Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Anzac Match 2013

getsmarty

The only players that made any impact at all were, Frizell, Merrin & De Bellin. The rest were very ordinary. Other notations that stood out;
* Nightingale was caught out of position in defence a number of times. I love him but he is not a fullback.
* Morris does not know how to pass the ball. After his long run all he has to do is pass the ball to Cooper who scores, no I think I will hog it this time.
* Fein and Soward went back to the round 1 form.
* Roosters will go close to winning comp if they stay injury free.
* Even if we do scrape into the eight or thereabouts, our for and against is going to kill us. When we win we win by a couple, when we lose we lose by heaps.

Agree except Frizell is not the best defender and that right edge with Frizell/Fein/Stanley will be exploited by most good teams. We won't make the 8.

itsme

WHo here was at the game and remembers both teams walking out with a young kid each? It really annoyed me to see that all players had the kid by the hand and walked out in a single file. All except Soward who ran out of the tunnel and onto the ground. The poor kid was left walking on his own. Soward was yelling and screaming as he ran away from everyone else and carrying on like someone who could play the game. He then joined the team facing the stand arm in arm.

The kid then walked up to him, because he was obviously told he needed to stay with him. Jamie then shoved him in front of him and kept pulling that "im the baddest man on the planet" face. The poor kid was left to walk on his own the whole time and looked so lost. What could have been the highlight of this kids young life, walking out in front of 40k people on anzac day with a guy he probably looked upto....has been ruined by an arrogant and selfish idiot.

Might not seem like much to people, but it shows me what type of guy he is. Gus can have the "best kicking game in the NRL". Im happy to see the back of him and if we do get Rangi, throw him to the Cutters.

WHo here was at the game and remembers both teams walking out with a young kid each? It really annoyed me to see that all players had the kid by the hand and walked out in a single file. All except Soward who ran out of the tunnel and onto the ground. The poor kid was left walking on his own. Soward was yelling and screaming as he ran away from everyone else and carrying on like someone who could play the game. He then joined the team facing the stand arm in arm.

The kid then walked up to him, because he was obviously told he needed to stay with him. Jamie then shoved him in front of him and kept pulling that "im the baddest man on the planet" face. The poor kid was left to walk on his own the whole time and looked so lost. What could have been the highlight of this kids young life, walking out in front of 40k people on anzac day with a guy he probably looked upto....has been ruined by an arrogant and selfish idiot.

Might not seem like much to people, but it shows me what type of guy he is. Gus can have the "best kicking game in the NRL". Im happy to see the back of him and if we do get Rangi, throw him to the Cutters.
That's a really sad tale. Could be a best seller, you should contact Mills and Boon.

It and everything. Abandoned child, love lost, pride... and of course prejudice.

I almost cried.

dragonv

What's your son's name? We'll see if we can get him some signed head gear.

Mr Red

That's a really sad tale. Could be a best seller, you should contact Mills and Boon.

It and everything. Abandoned child, love lost, pride... and of course prejudice.

I almost cried.

LOL!
50 Shades of Soward....

grouch

We have four key injuries and were playing a full-strength top four contender. We did well to limit the score to 34, to be perfectly honest, considering they also got some dodgy calls from the men in pink.

Weyman back next week, King in two weeks. Hopefully Dugan somewhere in there as well

Mr Red

We have four key injuries and were playing a full-strength top four contender. We did well to limit the score to 34, to be perfectly honest, considering they also got some dodgy calls from the men in pink.

Weyman back next week, King in two weeks. Hopefully Dugan somewhere in there as well

who are these 4 key injuries?
Weyman, Beale .. yes

but if you are calling our backup hooker in King a key injury then you are kidding yourself... and who is the 4th... K.Stanley?? then you are really clutching at straws....
and anyone saying they did well to limit the score to 34... thats Price speak mate..

grouch

Kyle Stanley's injury is the reason we're watching Fien in the halves. I'd say its pretty key. And King is a better hooker than Rein. Sorry for bringing some perspective to this pity party. I'll bring cheese next time

RedVDave

who are these 4 key injuries?
Weyman, Beale .. yes

but if you are calling our backup hooker in King a key injury then you are kidding yourself... and who is the 4th... K.Stanley?? then you are really clutching at straws....
and anyone saying they did well to limit the score to 34... thats Price speak mate..

I think King is a vital cog in our team ony because as good as Rein is he is not 80 minute player which is why King is so important he adds a lot of spark and structure when he comes on. I could not agree with you more that conceeding 34 points is nothing short of pathetic, so would that mean it's ok to have 40-50 scored against teams like Souths, Storm, Many & Newcastle? the 4 best teams in the comp IMO. Also having 18 points put on us in just 6 minutes is really poor and for mine that Aubusson try was unbelievably soft.

Here is to hoping we can bounce back against Manly next week.

Old_Timer

..... anyone saying they did well to limit the score to 34... thats Price speak mate..

Yes the new reality of Priceless!

What has it come to, when we can hold our heads up high by suggesting the above.

Every game used to be winnable. Nowadays we just need to keep the loss to under 50.

