Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Anthony Choc Watmough

Kornstar

Maybe he is in shock by seeing how f**king heartless his team mates around him are? He would have always heard the rumours and seen the results but I bet he didn't believe it till he has seen it with his own eyes!

In the end if you can't beat them you may as well join them!

Kornstar

Come to Parramatta!!! Guaranteed to kill your career.

It would be interesting to hear from the likes of Dykes what they think it is. What differently do we do to make us so poor and other clubs successful, or at the very least not suck so badly so consistently.

Obscene Assassin

For the past 10 yrs, he has average a lot more mins, more hit ups and more tackles.

Of course he's going to average less hit-ups and less tackles if he plays less minutes, do you expect a player to make the same amount of hit-ups and tackles when playing less minutes. I reckon his average per minute would be around the same.

He is not a middle player, he is a left edge forward who creates opportunities for our outside backs like he did at manly and plays 80 mins.

He was a middle player at Manly for a few years too. Had to laugh at Mark Riddell when he pulled out that line too after we beat the Panthers. Just goes to show that you don't watch games, rather just read the number on a player's back and must think they play there.

Obscene Assassin

Thiaday got dropped by Bennett, now playing Origin

Thaiday was playing Origin last year too, he would have been picked if he were starting or on the bench. Bennett benching him would have had absolutely no impact on whether he was going to be picked for QLD.

It would be interesting to hear from the likes of Dykes what they think it is. What differently do we do to make us so poor and other clubs successful, or at the very least not suck so badly so consistently.

Mate I don't know. I really don't, but there is a culture here that I don't think other clubs have.
The board shenanigans certainly don't help, and maybe that filters through. I just don't know.
There haven't been many players in the past 10-15 years who's career has blossomed after coming to the Eels though. Glenn Morrison is one I can think of.

So you merkins don't think we have the makings of a good side ? Throw Scott, Foran & a decent fullback in the mix ? No upside ?

Obscene Assassin

So you merkins don't think we have the makings of a good side ? Throw Scott, Foran & a decent fullback in the mix ? No upside ?

I reckon we've got an average side this year with a damn good game plan. The problem is that some players can't stick to what works.

Kornstar

Mate I don't know. I really don't, but there is a culture here that I don't think other clubs have.
The board shenanigans certainly don't help, and maybe that filters through. I just don't know.
There haven't been many players in the past 10-15 years who's career has blossomed after coming to the Eels though. Glenn Morrison is one I can think of.

I have long believed that there are too many wannabes in our club. People who just want to be involved in footy cause it's cool not because they actually care. They are passionate about being popular and one of the boys rather than adding actual value.

Our club also accepts these people because who doesn't like people kissing their asses all the time (well I don't but these f**kwits in power seem to) telling them how great they are.

We accept mediocrity, real clubs don't tolerate the failure we have had. Real clubs aren't run by popularity contests. Real clubs are run to win and bring in the best to win. We bring in shit because they are mates or ass kissers.

Bellamy, Hasler, Bennett would have us with a premiership in 2 or 3 years I think. McGuire was the one we should have thrown the leagues club at.......who did we recruit instead?

Morro was always good ... he just didn't let this place drag him down

I have long believed that there are too many wannabes in our club. People who just want to be involved in footy cause it's cool not because they actually care. They are passionate about being popular and one of the boys rather than adding actual value.

Our club also accepts these people because who doesn't like people kissing their asses all the time (well I don't but these f**kwits in power seem to) telling them how great they are.

We accept mediocrity, real clubs don't tolerate the failure we have had. Real clubs aren't run by popularity contests. Real clubs are run to win and bring in the best to win. We bring in shit because they are mates or ass kissers.

Bellamy, Hasler, Bennett would have us with a premiership in 2 or 3 years I think. McGuire was the one we should have thrown the leagues club at.......who did we recruit instead?

Completely agree.

Which merkin said that? Besides that sparky bloke that walked out today.

Must have been the merkin who said that playing for us was a career killer and the other merkin who said we were a rabble and the other merkin who said we were a mess and the other merkin who said we were heartless and will came last next year as well.

Incorrect

There's no doubt that we have the "makings" of a good side... even if you don't add Foran and Scott to what we have already. In 50 minutes last night, we were able to make the Cowboys who were on a streak of 9 in a row look pedestrian. If you didn't know better you would have thought they were in 15th spot and we were 2nd or whatever. We were slick with our backline movement, our defence was aiming up, Mannah and Paulo in particular were strong in the middle and our last tackle options were deliberate and effective, kicking for the corners...

And then it all just imploded...

We've bought plenty of guys in the past who came with great reputations and ended up being completely impotent in every aspect. Dykes was a perfect case in point. Justin Poore another - came over as an Origin rep and pretty much saw his career go down the toilet. Sandow was the subject of a biddingw ar which we won and he's been a disappointment (albeit in a different way, his probs are both on and off the field).... Watmough has been another awful buy so far. Maybe he needs surgery or whatever to get him in better physical condition, I dunno...

I, like some others around here, have the nagging feeling that Foran and Scott could just as easily turn up here in 2016 and perform well below the standard we have seen them in the past and we'll all be here next year in the same boat... It's completely irrational in some respects to think that Foran and Scott will turn in to bums overnight, but there can be no denying it has happened with others and way too often at our club to be just bad luck or coincidence....

Well said Korny.