in any case we dont have the resources to manage membership properly..' reading between the lines this basically indicated that they didn't care about membership numbers. One wonders why this is the case.... seems rather odd, unless ulterior motives are at play.

Basically, Hill dominated the meeting quite conclusively, and did not give straight or deep answers on any issue. Brilliant lawyer no doubt, but must wonder whether he is best suited to a footy club, or a secret society. It is my belief that whilst he (and his lackeys Tyler, McKeown & co.) dominate the board, it will be his own little personality cult and incapable of original thought.

Although the members didn't really achieve anything or even really get any relevant info from the meeting, I personally found it interesting just to get an idea of the workings therein.

Struck me as very much a closed shop - an old boys network where the same old heads say the same old things.

Time for some fresh blood, time for some new ideas, and time for a new direction.

In having said that, one must acknowledge the good intentions of the board members. No one doubts that they are as dedicated as any to our club - hell, they were the only people to have the balls (or is it ego?) to run for the board.

On another note, great to meet someone from the board (seems like a champion bloke too, which is a bonus, now dont get a big head.... ;-) ), hope to meet some more of you soon!

Anyways, please put your thoughts here, and if you have any questions just ask.

macavity

oh, one more thing - I was the youngest person there by a good 12 years (im 24). Next was former players that were there, and then the next youngest people would have been mid-late 40s...

i tell you what, we dont get any more numbers and our membership base is going to be pretty dead soon!!

cram

Hey macavity i didnt catch up with you guys but I was there. I asked the question about the psychological health of the team. I guessed that u may have been from the forum when u asked your question. Hill and co did not answer any questions directly or with any depth. He answered in a very political manner and is obviously the front man for the board it will be interesting to hear how the new chairman speaks.

macavity

should have come to say g'day!

intreresting question - maybe you should volunteer your services?

cram

Well i think its important and in the past so have some of the players and of course Rielly was a big believer in it. If you read his book, which I am sure you have, you will see that he uses alot of quotes and similiar things to motivate. He talks about music being used by the trainers in the room and he was the one who brought the guy from the AIS to the club.

If Hagan doesnt realise that we have some psychological issues to deal with then we are in real trouble. Even when things happen like did with Carmont the other night some psych intervention can be just as good as tackle practice. Confidence is important.

macavity

haven't read Riellys book, anyone has a copy I would love to borrow it (hint hint...)

snapper

Good to see you blokes are actively involved with the inner workings of the club. I thought seriously about becoming a member after some of the comments from many of you on this forum.

Unfortunately I have a real love hate relationship with the club at the moment.

Love the team and always will, but hate the way it is managed and the way us grass roots supporters are treated. If I thought my $30 could make a difference I would join in the bat of an eyelid. But I dont want to be taken advantage of anymore by administrators who constantly cut back services, increase prices and constantly refuse to listen to there biggest assett (us) in making any decisions.

It's funny how the club survived in it's infancy, with basically bums on seats. Henny Penny was our major sponsor(not exactly a global company) yet we managed to move forward until the last couple of years?

macavity

do it mate.

in three years you can vote.

then you can help vote them out if you want.

mat_parsons

Did anyone acctually ask what happened with sponsorship and leagues club and why are they failing to provide financial stability?

axie

Could the reason behind the lack of a sport phycologist is the lack of funds and the board is just hiding behind the coach? The same reason Billy Peden is employed instead of a trained professional?

I am not a Knights supporter, you guys know this well enough, but I will become a member to assist the club in anyway possible. I am, after all, a Novocastrian. Just one with the intelligence to support a *real* club. :D

You graduate this year right Macavity? Are you seriously interested in campaigning for a position on the board, I know you have mentioned it in the past ...

axie

It's funny how the club survived in it's infancy, with basically bums on seats. Henny Penny was our major sponsor(not exactly a global company) yet we managed to move forward until the last couple of years?

The times have changed, in the age of professionalism a club cannot merely survive with the bums on seats mentality, it helps, but it's certainly not enough to keep a club competitive. Secondary sources of income are an absolute must, however without the initial capital to invest with it’s going to be extremely hard for the Knights to dig themselves out of this financial hole. I can only see two long-term options, privatisation (partial or complete) or a partnership with Wests.

cram

I think the message, although it wasnt actually spelt out in black and white, is the club is struggling to find the money it needs to keep up with the "pack" ( a word used by Hill). Whilst Hill was upbeat about the fact that the club would survive I think there was an underlying message that times are changing and that the club is struggling and each year they fall further behind.

The club is in major trouble. Their surivial will depend on massive injections of funds which of course means privitisation partial or otherwise. Hill is now conceding this

http://www.smh.com.au/news/League/H...atising-Knights/2005/04/06/1112489562000.html

On the Wests situation it was mentioned however, it would appear at this stage there is no proposal for them to become a major sponsor.

cram

Another intersting point is that Hill stated that in 1997 the club was crippled. He and another board member where on there way to Sydney to beg for money from the ARL and halfway there the meeting was cancelled and they were told there was no money to be given. They then went on to win the GF which it would appear was the only thing that saved the club.

This has been an ongoing cycle. Money in the community however, is drying up. The competition for dollars is fierce and as Axie says we can no longer survive on good luck rather then good management.

Nuffy

Wests have got the money and the will, they have just spent 14M on club phoenix, for the life of me I can't understand why they wouldn't work with them.

cram

I would think that any move with Wests may see the renaming of the Premier League side something that has happened with other clubs. That may be of interest to Wests.

Nuffy

I don't think it would take anything like that, I think that Wests, would become the Knights and control much of the operations, they make 11M a year in free cash, the Knights wouldn't even be a bump in the road.

macavity

I think the key to getting Wests on board is board seats.

Perhaps we should look at having Wests as our second (or replacement) permanent member.

Alter our constitution to give them the 4 NRL seats or something like that.

Has the new chair been announced yet?

I tell you what, if its Mr Pringle, he better be good... :|

macavity

from the story cram posted -

Hill was re-elected to the board along with Michael Tyler, Allan McKeown and Harragon. Ron Robson was also elected and Peter Corcoran stood but missed out. Mike Nesbitt did not stand for re-election. Tyler was elected chairman and Corcoran deputy chairman, while Hill received life membership of the club at the meeting.

some great reporting there, Corcoran missed out but was elected deputy chair.... :roll:

FYI it was Corcoran that did get elected. Robson missed out by 4 votes.

Look, it was obvious that we are in trouble. When Hill starts hinting at it, you know its past the time changes should have been made....

I think our immediate concern is that this financial issue doesn't affect our retention and recruitment. that is now a MAJOR worry.

I think that you'd have to be mad to go to Newcastle next year, if the club did go bust and you were on a four year contract and you heard about late in the year you'd have to sign for peanuts at another club.

Lets face it what we've got is what we're stuck with and maybe not even Buderus you couldnt blame the bloke if he left.

The club needs to instill some swift measures to secure the club financially otherwise no one but bottom line rejects will be willing to come here.

Lets put it this way would you go to work for a company that was in debt and had no way of pulling itself out of it.

Lot of players would still remember that players from the bears last year never got a lot of their contract money. If the bears do come back in anyway shape or form the players should have to be paid with interest.