Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

An Honest assessment of Todd Greenberg

How would you rate Greenbergs'

• Great for the game. A significant step up from his predecessors.

Votes: 5 6.9%
  • Nothing special. Done some things that are great for the game, and others not so good

Votes: 21 29.2%
  • Would have been better off with Dave Smith.

Votes: 34 47.2%
  • GTFO you sook

Votes: 12 16.7%

Lebbo73

Mate cut the bullshit.
That qld bogan was trying to tell me nobody outside of this forum gave a shit.
That’s bullshit
I proved with 4 news links that people are giving a shit.

...you got involved for some reason.
Now your trying to change the angle.
Haha
Ya f**king goose
I read your bullshit articles. What did they prove again besides the fact that journos write anything?

Spot On

If you think something being in the papers automatically makes it a good indicator of public opinion then I think we have to agree to disagree.

Yeah, all the morons raiding the toilet paper across the country must have simply woke up one morning in desperate need of a shit and collectively decided to buy obscene amounts of dunny paper for no reason.

Wake up Timmah!

super_coach

We still judging the ceo by a ring? Lol.

If the commission want to get rid of him they have a ton of material to use on him. The ring and GI are just the tip of the iceberg.

Don’t like him one bit and yes I think he should be replaced, but I think the commission were more than happy to have him for another two years, but the media want him gone and have stirred up a witch-hunt and are starting to sway a few minds....and that itself says something about the commission...imagine letting the DT sway your decision making process

Spot On

V'Landys has worked Greenburger out.

He could not give 2 shits or all the toilet paper in the world about the DT hype.

If the commission want to get rid of him they have a ton of material to use on him. The ring and GI are just the tip of the iceberg.

Don’t like him one bit and yes I think he should be replaced, but I think the commission were more than happy to have him for another two years, but the media want him gone and have stirred up a witch-hunt and are starting to sway a few minds....and that itself says something about the commission...imagine letting the DT sway your decision making process

they don’t need to use anything, his contract is up this year.

Todd Greenberg has been in the role during 3 of the most significant issues that have arisen in the history of the game here.

1 - CTE
2 - media expansion and competition amongst free to air, pay tv, streaming etc
3 - the off-season of 2018/19

All are issues that are/have been significantly crucial to the wellbeing of the sport. And Greenberg has acted on all.

I have not agreed on some of the things he has done but these are relatively trivial compared to those above. Those above if managed badly have the potential to kill the sport we all love here on LU.

Yet when judging his performance many people focus on a bloody ring...

Got to love an anonymous poll!

The Sydney Morning Herald approached 31 of the NRL club chief executives and chairmen to take part in an anonymous poll covering all the big issues in the sport. In the first of a two-part series, 20 of the game's most influential figures answer its burning questions on the eve of the season.

The new ARLC chairman also has a far greater backing from his directors, who until his appointment at the end of last year never wielded such authority over the running of the game.
Now, nothing gets by without their tick of approval.
It's why Greenberg's contract extension, which was meant to be signed off by now, hasn't been rubber stamped.
It's why you can guarantee that when the commission gathers next week, Greenberg's future will be high on the agenda.
"The NRL feels it knows everything," one club powerbroker told the Herald. " They think they are the smart ones. It's clear arrogance."

Whoever leaked the delay in the deal has given the commission reason to reconsider, and now some clubs smell blood in the water and have chosen the eve of the season to strike.

The Herald contacted all 31 club chairmen and chief executives last week, with 20 agreeing to take part in an anonymous poll that applied the spotlight on the game's biggest and most sensitive issues.

None more sensitive than the future leadership of the game, with only half of the club powerbrokers indicating they have faith in the NRL chief executive to continue in the role.

Results of the Herald's 25-question poll - which will be published in a two-part series - will do little to ease tension at head office as the game braces itself to choose sides in a power struggle between Greenberg and V'landys.

The question was put to the club bosses how they rated their faith in Greenberg to continue as NRL CEO. On a scale of one (no faith) to five (complete faith) - the game's heavy hitters voted.

Those who didn't know how they felt, 28 per cent of them to be exact, voted three.

"I'm not either way," one club boss said. "If you're going to get rid of him, by all means get rid of him, but you need to make sure you find a better bloke to do the job. And right now, from what I'm hearing I don't know if there is one."

That man won't be V'landys. People close to the Racing NSW chief executive have told this column he has no intention of becoming the NRL chief executive or executive chairman - although some are struggling to believe that.

A total of 22 per cent of the CEOs and chairmen polled admitted they had lost faith in Greenberg to continue at the helm of the NRL.

That leaves Greenberg with a 50 per cent approval rate.

The question was also asked about V'landys and how clubs rated his first five months in the chair. One, being poor. Five, being excellent.

There was not a single vote below three. While Greenberg only received one vote of five, 57 per cent of respondents gave V'landys a perfect score.

Elsewhere in the poll, 80 per cent of club figures said the ARLC and NRL executive did not do enough to support clubs while 75 per cent agreed the NRL should continue pursuing funding for Sydney suburban grounds.

It's why V'landys has gone against the NRL's original plan to turn its back on suburban grounds to lobby government for more money.

Club CEOs and chairs were also asked what they believed was the biggest issue facing the game. The future broadcast deal, 40 per cent responded. It's why V'landys spent a week in America with NRL chief commercial officer Andrew Abdo, who the chairman has a very high opinion of, meeting with the world's biggest streaming services at the end of last month.

https://www.smh.com.au/sport/nrl-cl...f-greenberg-poll-reveals-20200307-p547vu.html

Exsilium

"If you're going to get rid of him, by all means get rid of him, but you need to make sure you find a better bloke to do the job. And right now, from what I'm hearing I don't know if there is one."

This is the problem. The 'old boys club' must be running out of candidates.

International searches haven't yielded much but we really need to move past the idea that we need a leader from within the game.

Dave Smith had his flaws, he was never going to win over the die hard fans but his best attribute was that he didn't adhere to the status quo.

Ultimately, whoever sits in the seat, will be cannibalised by the media, the fans and the club heads but I'm certain I wont miss Todd Greenberg.