Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Anthony Griffin

BxTom

Griffins discipline approach is definitely better than Cleary’s pre season approach.

But you can’t launch to the next level if you can’t compete against the top teams, and we never did with Griffin.

The mistake was giving Griffin an extension, the next mistake was appointing Cleary as coach instead of someone better credentialed.
And you can't launch to the next level when your in reverse.

Panfa

Lets hope barrett has some connections with a few manly players maybe aydin fonua blake we could use a decent front rower.

Pantherjim.

Makes me wonder why clubs like ours, Newcastle, Gold Coast etc, have to put up with this ridiculous hiring and firing of coaches merry-go-round while clubs like the Storm continuously manage to contract the services of coaches like Craig Bellamy.

Shouldn’t there be a coaching staff salary cap or at least a coaching staff draft?

OldPanther

Makes me wonder why clubs like ours, Newcastle, Gold Coast etc, have to put up with this ridiculous hiring and firing of coaches merry-go-round while clubs like the Storm continuously manage to contract the services of coaches like Craig Bellamy.

Shouldn’t there be a coaching staff salary cap or at least a coaching staff draft?

As far as I know there is an off field salary cap to do with staff.

Abacus

You're comparing teams that have not had regular success against a team that is the benchmark for consistent, high performance.

Generally, once a club and coach find sustained success together, why change things? The Storm would need to find a coach as good as Bellamy and Bellamy would need to start from scratch at any new club. It's in neither party's interests to look for alternatives.

Clubs that struggle tend to get impatient and so look for a new coach to deliver short term results. Invariably the people appointing the coach are unqualified to do so and generally hire the best salesman (or thier mate) rather than the best coach.

Pantherjim.

Generally, once a club and coach find sustained success together, why change things? The Storm would need to find a coach as good as Bellamy and Bellamy would need to start from scratch at any new club. It's in neither party's interests to look for alternatives.

Hence my point about the salary cap.

The salary cap is supposedly in place to spread player talent across all clubs in the League, otherwise you’d have wealthier clubs continuously signing star players at the expense of financially weaker clubs

The reason why the Storm are so strong season after season is because of Craig Bellamy and the coaching staff there. Why shouldn’t other clubs similarly benefit from his obvious expertise?

Crashtest

Clubs that struggle tend to get impatient and so look for a new coach to deliver short term results. Invariably the people appointing the coach are unqualified to do so and generally hire the best salesman (or thier mate) rather than the best coach.

This is why I'm glad the club didn't hire a well past it Bennett for 2 seasons. He wouldn't of cared about trying to fix the long term roster, he would of just tried to get as many wins while he was here to improve his own for and against record, and then leave us with a mess like he did with Newcastle and St George.

Gould obviously thought we had a roster capable of winning a premiership and would of gambled on Bennett being able to achieve it before Gould finished up at the club. But I don't know how he thought our roster was capable of beating the top teams. Griffin's record against top 4 teams over the last couple of seasons should of given him the reality of it, but he blamed Griffin's coaching and not his own roster management.

Crashtest

The reason why the Storm are so strong season after season is because of Craig Bellamy and the coaching staff there. Why shouldn’t other clubs similarly benefit from his obvious expertise?

I guess other clubs are trying to still benefit from Bellamy's expertise without needing to sign him, by hiring his assistant coaches as head coaches instead and hoping they have learnt the Bellamy formula for coaching success.

Madge aside, this hasn't really worked for the likes of Kearney, Arthur, Brown. Jury still out on Seibold and O'Brien.

OldPanther

This is why I'm glad the club didn't hire a well past it Bennett for 2 seasons. He wouldn't of cared about trying to fix the long term roster, he would of just tried to get as many wins while he was here to improve his own for and against record, and then leave us with a mess like he did with Newcastle and St George.

Gould obviously thought we had a roster capable of winning a premiership and would of gambled on Bennett being able to achieve it before Gould finished up at the club. But I don't know how he thought our roster was capable of beating the top teams. Griffin's record against top 4 teams over the last couple of seasons should of given him the reality of it, but he blamed Griffin's coaching and not his own roster management.

Problem is we are always building to be better in future. Never good enough now.

Kilkenny

Problem is we are always building to be better in future. Never good enough now.
Given what we are seeing at present 2020 will be a ‘gap’ year. Maybe 2021 as well.

My suggestion would be if any fans are planning a nice long overseas holiday you may as well take it during the season because you probably won’t be missing much.

Panther_Daz

My suggestion would be if any fans are planning a nice long overseas holiday you may as well take it during the season because you probably won’t be missing much.

I took one this year.

I agree though, any premiership window that was open has now been slammed shut for at least a couple of years.

OldPanther

Given what we are seeing at present 2020 will be a ‘gap’ year. Maybe 2021 as well.

I took one this year.

I agree though, any premiership window that was open has now been slammed shut for at least a couple of years.

Yep. Even if the new guys do turn out to be the best ever it'll be a few years before anything will happen

Kilkenny

I took one this year.

And from a few of your Twitter posts had a great time.

My wife and I aside from one big Europe trip generally plan our OS holidays around the footy season.

Not any more, we will keep our season tickets (half way line Western Stand) but will take a holiday next year when the weather is best in Northern Hemisphere right bang in the middle of footy season.

We could have been in New York right now which we love but put it off thinking this could be our year. Kicking ourselves now as this years trip is a month travelling Victoria and Tassie in November. Decision made all around our footy team. Brain dead.

Panther_Daz

Yep. Even if the new guys do turn out to be the best ever it'll be a few years before anything will happen

You can't win a comp with a young team let alone a young spine.

2015 - Coote, Morgan, Thurston, Granville
2016 - Barba, Maloney, Townsend, Ennis
2017 - Slater, Munster, Cronk, Smith
2018 - Tedesco, Keary, Cronk, Friend

I am sorry but Edwards, Luai, Cleary, Kenny doesn't stack up.

Panther_Daz

And from a few of your Twitter posts had a great time.

My wife and I aside from one big Europe trip generally plan our OS holidays around the footy season.

Not any more, we will keep our season tickets (half way line Western Stand) but will take a holiday next year when the weather is best in Northern Hemisphere right bang in the middle of footy season.

We could have been in New York right now which we love but put it off thinking this could be our year. Kicking ourselves now as this years trip is a month travelling Victoria and Tassie in November. Decision made all around our footy team. Brain dead.

I didn't want to do Europe in their winter so the Panthers had to take a back seat this year. I too have Western Stand season tickets and haven't been to a home game since late May when we defeated Manly.

Kilkenny

I didn't want to do Europe in their winter so the Panthers had to take a back seat this year. I too have Western Stand season tickets and haven't been to a home game since late May when we defeated Manly.

That was very wise and I would encourage you to do likewise in the next couple of years because things are looking rather bleak right now much like Europe in winter.

Kilkenny

I think when it’s all said and done we have had decent rosters since Griffin took over and now one season under Ivan again but neither coach was able to maximise the teams potential.

A better coach would have almost certainly been capable of doing so and that is the sad thing.

Maybe not winning a GF I still think we were a couple of top notch players short but certainly could have taken us further.

We are now back to square one and it is likely there may be no top eight finishes for a couple of seasons.