Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

ARLC Commission Changes

Puntoue

A teacher hahahaha yeah those 12 weeks off a year must suck.

I suggest you try actually talking to a teacher before you make the classic "they get 12 weeks off a year" rant.

Most teachers actually have to do a f**k-load of work throughout those holidays aswell as constantly study "up to date" online/physical courses on new teaching techniques, child behaviour studies, social media awareness ect.

Not to mention that teachers also barley get to have weekends. The amount of preparation that goes into a weeks worth of teacher will probably surprise you, not to mention that on most weekends they also have to grade tests (try marking the same 3 page test 35 times on your Saturday arvo)

* Like to mention, I'm not a teacher, just know a couple, plus this topic actually came up in class back when I was in year 12 with one of the better teachers whom explained that the only time she gets a 'real' holiday is when she takes long service leave.

P.s. They also have to pretty much let little pieces of shit walk all over them and allow complete cockheads to distract classes because yelling at a student could hurt their feelings and thus tramatize them. There's a website called Reddit, and there's a section called "AskReddit" where users ask random questions and people from all over the work give there answers. There's one regarding teachers and student punishment. It's gotten so outta hand that so many teachers are literally having mental breakdowns.

insert.pause

Depends, clubs were advanced $1.5million each in 2016 from the 18-22 deal ie $24million. Did they get the same again this year? And it is supposed to be paid back, or more likely the grant amount will be reduced according over either the first year or subsequent years.

And in my guesstimate I have not included any growth in non media income for the two years which is unlikely or the nz tv amount as it is unknown. Even missing the $50mill they should still be operating on around $500mill in 2018. The other unknown is the amount of contra in the $1.8bill tv amount.
It won't be repayable once license agreements have been signed.

$400m is the low estimate for probably what the NRL deem are revenues attributable to the players and may exclude a whole host of things. It could also be revenue in the first year of the new rights cycle after the $50m advance is accounted for. The games revenue will easily average out north of $500-550m over the five years.

Puntoue

They work a shitload harder and risk a lot more than most

Hahahahahaha come off it mate.

"Work a shitload harder" you've gotta be kidding me. I have mutual mates with several current first graders and I can tell you they got it easy. But I don't even need my mates to tell me, do you follow any footy players on instagram? I think the bigger problem is that they have far too much time on their hands. Their far less likley to f**k up and damage the code if they had more to do.

"Risk a lot more than most" yeah, tell that to the literal thousands of blokes and gals that play the game for free on the weekend for the love of the game. You know, the lot that if they do get injured playing park footy they actually lose their income because you can be damn sured the warehouse ol john blow works for ain't gonna cover his wages.

leaguelegend21

Footy players have it so easy, but their skills are highly sought after hence why they are paid so much. It's simple supply-demand economics people!

No, they don't work harder or longer than most people, they aren't saving lives.

They are however getting bashed every weekend, and have risks and responsibilities that very few people do due to their profile.

But most of all, the few that make it are at the absolute pinnacle of what they do and they have a paying audience of millions. They have a short shelf life and aside from the few that get jobs in the game afterwards, most have to settle back into the real world at 30 or so with no useful work experience or education.

In comparison, teachers and nurses are a dime a dozen, despite the importance of their work. Again don't take this the wrong way, but it's not difficult for the average person to become a teacher or nurse. If there were at most 400 teachers, picked out of the thousands that attempt to become one every year, at any one time responsible for educating the entire nation then they'd probably be paid millions too.

Comparisons between NRL player and normal work are ultimately pointless, the playing field is completely different.

I don't blame them for trying to get as much as they can.

Cumberland Throw

Maybe the NRL should handball the players negotiations to the clubs seeing as they seem to want to be involved. Say "here's your $13million each, now negotiate with the RLPA how much of that goes to the players"!

They would give them $12 m and all be broke within 2 years and go cap in hand to NRL

Cumberland Throw

Apparently although the TV rights are pretty close to the AFL..

And the merchandise is pretty close

And the digital rights are somewhat close...

The actual inhouse NRL sponsorships, are under 40% of what AFL house can generate..

NRL seems to be all over the place when it comes to this stuff...

http://www.afl.com.au/afl-hq/partners/corporate-partners

Walk around coles and wollies and you see AFL badges on so many products..

There has to be $50+ million here ripe for the picking

Cumberland Throw

You never hear anyone discuss who is actually paying for the whole show.. um us

Typical costs of hardcore NRL fan... are $2500 a year i reckon ..

Foxtel - $1200 a year
Season ticket - $450 a year
Merch - $300
Finals tickets - $300
GF ticket - $120
NRL App - $100

REVENUE - $0

leaguelegend21

You never hear anyone discuss who is actually paying for the whole show.. um us

Typical costs of hardcore NRL fan... are $2500 a year i reckon ..

Foxtel - $1200 a year
Season ticket - $450 a year
Merch - $300
Finals tickets - $300
GF ticket - $120
NRL App - $100

REVENUE - $0
Well given that we are the ones who consume the product by choice, it wouldn't make much sense for us to get money for effectively buying something. Customers of Apple don't ask for a share in the companies product because they have bought a lot of iPhones/iPads/iWhatevers throughout the year. I suggest reading Economics for Dummies.

Puntoue

They are however getting bashed every weekend, and have risks and responsibilities that very few people do due to their profile.

Park footy players also get bashed every weekend. I know what you're gonna say "they aren't getting tackled by monsters like Tamoulolo" but they are getting tackled on uneven, hard fields with trainers that are unlikely going to be able to recognise an injury, let alone treat it. The treatment professionals get after a game is outstanding.

