Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Anthony Griffin

franklin2323

If we finish 7th or 8th that's simply not true.

There has only been improvement if we finish higher than we did last year and if our season is longer than last year.

Finishing 7th or 8th and going out week 1 or 2 would most definitely not be an improvement.. although by finals we should have sorted our form out and be good for taking the next step this year.

We get to week 3 of the finals it equals our best finish since 2003. That should be the aim sure coming top 4 helps but Bulldogs and Cowboys have made the GF in the last 4 years from the bottom 4

OldPanther

Look at our spines experience this week, the back 3 and bench last week experience. Why do you think we went to get Grant for next year? Most of our old heads are out it hurts teams

So injuries may cost us a few positions on the ladder but we have 5 Origin players to comeback in. Assuming we stay fit we have the team that can go on a run

I agree but that's a different point. Comparing Ivan's injury curse(2015) to Griffin's(2018) Griffin is in a much better position with depth. Having May/Luai as halves is massive as far as back up halves go and Ivan wishes he had that. Our forward depth is better as well.

franklin2323

I agree but that's a different point. Comparing Ivan's injury curse(2015) to Griffin's(2018) Griffin is in a much better position with depth. Having May/Luai as halves is massive as far as back up halves go and Ivan wishes he had that. Our forward depth is better as well.

Have you looked at the top 17 games missed stat? This year is worse by far. That will mean little if we keep everyone on the field it does affect where we finish

OldPanther

Have you looked at the top 17 games missed stat? This year is worse by far. That will mean little if we keep everyone on the field it does affect where we finish

Again I know that and agree. The entire point is we are better placed to deal with it now that the years of work on the club are starting to bear fruit. You also have made the point previously about juniors starting to come through the academy as apposed to the Ivan Cleary era.

franklin2323

Again I know that and agree. The entire point is we are better placed to deal with it now that the years of work on the club are starting to bear fruit. You also have made the point previously about juniors starting to come through the academy as apposed to the Ivan Cleary era.

The academy is still only 2 years old. It would only benefit Flegg down and even still won't give us debutants good enough to play long periods of FG straight away. This is why Grant and MWZ are good depth signings (something we have lacked the last few years)

OldPanther

The academy is still only 2 years old. It would only benefit Flegg down and even still won't give us debutants good enough to play long periods of FG straight away. This is why Grant and MWZ are good depth signings (something we have lacked the last few years)

So do you think we are no better to deal with injuries then we were 3 years ago? Now it's important to remember I'm not saying we've failed or have bad results this year.

franklin2323

So do you think we are no better to deal with injuries then we were 3 years ago? Now it's important to remember I'm not saying we've failed or have bad results this year.

Short term injuries yes. Long term no we don't have any older guys in NSW Cup so if they are needed for a long run in the top grade they fall away at times. Pretty much as we are seeing over the last month or so young guys can't maintain the intensity hence why experience is needed. That and roster balance has been our problem the last few seasons

martielang

May has played what 10 or 11 games? Luai 15 minutes? But they're far superior to Cartwright, Wallace, Api & even Will Smith were as back ups?

Get out of here.

Our overall depth is stronger but it's also far more inexperienced & I don't think it's 6+ table positions better than our 2015 side. Unless you have Cam Smith & Bill Slater as your depth, no improvement in depth can justify that.

This is just another way of people trying to discredit Griffin by writing their own narratives. The guy isn't a supercoach by any means, but eventually people are going to have to realise he's doing a decent job thus far.

franklin2323

I don't necessarily subscribe to this theory. It's happened before and it will happen again.

Souths are up higher due to lack of injuries. They quite easily can go out in straight sets. I have Storm and Sharks in the bottom 8 (along with us and Broncs) There would some worried top 4 teams if it falls that way

franklin2323

May has played what 10 or 11 games? Luai 15 minutes? But they're far superior better then Cartwright, Wallace, Api & even Will Smith were as back ups?

Get out of here.

Our overall depth is stronger but it's also far more inexperienced & I don't think it's 6+ table positions better than our 2015 side. Unless you have Cam Smith & Bill Slater as your depth, no improvement in depth can justify that.

This is just another way of people trying to discredit Griffin by writing their own narratives. The guy isn't a supercoach by any means, but eventually people are going to have to realise he's doing a decent job thus far.

Before the season I think every person here commented on lack of outside backs and general lack of experience in the squad. Tonight we have half of the FG experience as the Warriors.

While NSW Cup had the best squad it is a big jump to being regular FG. That is the issue now back 3 and bench are feeling it thankifully Wallace and Edwards aside we look to have a full squad for the end of the year

OldPanther

May has played what 10 or 11 games? Luai 15 minutes? But they're far superior to Cartwright, Wallace, Api & even Will Smith were as back ups?

Get out of here.

It's got nothing ro do with Griffin so please don't try and make it about his coaching.

I'm trying to credit the club with fixing our development programs and yes those players on name are better but that's because we've seen them turned into first graders over the last 3 years and comparing them to rookies. I'll take May in our firat grade team even at full strength and our forwards have been fantastic, particularly Hetherington.

franklin2323

It's got nothing ro do with Griffin so please don't try and make it about his coaching.

I'm trying to credit the club with fixing our development programs and yes those players on name are better but that's because we've seen them turned into first graders over the last 3 years and comparing them to rookies. I'll take May in our firat grade team even at full strength and our forwards have been fantastic, particularly Hetherington.

May stays on we beat Broncs in the semi last year I have no doubt.

Hetherington is like Kikau last year. The best thing that happened to him was going back down to take what learnt in the top grade at an slower paced environment. That is part of development. Short term is get fringe FG in NSW Cup which helps for injury cover

betcats

Get out of here.

Constantly on the defensive re Griffin jesus just let people post.

mxlegend99

Having a 29 man toster is better than having Smith in your top 30. Or as it was back then, 24 without Smith beats a top 25.

Missing our whole spine and I would take our current second choice spine and utility ahead of Won't Smith

martielang

Constantly on the defensive re Griffin jesus just let people post.

It's a forum mate, you've been on here before, i reckon you know how it works.

Rather than having a sook, offer a reason/argument that justifies your point of view. Happy to discuss.

Aliceinwonderland

Get out of here.

I've said all a long. He's not a 'master coach' but he's also not a dud. Anyone who thinks there is not differences of opinion within working relationships (Griffin and Gould) needs to go and live in Disneyland. Griffin is doing OK.

franklin2323

Having a 29 man toster is better than having Smith in your top 30. Or as it was back then, 24 without Smith beats a top 25.

Missing our whole spine and I would take our current second choice spine and utility ahead of Won't Smith

Look at the experience across the 2 squads. 2015 was far further along

OldPanther

I've said all a long. He's not a 'master coach' but he's also not a dud. Anyone who thinks there is not differences of opinion within working relationships (Griffin and Gould) needs to go and live in Disneyland. Griffin is doing OK.

Again the conversation wasn't about Griffin.