Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

ARLC Commission Changes

The digital expense is going to be bagged by newscorp, since they're essentially setting up a rival platform to foxsports.

Not really as they will likely need to use Fox sports game content. I cant see it being worthwhile the NRl producing its own game day coverage. Telstra and Ch9 are likely to be impacted most. Digital streaming will still be a likely minority, but def growing, in 2020/21 when the next deal gets negotiated.

Stormwarrior82

Not sure on your figures. On a reasonable to expect $500mill revenue for 2018 it would look (based on 16 annual report figures with a slight above CPI increase for 17&18:

Revenue
Media $355million
Non media $145 million

Expected Expenditure
NRL:
NRL clubs $208mill
Event, Game and sponsorship (would love to know details of this!) $79mill
Football $21.5mill
Community and Player Welfare $18million
Integrity and Salary Cap $3.5million
Admin $24million

Grassroots:
States and Affiliates $33million
Development $32million

Total Income $500mill
Total Expenditure $419million

Proposed new expenditures
Digital $30million
Grass roots $20million

Total Income $500mill
Total Expenditure $469million

Profit $31million

Am I missing something or is the NRL not being fair dinkum about the struggle street claims it is facing?

I was massaging the nrl report figures above but not far off the mark. I was actually expecting you to chip me earlier about the precise numbers. Are you an accountant?lol I thought media was $50 mil a year but I have heard $30 mil as well so I can accept that. I have also heard that grassroots is $100mil. But never any clarification as to per year (wishful thinking) or over 5 years. I've also heard 65% extra figure as well to grassroots which would lead me to believe your grassroots grouping above. Approx 65% increase would be roughly $100 mil if the developing and state affiliates funding was taken into account. So a yearly increase of $40-$45 mil per year in grassroots funding. Which if your sums are correct a remainder off $11 mil profit. Maybe once the extra players demands outside the cap like, Rlpa costs, health and wellbeing costs, etc it could be chewed up quickly.

By then forecasters expect over half of Australian households to be subscribed to at least 2 or more digital streaming services.

As their main source of sports tv consumption? It's a bit different paying for fox sports and having access to fox go on your iPad than not watching cable or fta tv and just watching digital only. Devils in the detail!

I was massaging the nrl report figures above but not far off the mark. I was actually expecting you to chip me earlier about the precise numbers. Are you an accountant?lol I thought media was $50 mil a year but I have heard $30 mil as well so I can accept that. I have also heard that grassroots is $100mil. But never any clarification as to per year (wishful thinking) or over 5 years. I've also heard 65% extra figure as well to grassroots which would lead me to believe your grassroots grouping above. Approx 65% increase would be roughly $100 mil if the developing and state affiliates funding was taken into account. So a yearly increase of $40-$45 mil per year in grassroots funding. Which if your sums are correct a remainder off $11 mil profit. Maybe once the extra players demands outside the cap like, Rlpa costs, health and wellbeing costs, etc it could be chewed up quickly.

Only figures I've seen in media are $30mill per year digital and an extra $100mill for grass roots, presumably avg $20mill per year. Something smells fishy in the nrl's pleas of poverty unless there is something either impacting revenue or expenditure they are not telling us?

Stormwarrior82

Only figures I've seen in media are $30mill per year digital and an extra $100mill for grass roots, presumably avg $20mill per year. Something smells fishy in the nrl's pleas of poverty unless there is something either impacting revenue or expenditure they are not telling us?

http://m.nrl.com/club-funding-agreement/tabid/10874/newsid/103018/default.aspx

The sticking point for the Nrl would no doubt be the shared revenue, 29%, and if they were to accept that i don't think the total revenue should be used. Hell, the nrl increased revenue on the current tv deal without the players help.

docbrown

As their main source of sports tv consumption? It's a bit different paying for fox sports and having access to fox go on your iPad than not watching cable or fta tv and just watching digital only. Devils in the detail!

Not as their main source - that will remain F2A as it is now but it will be bigger than Foxtel's current market share which makes it a competitor to both Foxtel & F2A.