NRL: "Trainer, my calf hurts"
"We'll get the physio to rub it down and tomorrow we'll do excerise tests to see if it's a strain, tear ect to give you the proper treatment"

Park Footy: "Trainer, my calf hurts"
"Yeah mate just whack some deep heat on her and walk it off mate. If it still hurts tomorrow you probably just didn't use enough deep heat"

Aaaaaaaaaand don't even get me bloody started on the whole "due to their profile there's so many responsibilities and risks for them". If you're going to be a professional you have to act like a bloody professional. Oh whoa is me, I'm on $500,000 a year and I got caught getting pissed and acting like an idiot and someone recorded it and now my careers in jeopardy. For $500,000 a year I'd happily go stone cold sober and attend press conferences every goddamn day.

Whether they like it or not, NRL players are role models and a damn large percentage of their fanbase are young kids. If you want to be a celebrity and earn big bucks guess what, you don't get to be treated like the average bloke. You want to be just like everyone else, fine, give up your massive contract and hit the workforce.

But most of all, the few that make it are at the absolute pinnacle of what they do and they have a paying audience of millions. They have a short shelf life and aside from the few that get jobs in the game afterwards, most have to settle back into the real world at 30 or so with no useful work experience or education.

I'm not going to deny that the guys that make it are talented and it's hard to crack that playing field. What I'm not going to stand for are guys that are on ridiculous amounts of money say that they think they deserve more.

You say most have to enter the workforce at 30 with no experience or useful education and I assume you mean that'll be a struggle for them. Say you're a regular/fringe first grader and made on average $200,000 from the day your were 20 until you retired at 30. In your rugby league career you've earnt 2 million dollars. The average Australian would have earnt $820,000 in that same timeframe. The retiered footy player is literally 12 years ahead financially than the average bloke. Not to mention that the majority of players actually go to uni or get a trade towards the backend of their career to set them up for life after footy.

In comparison, teachers and nurses are a dime a dozen, despite the importance of their work. Again don't take this the wrong way, but it's not difficult for the average person to become a teacher or nurse. If there were at most 400 teachers, picked out of the thousands that attempt to become one every year, at any one time responsible for educating the entire nation then they'd probably be paid millions too.

Comparisons between NRL player and normal work are ultimately pointless, the playing field is completely different.

And I complete understand this. Availability and quantity of a position are always going to play major factors in the financial situation of a job. What I can't stand is when players or fans think that these guys have it tough. The vast majority of these blokes don't know what tough is and I reckon the main we here about guys struggles after their careers end is because for the first time in there life they've had to see the real world of working long shifts, making social sacrifices, bodies running on empty for a fraction of the price they're used to.

I don't blame them for trying to get as much as they can.

I'm going to sort of contradict myself here a bit. I have absolutely no problem with a player chasing the money in regards to signing contracts with clubs. If you're with Club A and Club B offers you a contract that you feels better for you, by all means go take that contract. What I don't support are the players telling the NRL that they deserve more money. I think a lot of these guys need to realise that the game doesn't need them, they need the game.

Cumberland Throw

Well given that we are the ones who consume the product by choice, it wouldn't make much sense for us to get money for effectively buying something. Customers of Apple don't ask for a share in the companies product because they have bought a lot of iPhones/iPads/iWhatevers throughout the year. I suggest reading Economics for Dummies.

Yeah i'll borrow it off you when your finish it.. point is we pay for the whole thing,

I'd put a fan advocate on the ARLC and the RLPA board..

leaguelegend21

You say most have to enter the workforce at 30 with no experience or useful education and I assume you mean that'll be a struggle for them. Say you're a regular/fringe first grader and made on average $200,000 from the day your were 20 until you retired at 30. In your rugby league career you've earnt 2 million dollars. The average Australian would have earnt $820,000 in that same timeframe. The retiered footy player is literally 12 years ahead financially than the average bloke. Not to mention that the majority of players actually go to uni or get a trade towards the backend of their career to set them up for life after footy.

You're a smart guy. Plus, with the time value of money and the investing capabilities, they have potential to be even further ahead. Woe is NRL players!

leaguelegend21

Yeah i'll borrow it off you when your finish it.. point is we pay for the whole thing,

I'd put a fan advocate on the ARLC and the RLPA board..
I like the idea of a fan advocate. Obviously we can't expect a share in revenue in return for our input of funds. What we can expect is a vastly better product. Unfortunately, the players are selfishly holding the game to ransom to get a better deal when the NRL should be trying to give the fans a better product.

Apparently although the TV rights are pretty close to the AFL..

And the merchandise is pretty close

And the digital rights are somewhat close...

The actual inhouse NRL sponsorships, are under 40% of what AFL house can generate..

NRL seems to be all over the place when it comes to this stuff...

http://www.afl.com.au/afl-hq/partners/corporate-partners

Walk around coles and wollies and you see AFL badges on so many products..

There has to be $50+ million here ripe for the picking

Afl's non media revenue in 2016 was close to $100mill more than the nrl's. There is a lot more than $50mill out there!

DiegoNT

I like the idea of a fan advocate. Obviously we can't expect a share in revenue in return for our input of funds. What we can expect is a vastly better product. Unfortunately, the players are selfishly holding the game to ransom to get a better deal when the NRL should be trying to give the fans a better product.
A fan advocate is a horrible idea.
We are all rugby leagues fans on here, yet i have yet to find a thread where every single poster is in agreement.

if you buy a "player cut" version of a jersey, you're getting less material for your outlay..

ergo, the player's cut of the pie should also be less.