Mr Red

Kyle Stanley's injury is the reason we're watching Fien in the halves. I'd say its pretty key. And King is a better hooker than Rein. Sorry for bringing some perspective to this pity party. I'll bring cheese next time

King better then Rein?? thats very debateable on current form..
and could you imagine how bad we would also be with Soward AND Stanley in the halves?
neither of them talk enough, Stanley is a ball runner not an organiser, Soward is an organiser who simply is choosing not to...and hence why he's gone for next year!
we are a rabble in attack already without that combination as the halves..
Stanley will only be successful in the halves if he is partnered with the right player, and at the moment we dont have that player... Widdop wont be the answer either if Price is still thinking Stanley in the number 7....

Minh

We need speed, yesterday we lacked speed in the number 3,4,7 and 1. Nighty is a great winger who makes up for a little lack of speed with footballing and finishing ability, he does not have enough spark to be the number 1. Cooper can still hold his own especially in defense, he still saves tries but is no longer a big threat in attack. Against the top teams we don't have enough fire power.

saint.nick

Felt kind of ripped off by the pre-match entertainment. It used to have everything- Black hawk, parachuting, a jet that flew over a midst the silence after the last post and really raised your hair on your neck...and now it's reduced to a channel nine helicopter? Last year's reason for no black hawk was very understandable, but what the hell was their excuse this year? The marching bands and veteran jeeps didn't disappoint, but yesterday seemed to contradict david smith's 'e-squared' plan.

Mr Red

We need speed, yesterday we lacked speed in the number 3,4,7 and 1. Nighty is a great winger who makes up for a little lack of speed with footballing and finishing ability, he does not have enough spark to be the number 1. Cooper can still hold his own especially in defense, he still saves tries but is no longer a big threat in attack. Against the top teams we don't have enough fire power.

agree we lack speed, however the effect of this can be minimised with a smart game plan, and playing to your strengths
until gasnier came on board we didnt have much speed during 2009 - 2011 either but we were still playing a smart brand of footy and otehr teams still feared us when they played us..

some speed is needed
a smart half back needed more
a smart coach needed immediately

getsmarty

Kyle Stanley is yet to prove himself at half. Injury prone and IMO not the answer...same with Chase. Both are talented, but how long do you wait to get something back. I'd be looking to sign another Half from outside the club, + a Centre. Dugan would be good as Beale could play in the centres with Thompson. I'd also release Vidot/ Harrison / Vea/Henderson/Fein/Cooper/Both Stanleys and some of the other Fringe players we have.

P.S Apparently Tigers are going for Martin Kennedy from the Chooks...maybe we should make a play for him to get some size in our pack.

FlameThrower

Cooper/Fien retire, ditch Vea, Harrison, with Weyman talk of retirement one way or another big clean up with roster, yes maybe 2 years too late, concern is why have gone for budget buys over last few years and most have been duds,

The Enforcer

A tough day at work with my Roosters workmates giving me some crap.The thing is that even though we had won the last 5 Anzac Day battles, they felt like they had more than made up for that with 1 win because they flogged us and I can't argue.
Without wanting it to sound like sour grapes, how does a team that includes SBW, Hargraeves, Maloney, Minichello, SKD, Jennings, Pearce etc fit under the salary cap. ?

Cagey Mac

Harden up lads
How many of you suffered the ’75 Grand Final
Some comments here are absolutely on the money
Frankly we still are top 8 potential and the Roosters were on fire. Bear in mind too that the Roosters have held 3 sides out of 7 to 0 this season and only the rabbits and raiders have beaten them while they were sorting themselves out. It was also their time to shine on ANZAC day and they were pumped

• Soward reached his climax during the week when he signed for the Panthers and was lying back having a cigarette. He made 2 runs for 1 metre gain and Fein made 2 runs for 9 metres. Maloney and Pearce made 5/29 & 6/71 respectively. How the hell do you install any doubt into opposition defence lines if you never run with the ball? Your team mates become cannon fodder.
• Frizell was found out in defence a couple of times but played well otherwise
• Fein misread a number of defensive plays but we were on the back foot more than usual both his and Soward’s kicking games were poor even when we were on the front foot.
• Vidot and Stanley were lacked speed against very good opposition and combined with Fein and Frizell, made some bad reads in defence.
• Wearea-Hargreaves smashed us with 164 metres, 34 tackles and 4 offloads
• SBW’s cover defence stifled our left side attack when it had momentum
• There were three tries scored against us that were sheer virtually unstoppable. The SBW round the corner pass, the Jennings try of a kick and Maloney’s kick with killer bounce
• Tackle breaks however we far too high and need to addressed
• Offloads from both sides were plentiful, them 14 and we managed 12
Red, your underplaying of our injuries doesn’t do you justice. Fein is our 2nd choice half, Nighty isn’t a fullback and King at least has a kicking game. Yesterday we were reliant on Soward and Fein as goto kickers and they were terrible. A hooker and or a fullback with a kicking game of some kind (say King and Dugan) would be very helpful. When horse returns it will add starch to our forward line.
I’d be looking to
• Bring Cummins to fullback ASAP
• Get Horse back on the field
• Nightingale back to the wing
• Play Vidot off the bench in the back row
• Give Drinkwater some game time
Price still has the roster to make the 8. Let’s see what he does in coming weeks.