Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Anthony Choc Watmough

A clubs marquee signing should probably be close to awesome. Not just a solid first grader

There's a big difference between a marquee on $500k and a marquee on $1M.

And while I don't think he's worth what we're paying him as a player (Foran probably isn't either), the benefit he brings for experience, leadership and influence on other signings is worth the tax.

I'll bite.

For a marquee signing:

- He played only 70% of games this season with a win percentage of 41%
- He was a marquee signing at around half a million dollars and did not deliver one man of the match performance
- He openly admitted to not embracing his year at Parramatta and rushing to and from training as soon as possible. I imagine not many 'extras' were done. Not a great example for the young forwards he was meant to be mentoring
- He had family issues so one could assume his mind wasn't 100% on footy (understandable and no fault of his, just unfortunate)
- For a part of the season he decided to be a ball player and for a guy that can't pass that does not end well
- And finally we signed an ageing, wrecked player for 4 years.

Now you go and tell me how he was a good signing

I never claimed he was a good signing, I just don't think he's been a bad one. So the burden of proof isn't on me.

And our win percentage without him was 29%

I never claimed he was a good signing, I just don't think he's been a bad one. So the burden of proof isn't on me.

And our win percentage without him was 29%

But did you factor Sandow was not there or Danny wicks or taka by the time watmough was injured? That would of bought the win % down a little

Sandow not being there was a plus mate ... we need to be factoring sandow being there in the early stages dragging watmoughs % down

I do not think he was playing as bad as people made out.But he was still a terrible signing.The fact he is talking retirement after only 16 games into a 4 yrs contract is proof enough. Call it a get out of Jail card. But how nice would it be for this year to have a $600k forward in his place (if he was to retire) like say a josh jackson or boyd cordner or trent merrin. We would be genuine top 4 .
So now people are calling it a win/win if he retires and a get out of jail. But it still means we play 2016 down a potential 600k forward that would be the star of our pack. The fact no one on here cares if he retires is proof enough they do not rate him that highly!

Another poor article, the quality of journalism involved with the game of RL is just laughable.

84 Baby

"Experience is something you can't buy" except we bought Watmough?

And they appear to have written off Paulo either that or have Mannah, Wicks, Penis, Alvaro, Tepai, Scott & Mau all getting starts in front of him

Obscene Assassin

If we have that much money, some of it will go into re-signing Norman I reckon. We probably won't be able to go to market with it until next season. If the great one doesn't return then we could be looking at Liam Knight if we don't believe Alex Twal is quite ready. Some of it will probably also go to re-signing Fuimaono. Then there's also our dummy half situation where we only have 1 player signed up who can play that position from next season onwards so we've also got to look into that.

Joshuatheeel

If we have that much money, some of it will go into re-signing Norman I reckon. We probably won't be able to go to market with it until next season. If the great one doesn't return then we could be looking at Liam Knight if we don't believe Alex Twal is quite ready. Some of it will probably also go to re-signing Fuimaono. Then there's also our dummy half situation where we only have 1 player signed up who can play that position from next season onwards so we've also got to look into that.

Yeah a lot depends on what Paulo does, if he does leave we may go looking for an experienced prop.

If we have 600K spare this year thou? What happens does it just dissapear or can we re-sign norman and front load some into this year?

^b0ss^

Surely we would lock in Jrn,not even a mention that his is playing .lol. He said the starting props are tim and wicks which may be the case but not to mention some of the money could go towards locking in jrn is a little weird unless he is already set to go to canberra.

I hope you're right mate. We need money for the return of the King.

Been a little while still isn't named and I'll tell you this, if he does make the run on side I'd be concerned about depth in your forwards because I know he's busted and well beyond his best, and that comes from the top (BA). Perhaps it's stubbornness on his behalf or maybe he's (his management) working on a get out clause. That I don't know.

yy_cheng

Been a little while still isn't named and I'll tell you this, if he does make the run on side I'd be concerned about depth in your forwards because I know he's busted and well beyond his best, and that comes from the top (BA). Perhaps it's stubbornness on his behalf or maybe he's (his management) working on a get out clause. That I don't know.

Is there a deadline when we can use his money this year?

e.g. upgrade some players?

Unless there is someone outside of Parra that we want to sign or we need to upgrade some players before a deadline, there's no point him retiring yet. Might as well stay in the team and use the medical insurance to recover.

THe only thing I can think of is he is using a top 17 spot.