Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Are Melbourne finished?

LESStar58

I'm not celebrating yet but that was the best footy Melbourne has played all year. Last week was a character building win but last night was the Storm of old. Brilliant win. Slater had a pearler!

Mr Spock!

Storm will be in the finals.

Last year showed if Souths played the Storm, Manly or Easts in the finals they're gonski.

Evenflow

Melbourne are Gonski.

Yes they looked good last night, especially the Great Billy. But they were helped by a pretty inept showing from my team.

Lol of course it had sweet FA to do with Melbourne not allowing your mob to play their natural game, especially your halves.

pantherz9103

The other teams are so inconsistent and full of derp that they keep the Storm alive as a force, even with an ageing big 3 and moderate roster otherwise. They're used to winning, they'll still be around come finals time.

BunniesMan

They're one game over .500 in the period they are traditionally strongest in.

Let's see where they're at on the ladder after Origin 3.

SpaceMonkey

Melbourne will be there at the pointy end of the season. They'll struggle through origin and likely not be top four, but they'll make the finals. Second/third week finals exit for mine this year, but they're still a threat.

POPEYE

How funny is it that some people think winning one game at year's end is so important when what really counts is not dying in the arse season after season or standing up now and again. Manly or Melbourne don't have to win again for a decade before others even make an impression on their century

DURRRHURRR

Two good wins for Melbourne but the next few weeks will be a huge struggle. Origin slump coming up and they are down to their 12th choice 5/8, I think Finch will have to come out of retirement for a game or two.

POPEYE

Two good wins for Melbourne but the next few weeks will be a huge struggle. Origin slump coming up and they are down to their 12th choice 5/8, I think Finch will have to come out of retirement for a game or two.

Yes, it's about time Victoria stopped carrying Qld, time for Melbourne players to retire from rep footy and concentrate, like Manly have always done, on the cup

WaznTheGreat

Manwhee are an utter disgrace,them choking twice to the Storm is the only reason they are inside the top 8 and the main reason there getting there confidence back,disgraceful Sea Eagles hand your heads in shame.

They have the team to still make the top 8 easily and challenge for the top 4 but they do look vulnerable at the moment.

Jennings and Smith on one edge isn't going to terrify any one and Jahrome Hughes is getting found out massively since Smith has departed.

I don't think it is a stretch to say that they win both last week and last night if Smith was there.

Silent Knight

Can we finally write off the storm yet? Are they finally in decline?

Or will that prediction bite me on the arse just like every time I’ve previously made it?

Every. f**king. Time.

I think you've got your hand stuck in the lolly jar and are p*ssing in the shallow end ol' mate. Rougher heads than mine could wager a turnip on a turnpike that Bellamy is the master of separating the Reschs from the Rednecks and will have his rough crowd lined up behind the men's shed ready to drink from the Pissant Cup in no time.

So without much further input...too easy.

I think they show more signs of weakness than they have for a very long time.

Both the previous two losses they were outcompeted above anything else, which is a strange thing for the Storm. They also have clear defensive weaknesses for the first time in a while, that Jennings/Smith edge is garbage.

But they're also missing a few quality players. Parra beat them stronger but still not 100%.

I don't reckon they're finished but it might the first real cracks appearing.