Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Any news on our new sponsor?

Have you seen the new jerseys?
no sorry i haven't the designs I'm told have been confirmed but it's all waiting on sponsors, won't get to see the designs til mid November.
And maybe none of the first lot of training gear will have sponsors on it, which means no one will buy them. Happy 70th Eels!

phantom eel

And maybe none of the first lot of training gear will have sponsors on it, which means no one will buy them.
Do people seriously care/wait for the sponsors? Who really wants to promote companies like Pirtek, Dyldam, or whoever else more than the club/team we actually support?

If we released official stuff but sponsor-free, it'd sell like hotcakes - I loved the Centenary of League range from 2008, and vowed never to buy another (sponosred) jersey unless it was a momento in a season we won the premiership. Can't find a photo of ours (and can't be arsed taking a photo of mine, but those stripey ones (with the club's founding year on the back) will never go out of date because of a sponsor change.

mXsF6oaqtX5XZicUkSKwb5Q.jpg
Boys-NRL-Bulldogs-Centenary-Of-Rugby-League-1908-2008.jpg
2008-Balmain-Tigers-centenary-jumper-jersey-_1.jpg

Dibs

Do people seriously care/wait for the sponsors? Who really wants to promote companies like Pirtek, Dyldam, or whoever else more than the club/team we actually support?

If we released official stuff but sponsor-free, it'd sell like hotcakes - I loved the Centenary of League range from 2008, and vowed never to buy another (sponosred) jersey unless it was a momento in a season we won the premiership. Can't find a photo of ours (and can't be arsed taking a photo of mine, but those stripey ones (with the club's founding year on the back) will never go out of date because of a sponsor change.

Well since parra-matters owns a business that deals with nrl merchandise than I'm going to assume he knows what sells and what doesn't. My mate also owns an nrl apparel store and he concurs. Authenticity is obviously important to the majority and having the sponsor on the jersey provides that. I don't think many would actually care about promoting these companies

phantom eel

I'm not disputing what actually sells... more questioning the mentality behind those who will only buy until the current sponsor is announced/included on garments.

It's like Justin Beiber... I can't dispute that he loads of people buy his songs, but we can discuss the reasons of those who do.

I'm not disputing what actually sells... more questioning the mentality behind those who will only buy until the current sponsor is announced/included on garments.

It's like Justin Beiber... I can't dispute that he loads of people buy his songs, but we can discuss the reasons of those who do.
What's to question? It's nothing to do with supporting the sponsor and all to do with authenticity. As vulgar as the sponsor logo looks on a sporting jersey, without it they look like cheap knock offs.

Noise

What's to question? It's nothing to do with supporting the sponsor and all to do with authenticity. As vulgar as the sponsor logo looks on a sporting jersey, without it they look like cheap knock offs.

NBA singlets seem to sell pretty well over here without any sponsors.

Cos the ones worn dont have sponsors either

I understand people want the real deal with the right sponsor on their latest gear ... and i reckon an actual jersey might be better with the sponsor .... but i would like training gear that just supports my team without being a walking billboard

Noise

Cos the ones worn dont have sponsors either

I understand people want the real deal with the right sponsor on their latest gear ... and i reckon an actual jersey might be better with the sponsor .... but i would like training gear that just supports my team without being a walking billboard

I actually have a Parra training shirt where the sponsor logos (the iron on label type) have all peeled off in the wash. Looks heaps better now

phantom eel

What's to question?
People's mindsets.
It's nothing to do with supporting the sponsor and all to do with authenticity. As vulgar as the sponsor logo looks on a sporting jersey, without it they look like cheap knock offs.

So that tells us about "people's" motivations - perceived authenticity overrides awareness that they are being used as capitalist pawns giving companies free off-field advertising.

The same mentality results in some easily led people referring to Parra Stadium as Pirtek in casual conversation... Glen Duncan is laughing and people are dickheads.

People's mindsets.
So that tells us about "people's" motivations - perceived authenticity overrides awareness that they are being used as capitalist pawns giving companies free off-field advertising.

The same mentality results in some easily led people referring to Parra Stadium as Pirtek in casual conversation... Glen Duncan is laughing and people are dickheads.
I agree with pou ... people want the real deal .... you can rave on about capitalism n whatever mumbo jumbo but people, and especially kids, want to look like the real players ... which probably also explains part of getting the latest up to date gear constantly

I would probably want a jersey with the sponsor, but not other clothes

Based on sales yes they do, also try and sell a training shirt with nothing on it when it was released then a month later they get a sponsor and all the players gear gets it heat pressed on, fans won't buy the ones without sponsors if the player are wearing one with it on.
Happen when we left pirtek a few year back the first lot of training gear all had no sponsors by end of the first month of pre-season dyldam joined and i got stuck with a heap of training shirts i had to sell off at less than cost because the player had dyldam on their shirts and retail ones didn't.

hybrideel

People's mindsets.

Don't you think that companies and clubs take into account merchandising sales when agreeing to sponsorship? I would hardly call it free advertising

emjaycee

People's mindsets.

Since when is having your company name on sporting apparel sold to supporters counted as "free advertising"? Do you not think that the calculation of the sponsorship value includes the potential coverage from merchandise sales (as well as TV coverage from the players during the game, website hits on the clubs site, direct email mentions, billboard behind the interview podium, etc, etc,). Every sponsor pays and the amount they pay is directly calculated in relation to the exposure they are likely to receive for their contribution, regardless of the channel used.

And if Glenn Duncan is laughing, it is because he got his company name associated with a popular sporting fixture but I can guarantee he didn't get it for free.