Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Anthony Griffin Disappreciation Society

betcats

The trouble is I dont think Gould is much of a teacher. His teaching seems to be by doing. Just pushing Hook aside.

We might not be able to get a decent coach while Gus is here

If we had a decent coach I think Gus would take a back seat. I doubt he was doing all of Ivans coaching. If Gus has stepped in to the extent you have described it can only mean Hook is on borrowed time, I'd say the player rift rumours are true and they just don't like Hook, if Gus and Ciraldo are doing most of the coaching that is.

It would look really, really bad to fire a coach in the offseason after extending him otherwise I get the feeling he would be gone already.

mxlegend99

If we had a decent coach I think Gus would take a back seat. I doubt he was doing all of Ivans coaching. If Gus has stepped in to the extent you have described it can only mean Hook is on borrowed time, I'd say the player rift rumours are true and they just don't like Hook, if Gus and Ciraldo are doing most of the coaching that is.
How much he does is hard to say. But Mez and RCG made it sound like he was very heavily involved. At training everyday. Didnt correct Kenty when he said Hook stood on the sidrline while Gus coached etc.

Aliceinwonderland

Whatever gets us the title really

I watched last nights interview. Kent went as hard as he does with anyone (can't stand the bloke smarmey, greasey bloke, yuk). Of the used car salesman's type.

All we can do is take their word for it regarding player unrest. One or two points I found interesting, Hook is an 'old school coach' therefore he is tough on his players. That's something I like. Just because someone doesn't interview well (Hook) Matty Elliott anyone. Doesn't mean he's a totally useless coach (as I've said countless times before, he's very average.)

Wal is the same, he doesn't interview well generally Tough as nuts, but too many ahs and ums for a good interview. He gives the best interviews straight after a game when he's still unguarded.

Me I don't care who does the coaching as long as we win. It could be the doorman from the club for all I care. Hook and his staffs have got the boys looking lean (which I always think is a good thing.)

Players that have been moved on. Increasingly League is a business (sadly) and this will happen. Lewis and Graham perhaps the only 2 real standouts at other clubs. Coote continues to have injury issues. Lewis i know gave Cleary heaps and was a disruptive infulence. Apparently he was very fond of ME and let the new coaching staffs know it. Graham was a bad miss and honestly wish he was still at the club. Jennings and Pritchard both moved on for similar issues (work ethic)

The first 10 weeks of footy will show what Hook is made of (coach wise too).

franklin2323

I watched last nights interview. Kent went as hard as he does with anyone (can't stand the bloke smarmey, greasey bloke, yuk). Of the used car salesman's type.

All we can do is take their word for it regarding player unrest. One or two points I found interesting, Hook is an 'old school coach' therefore he is tough on his players. That's something I like. Just because someone doesn't interview well (Hook) Matty Elliott anyone. Doesn't mean he's a totally useless coach (as I've said countless times before, he's very average.)

Wal is the same, he doesn't interview well generally Tough as nuts, but too many ahs and ums for a good interview. He gives the best interviews straight after a game when he's still unguarded.

Me I don't care who does the coaching as long as we win. It could be the doorman from the club for all I care. Hook and his staffs have got the boys looking lean (which I always think is a good thing.)

Players that have been moved on. Increasingly League is a business (sadly) and this will happen. Lewis and Graham perhaps the only 2 real standouts at other clubs. Coote continues to have injury issues. Lewis i know gave Cleary heaps and was a disruptive infulence. Apparently he was very fond of ME and let the new coaching staffs know it. Graham was a bad miss and honestly wish he was still at the club. Jennings and Pritchard both moved on for similar issues (work ethic)

The first 10 weeks of footy will show what Hook is made of (coach wise too).

Austin is another big miss we had. All you can do is believe the players it is the same story no matter who they ask

betcats

Or you can not believe them. If Gould is doing so much of the coaching there is an issue 100 percent. Either he has little faith in Griffin(strange considering he just re-signed him) or there is an issue with the playing group.

franklin2323

Or you can not believe them. If Gould is doing so much of the coaching there is an issue 100 percent. Either he has little faith in Griffin(strange considering he just re-signed him) or there is an issue with the playing group.

See but Gus was doing the coaching in 2016

franklin2323

This is why I think the extension was automatic and now they don't want to pay out the contract and pay for another coach as well.

