Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Amone guilty.

TruSaint

You seem to have forgotten a raft of indiscretions by Carney, Tru.....smashing a car whilst drunk and running away from the scene / cops, setting fire to a fellow nightclub patron, being banned from entering his whole hometown of Goulburn etc etc

I couldn't have forgotten about them, if I didn't know of them.
Does Not change my view that Jnr needs time away from our Club.

Dugan was playing at SOO and Kangaroos level. His indiscretions were nothing compared to hammerhead.

Thanks for your heartfelt reply Silverdale - if I can say that. Appreciate your respect, like me of you and the contributions you make.

Finally something to really look forward to like many of the Tigers fan friends I have.

Most clubs do have their bad years, some longer than others but when you are down, the only way is up as the saying goes.

Cheers and good luck and best wishes for Christmas and the New Year.

I appreciate that and vice versa. I don’t mind the dragons and that’s why I’m interested.

There are some classic things that happen at SGI that could never happen elsewhere!

On my scale of actual interest in clubs as organisations ( not so much knowledge about players), SGI is a lion of the den!

Stuff like Webby tapping Mary in the car park to deliver the bad news.

Who wouldn’t want to have seen that on body cam ? Not to be cruel, but to see how it was done.

Or the moment Albert put his friendship above the club. I would have loved to have listened to his thoughts as he convinced himself it was a good idea.

Piggy staying solid during bbq gate. Big moment for him.

Dufs face when he gets told he has to ring members and apologise.

Matthew Elliot and his management wanker mate being sacked.

Hooks funeral car as he drove off into the night when he was sacked.

I backed JBD and I was pleased to meet him one day. He was very gracious to a complete stranger.

But also, as I’ve said, Ben Hunt at his ruthless best, f**k he’s amazing.

Remember a few years ago he had that running crisis? He just stopped running and things were terrible!

I know everyone wants good footy to take over the club stuff as the main focus. We are the same, but otherwise, it’s a lively club you’ve got!

And if the cows or the storm where struggling, who would really care what was happening at club level. Bore us all to death!

I don’t want to Insult these flaccid new clubs, but they will never reach SGI levels of passion.

I think he should be in prison, but if not, Junior probably needs a break from the game as a whole.

His life in the footy bubble and family influences have not helped him to make the good decisions when he really needed it.

So he has to change the fundamental mindset.

DCE is rich and talented, but he rolls up sleeves and helps build stuff in the third world. He gets a lot from it personally.
It would be great if junior could get some of those values into him.

It doesn’t matter whether we can forgive him or not, he needs to fix himself up.

I'm a firm believer that everyone deserves a second chance especially after you do your punishment, I'm sure that Amone did not get the punishment that was needed.
He is still doing time but in the community. Thinking that it being a first offense and that he was clearly under the influence of the family patriarch, may just have swayed the judge to keep him out of prison. Plus he is a young man with a possible successful pro footy career ahead of him. Yes JD everyone deserves a second chance and Junior Amone has had his.

He’s Ok, very experienced and no doubt ambitious to reclaim his glory.

He’s got to be fit and competitively priced.

He does fit nicely into flannos “fallen idols” scenario.

I’m a “whole of squad” believer. You really need depth these days. He’s good depth.

I was going to do some stats and work out, on the average, how many games a clubs first string side actually gets to run on together.

I’m guessing, but I’d be surprised if it exceeded 4 or 5 games a season.

So the theory is that a stronger whole squad without a mega star ( who could be injured) backed up with fringies is a better risk.

The exception is the extraordinary marquee factory like Panthers but even they pick up the odd stray such as Garner. Vanilla player, reliable, cost effective. Still liked at wt.

How long till the NRL make a call on Amone. No matter if there is an appeal or not, he was found guilty. They will string this along for ages because it is Saints.

I understand that the uncertainty is difficult.

But until the appeal period expires, then they can’t be sure of a legal outcome.

He can still appeal against the finding or the sentence and also, I wouldn’t be too sure that the prosecution aren’t thinking an appeal.

I imagine it would be up to the Director to bust a decision on the “ reasonable prospects test” and maybe a couple of officers in there or barristers assigned to look at that angle. I think they should look at it anyway. They may not appeal, but the conduct was disturbing.

The club has lost a lot of time, money and opportunity over the incident. Maybe write into player contacts on a finding of guilt, they can recompense the club for money thrown away.

I would argue that Amone has some residual general league star power and his loss as an active player harms the game a bit if he can’t play. Not just his crimes, but he was on the up. And also, the club has invested a lot in him and he took up critical squad space as he learned his craft. Sacrifices were made.

And the expectation that next year he was going to improve even further and now that’s…who knows…unlikely.

