Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Ando set to re-sign

shintaro

the paper said anderson will be on 400k a season
also mentions matua being in hospital on sunday but should be right for this weekend.

Trust me .......It's 600K. & not a yen less.

A few people on here are upset with Anderson leaving but when the club tried to get rid of Hannay & Seymour before their contract was up & they had to find a new gig themselves.................Hmmm.

Funny how the club is being all high & mighty about it all when it suits, & every club is the same.
Good luck to him I hope he does well & makes plenty.

Thats great coin good luck to him.

Filiga or one of the young ones better step up now, that is for sure. I'm not convinced about weirdo being in the centres. or maitua. I'd prefer the Cove in there.

PJ

A few people on here are upset with Anderson leaving but when the club tried to get rid of Hannay & Seymour before their contract was up & they had to find a new gig themselves.................Hmmm.

Agree completely, contracts go both ways. I said at the time that they were being treated shabbily by the club, but weren't they paid their contracts? THe club did meet its contractual obligations didn't they?

Lets say it was the other way around and the club decided that they didn't want Fraser anymore (without the Jap rugby stuff), they would still have to pay him out wouldn't they? So in this case what do they get in return except wasted money and other resources over the off season and a hole in their roster.

shintaro

Agree completely, contracts go both ways. I said at the time that they were being treated shabbily by the club, but weren't they paid their contracts? THe club did meet its contractual obligations didn't they?

Lets say it was the other way around and the club decided that they didn't want Fraser anymore (without the Jap rugby stuff), they would still have to pay him out wouldn't they? So in this case what do they get in return except wasted money and other resources over the off season and a hole in their roster.
I agree with your points . As for Hannay & Seymour, they would have still received their sign on but no match or incentive payments if their contract was structured that way, which I know Seymour's was. Don't know about Hannay's. Not to mention the mental stress it would have been causing.
The players certainly earn their money & not just by playing footy.

Omnishark2

Much as I love Reecey's work, he is a stopgap centre at best.
We need a centre with pace/step/evasive skills.
Mitch Brown would be a much better bet.

PJ

Was a stop gap centre at best. I won't be surprised if his lateral movement has worsened after the injury meaning he would be worse than he was in the centres.

Agree on Brown but he didn't come back well from injury last year.

There is 2 issues here, so we dont want to get them mixed.

1. Fraser to Japan RU, i think it was unlucky that it was Fraser, Japan RU had been tempting Benji Marshall, but they got Fraser instead, he will not be the only one to go, and in the case of the Sonny Bill situation, players will go even if clubs say no, contract or no contract nothing can be really done, we just need to hope that no more of our players go, i think broncos would be sitting very uneasy with Hunt, as he could jump.

2. On Fraser issue re the centres, i dont think we are as bad off as it looks, Pom is there, they are trialling Brown in centre as well, even through Matthew Wright is 17, he trained with NRL squad in summer, so he is highly thought of already, Simmons has a lot of knockers, but he could be invaluable as a back up centre this year.

sharks8601

Anyone saying no to Crocker is dead set kidding themselves. As for a centre. I know brown has baulked up... he runs hard, has pace. Think he was training there for a bit i say give him a crack at it

The Dodger

Trust me .......It's 600K. & not a yen less.

Funny how the club is being all high & mighty about it all when it suits, & every club is the same.
Good luck to him I hope he does well & makes plenty.

i thought hannay and seymour were punted to club footy because of their atitudes?

not sure about seymour, but that was certainly the case for hannay.

spider

it doesn't make it right spider. this is the breaking of a contract not just a job swap.
yes - i understand that point, but the club agreed so he hasn't legally broken his contractual obligation as he has been released from fulfilling it

Eion said:
If we had any balls we should have held firm, let him piss off al la sbw then sued for breach of contract.
double edged sword really

would i still give 100% to my current employer if i was being held at 25% of what i could earn in a short career???

On the flip side Spider since he has been taking money from the Sharks since last October to prepare for this season shouldn't he now repay that money as the Sharks are receiving no benefit for the monies paid as per the contract i.e. the football year ends contract wise around October doesn't it? And as per the last year of his contract Cronulla have been paying him to play in 09, he is now not doing this so whereas the Sharks have held up their part of the contract he has reneged.
it seems the club were happy to let him go and there has been no mention of fraser throwing a tanty

so one could assume it was an amicable decision on behalf of the club

club has some free cash and fraser earns a sh*t load of cash

Don't take out the hyphen yet....