Moylan and TMM certainly won't comeback. Why have they not said anything? They have no reason to keep things like this a secret

OldPanther

Moylan and TMM certainly won't comeback. Why have they not said anything? They have no reason to keep things like this a secret

No club would trust them. They'll want contracts in the future and clubs will look down on them coming out with private club business as would other players.

mxlegend99

For 10 weeks or do of 2016 we looked like a genuinely good team building toward something. That just happens to be after Gus stepped in and was helping.

In 2017 we never once looked like we had kicked on from that. Closest was probably when we beat the Raiders in that come from behind victory.

Did Gus stop helping? Or help less? It could explain the huge shift in style. Our finals match against the Bulldogs in 2016 is the best 80 minutes we have played in years. That's what would have taken us to the top 4 in 2017. Thats what could make us a premiership threat. Thats what teams would be scared to face.

martielang

I'm struggling to see how it's a negative thing if he wants to get Gus involved or Ciraldo etc. etc. Surely that's a good attribute to have if you're happy to get assistance & bring other ideas into the fold? Show's he's willing to put his ego aside for the good of the club.

OldPanther

I'm struggling to see how it's a negative thing if he wants to get Gus involved or Ciraldo etc. etc. Surely that's a good attribute to have if you're happy to get assistance & bring other ideas into the fold? Show's he's willing to put his ego aside for the good of the club.

No one is saying it's a negative in that sense. They're saying it shows Griffin isn't good enough to be a top line coach in the NRL.

betcats

You are assuming he has a choice in the matter. Given his career options would be coaching park footy if Penrith doesn't work out I'd say he doesn't any choice at all. And accepting ideas from other people is one thing but if Gus and Ciraldo are doing as much as what has been said in this thread then that is a lot more than just accepting input from others, they are doing his job which is not a good thing, for one we are wasting money paying him and two he keeps clashing with players.

betcats

But you're assuming he had no choice, we're both in the exact same boat.

Yeah but my assumption adds up a lot better than yours. Its been reported the coach has been given 10 weeks, its been reported and rumoured he has had issues with numerous players. Its been reported he shares a manager with Gus and that we didn't consider any other candidate for the job. We may have made the 8 last season but the football we played was pretty dreadful, I just see it as far more likely in this situation that Gus stepped up his and Ciraldo's involvement and responsibilities rather than a head NRL coach approaching his boss and saying "hey Gus im struggling can you please take over the video and training sessions while I sit up the back and do f**k all" He'd be telling Gus that he has no idea. There is a big difference between accepting ideas and help from someone and asking them to effectively do your job for you.

Either way IF Gus is running training sessions while hook stands on the side and Gus is running video sessions while hook sits at the back and doesn't say much than its not a good thing, not at all. It just means he cant do his job why are paying him to coach if Gus and Ciraldo are doing it? Why not bring in a coach who can actually coach without having his hand held??

PANTHERMIKE

I could care less if Gus is coaching the team. Actually, i would love it if he was doing it all day every day.. Every team has assistant coaches, but there is no better assistant coach than Gus...

I would love it more if he just came out and said Griffin wasn't copping and we have let him go, given the season has kicked off, ill be taking the reins until i find a suitable replacement - which hopefully is at the end of the season..

Fangs

If what is being said about Gus is true...then will we see a return of the offload? Surely he can see we are rooted without it.

Struggling to find stats because NRL.com has gone to the shithouse. But this will give us some perspective.

2017 Most Offloads:

upload_2018-2-28_9-32-12.png

2016 Most Offloads:

upload_2018-2-28_9-32-29.png

Change of game plan last year and it didn't work. We looked far more dangerous when we kept the ball alive.

If what is being said about Gus is true...then will we see a return of the offload? Surely he can see we are rooted without it.

Struggling to find stats because NRL.com has gone to the shithouse. But this will give us some perspective.

2017 Most Offloads:

View attachment 17875

2016 Most Offloads:

View attachment 17876

Change of game plan last year and it didn't work. We looked far more dangerous when we kept the ball alive.

Need to find the balance between the offload & set plays.

But if we can’t do set plays then lots of offloading is the next best thing. At the moment we have neither.

I could care less if Gus is coaching the team. Actually, i would love it if he was doing it all day every day.. Every team has assistant coaches, but there is no better assistant coach than Gus...

I would love it more if he just came out and said Griffin wasn't copping and we have let him go, given the season has kicked off, ill be taking the reins until i find a suitable replacement - which hopefully is at the end of the season..

I think the problem is the one foot in, one foot out stuff.

To me that confuses the hell out of the players.

But if Gould sacks Griffin it makes a lot of sense for him to take over for the rest of the season.