If the NRL were to switch from Foxtel to a digital service it would likely be as an extra channel on the existing streaming service of a major ISP like Telstra or Optus, with a F2A channel(s) covering the production in exchange for additional content.

insert.pause

Not really as they will likely need to use Fox sports game content. I cant see it being worthwhile the NRl producing its own game day coverage. Telstra and Ch9 are likely to be impacted most. Digital streaming will still be a likely minority, but def growing, in 2020/21 when the next deal gets negotiated.
The digital pass has had ratings as high as 50k for games, you are kidding yourself if you think the majority of people will still be consuming sport via cable in 5 years time.

insert.pause

I read it as "broke" meaning it needs fixing, not "broke" as in it has no money, but I can see why you would read it that way.
the context of the entire article was money, he meant financially broke. Someone called him on it in his live blog and he replied;
"What do you call it when more money is going out than in? And the last year of the broadcast deal has already been advanced and spent?"
http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sp...r/news-story/ae004ff9d2d0607db98554daae6ef2a8

What a dope!

insert.pause

TBh when you have Cam Smith, who is representing the players, not understanding that the NRL income is likely to be $500mill in 2018, you cant expect hacks like Kent to do the simple maths I have done above showing what the NRL's budget is likely to be!
their revenue is going to be at least $50m lower over 5yrs due to advance paid to clubs. Smith was regurgitating Gould's article, some of what he said was almost word for word.

insert.pause

Maybe the NRL should handball the players negotiations to the clubs seeing as they seem to want to be involved. Say "here's your $13million each, now negotiate with the RLPA how much of that goes to the players"!
Clubs are already involved with 4 ceos on committee negotiating the cba. Clubs aren't even united on cap, half of them want a big cap because most are backed by a leagues club, the other half, namely privately owned clubs, want a low cap so they have a higher grant to cover their losses and invest back in hope of sustainability.

taipan

Anyone citing Kent as some reliable and knowledgeable source,should listen and watch him on NRL 360.
He has as much idea on finance, as I do Nuclear Fission.It's bleeding cringeworthy at times.
Kent Agenda: Bag NRL admin that's what sells.Say anything people will suck it up.

From what I gather, the NRL used to leak like a sieve when News owned half the game, now they don't they get info in dribbles if they are lucky.They don't like it and it shows in their reporting.

The arlc should up the %age of player share $$$s but in turn say there will be a much higher minimum wage, draft, transfer window and a team in Perth and Adelaide and include behavior KPIs and also suggest players do more media to earn more $$$.

RLPA have asked for a much higher minimum wage.

Transfer window and media are good bargaining chips, agreed.

Draft is a pointless and dumb idea.

Behavioural issues are a minefield - players are already fined huge amounts when they f**k up and it hasn't stopped them, what do you suggest could be changed here?

RLPA have asked for a much higher minimum wage.

Transfer window and media are good bargaining chips, agreed.

Draft is a pointless and dumb idea.

Behavioural issues are a minefield - players are already fined huge amounts when they f**k up and it hasn't stopped them, what do you suggest could be changed here?

Dunno. Didnt get that far. But someone in nrl should be looking at including SA and WA so they can at least do national ad campaigns - eg supermarket, airlines, drinks/foods, petrol company, milk, bread, alcohol, Maccas etc.

The extra / new revenue has to be there.

Reactions: siv

LeagueXIII

If the players want a percentage of the games revenue then they should also pay for a certain percentage of the games costs.

Another thing players/managers forget when comparing what other codes pay, is compared to say the AFL who have had steady growth over the years, rugby league has had to make up for the Gallop years when nothing was spent to grow the code.

OldPanther

Smith also goes on about helping the game grow when they're only trying to grow their wallets. He already gets paid more than any grass roots footy gets.

Hello, I'm The Doctor

Smith also goes on about helping the game grow when they're only trying to grow their wallets. He already gets paid more than any grass roots footy gets.

Player salaries are a black hole...

Doesnt matter if you chuck $1mil or $10mil at a bloke, he will play the same and the fans will be just as interested.

If theyre so worried about players getting a fair wage, maybe they should be fighting to lift the minimum wage...

thorson1987

Player salaries are a black hole...

Doesnt matter if you chuck $1mil or $10mil at a bloke, he will play the same and the fans will be just as interested.

If theyre so worried about players getting a fair wage, maybe they should be fighting to lift the minimum wage...

Which is actually one of the things the RLPA wants.