The Sharks have jumped the gun as no release from the Sharks will be effective unless and until Fraser signs official contracts with the Japanese company concerned.At the moment he is still contracted to the Sharks and the Sharks are aware of this case.

Foxsports news. (E-mail from Thommo)

Anyone saying no to Crocker is dead set kidding themselves.

Easy to say when you don't know all the facts. Sure Crocker is a great player & is one of the best shooters of recent times. His shooting ability has swung numerous games in his teams direction at critical stages. Too many to remember.
However, there is a reason he is not at the Titans, who are hunting for that exact style of player (Myles, Crocker, Carroll et al) & that is because Crocker is crocked. His knee cannot sustain NRL level training & is chronic. His superleague contract is over 300k per year. so he is looking at getting near a million bux for his last 3 years out of footy. Even if he sits this year out, his knee will be rested & will still get 2 years in the uk at least.

I would love to have a fit crocker at the club & if the sharks trainers can pull off the miracle cure then lets get him. But lets hope they rigorously test that knee prior.

ps If we do get him, I would say that this year is a no holds barred tilt at the big one.

Not with the backline we have this year.

Manly,Brisbane and the Warriors will cut us up like a knife through butter out wide this year.

If Ricky can't see that then it just exposes him as being even more incompetant as a Coach these days.

Ausguy

RS is not an incompetant coach, if you cant see the difference he has made in 2 years then there is no pleasing you.

He was certainly tactically out manouvered in the World Cup Final.

His non selection of more props on the bench also proved to be a blunder..........

The lack of recruitment in outside backs since Ricky Stuart has come to the Club has been a very strange policy.

But yes he has been great for the Club but this year will certainly be the acid test for him.

I reckon the Aussies got ripped off in the WC final.
..and personally I don't really give a toss about rep footy games .

Apparently you are now allowed to roll the ball forward along the ground for a team mate to pick it up and score...if you are a kiwi that is.

Some woeful refereeing that some would suggest stinks of a setup.

gunnamatta bay

Has Coopers depatrue been mentioned before?

http://stgeorge.yourguide.com.au/ne...ue/anderson-cooper-turn-japanese/1444105.aspx

Anderson, Cooper turn Japanese

BY BRAD FORREST
26/02/2009 4:00:00 AM
CRONULLA Sharks' rising Kiwi star Fraser Anderson's move to rugby follows the decision by his Sharks team-mate Dustin Cooper to also take up a Japanese rugby contract.
The Sharks yesterday denied any moves had been made, but they are likely to begin negotiations with off contract Melbourne player Michael Crocker, who has played under coach Ricky Stuart for Australia and at the Roosters.
Sharks new signing Reni Matuia, Mitch Brown and David Simmons, who has been trialling as winger, are the likely replacements for Anderson in the immediate future, while the club holds out hope for big Blake Ferguson and boom teenager Karlos Filiga, now returning from injury along with Reece Williams.
Anderson confirmed to the Leader yesterday that Cooper had signed with the same Japanese club, Kobe, and after travelling to Japan last week, was moving there in April.
While Anderson was one of the first players chosen by Stuart last season, mainly filling a hole in the backrow, the injury-plagued Cooper hardly played a game, despite being in the club's top squad.
Anderson, offered a two-year contract worth about $900,000, confirmed Cooper had signed ``a good deal''. However he would not speculate on his own future in Japan.
``I have to wait until this has been sorted out,'' Anderson said. Yesterday Anderson's manager Lance Thompson, the player agent and former Sharks and Dragons forward, seemed to be disputing terms of Anderson's release, having stated the Sharks
had ``jumped the gun'' because Anderson had not actually signed a Japanese deal.
However, Sharks coach Ricky Stuart, after discussions with chief executive Tony Zappia, told Thompson early Tuesday afternoon that Anderson could go immediately.
Brother of former Warriors players Louis and Vinnie, Anderson was to be offered a two-year extension of his contract. Zappia said the club only briefly considered enforcing Anderson's contract and his remaining year with the Sharks.
``We couldn't match the money being offered to Fraser, who made it clear he wants to qualify for Japan's World Cup rugby team, and it was not in the team's interest to have him playing part of the NRL season and then losing him to Japanese rugby,''
he said.
``It would have been a major disruption to our fans and the playing group.
``We are also supporting the NRL in regards to their stance against players agreeing to contracts with rival codes yet attempting to remain in the NRL.'' The Sharks and Knights will play under 20s and NSW Cup trials Saturday afternoon, before the main 7.30pm NRL trial at Cessnock.

Fraser Anderson: Cut from the Sharks over a reported $900,000 offer to join rugby union.