Also, a new fresh coach, new players, not exactly “rookies again” but opportunity anyway.

So it’s a sentence on SGI. I don’t think it’s targeted, but if it was a player close to retiring or broken down, the stakes might not be as high, the pain not as acute.

He had everything going for him.

Echoes of Latrell and his self harm as a player. He’s proved time and time again, he’s a wad of the highest order.

Watching talent harm themselves unnecessarily, in any sport, it’s a bit annoying

I understand that the uncertainty is difficult.

But until the appeal period expires, then they can’t be sure of a legal outcome.

He can still appeal against the finding or the sentence and also, I wouldn’t be too sure that the prosecution aren’t thinking an appeal.

I imagine it would be up to the Director to bust a decision on the “ reasonable prospects test” and maybe a couple of officers in there or barristers assigned to look at that angle. I think they should look at it anyway. They may not appeal, but the conduct was disturbing.

The club has lost a lot of time, money and opportunity over the incident. Maybe write into player contacts on a finding of guilt, they can recompense the club for money thrown away.

I would argue that Amone has some residual general league star power and his loss as an active player harms the game a bit if he can’t play. Not just his crimes, but he was on the up. And also, the club has invested a lot in him and he took up critical squad space as he learned his craft. Sacrifices were made.

And the expectation that next year he was going to improve even further and now that’s…who knows…unlikely.

Also, a new fresh coach, new players, not exactly “rookies again” but opportunity anyway.

So it’s a sentence on SGI. I don’t think it’s targeted, but if it was a player close to retiring or broken down, the stakes might not be as high, the pain not as acute.

He had everything going for him.

Echoes of Latrell and his self harm as a player. He’s proved time and time again, he’s a wad of the highest order.

Watching talent harm themselves unnecessarily, in any sport, it’s a bit annoying
Great post.

Dragon David

Boy the Poms sure put the kybosh on us snaring Jack Welsby. Flanagan , ' well he is someone we are looking at'. Too bloody slow coach.
St Helens would not have allowed Welsby to break his current deal and as a result of our initial enquiries, that Super League club will be extending him now to ensure he stays there for a long time. It wasn't as if Welsby was even on the market. I think that Flanno is "scouting the world" for some talent and he had his men put some feelers out on Welsby.

I suppose there was no harm in trying and to gauge any interest. Is Flanno trying to get the media to think that we were actually going to go hard for this guy as a diversionary tactic. Why mention anybody at all? We don't usually find out about signings until they are about to be confirmed.

We have now got Welsby's manager to get more pay for the young fellas services at St Helens.

So we wait to see what eventuates with Amone and if there is any appeal by either side of the legal teams. The general feeling with most fans/media is that he will cop a decent suspension and fine from the NRL and possibly a de-registration of his contract so that is why Flanno is searching high and low for a suitable replacement for next year. I have a strong feeling that there is someone but best not to leak anything for fear that things fall through like they have in the past with some players. We need halves and we need AFB as our signing to boost our forwards.

SEAT 1A

So we wait to see what eventuates with Amone and if there is any appeal by either side of the legal teams. The general feeling with most fans/media is that he will cop a decent suspension and fine from the NRL

If he appeals, it's going to take ages and then whatever the NRL dish up and how are you going to play football with the ICO restrictions.

Can't see Amone playing again with the Dragons. I reckon Kyle can get the job done.

Thanks everyone for participating as we wait for the Appeal period to expire.

Anyway, following on from our “True Crime Dragons” interest I was just going back to our SA doctor accused’s.

This Arrest is just amazing:

We’ve all seen arrests and stuff and some are fairly aggressive but this is next level.

I’m not going to belt on about civil liberties ( but anyone can if they’d like to) but wouldn’t it have been easier stick a gun in his back?

“ keep walking to that van you c&$t” something like that.

You can see the guy in high viz, he did a great job slying past behind them, he’s all ready to go if something doesn’t go as planned.

So far as I know, they are extremely confident they have their scumbags.

Even the Steelers ICO team breaking into houses at the same time was exonerated. Maybe they could have met up and stolen and fought each other?

They don’t want to get pinned for a murder, maybe they rang in and said they just breaking in as per usual. The cops can sort them out later of course.

That big obese women, she can barely break into a canter, let alone a run and drags her baby with her. I’m not fat shaming, but she must have got over docs wall by a crane. The cops are in plain clothes, so she could have mistaken them for her associates.

Not too much has been released about how they were detected. Probably cameras, DNA, snitch maybe!

If they have slaughtered old doctor mate if it’s in the cold blood, we must be getting close carrying out the death sentences.

I don’t know if anyone is interested in this side topic but the appeal period and court break will take us well into next year for Junior.

These people are not vanilla parents, it will come out that they are career villains