Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Articles

getsmarty

renouf_20180906.jpg

PEARLS OF WISDOM

Renouf: The eight finals X-factors
Author
Steve Renouf
Timestamp
Thu 6 Sep 2018, 12:01 PM

The 2018 NRL finals series looms as the hardest to predict in many a year but in the pressure cooker of September the big games are decided by players with a proven record of standing up in the moments that count.

In naming the player from each team I believe will be crucial to their respective premiership hopes I have taken that into account.

There are several standout, proven finals performers among them but also players who have shown this year they are ready to take the next step and lead their clubs to grand final success.

Roosters – It took Cooper Cronk a while to settle into the way the Roosters play but he is coming into his own now. He's been there and done that in finals football so many times that you know he will deliver when the pressure is on. It's almost like he blots out the occasion and concentrates on the process. He gets in that zone, and everything is just so precise. Cooper can control the way a game is played and is a calming influence on the entire side. Most importantly, he thrives in September football and nothing ahead of the Roosters will daunt him.

Melbourne – It is all comes back to Cameron Smith. Without him they are rudderless. The great advantage they have is the best player in the finals series is lining up for them. He calls the shots, leads them around and the little things he does that a lot of people don't notice are just amazing. He'll create a three on two, make a dart himself where it looks like he's got spiders on him or throw that inch-perfect pass to create a line break. Cameron is the master of controlling the tempo of the game and there is not much the opposition can do about it. The Storm have a future Immortal in their team and that is priceless.

Why will your team be the premiers?

South Sydney – hooker Damien Cook has had a great year. He was brought into State of Origin series and was dominant and I don't expect anything different in this finals. When the Burgess brothers get a roll-on, Cook gives them that spark out of dummy half that lights up the whole side. He has got so much speed around the middle but doesn't overplay his hand. Cook presses the button when it is needed. There is more to his game than just pace and he has the game smarts to feed his halves when he needs to. One thing sure about Cook is that the opposition will always be guessing.

Cronulla – With the Sharks you know what you are going to get out of their experienced pack, but Valentine Holmes can be the difference for Cronulla in the close games because of his ability to create something out of nothing and his finishing ability. You don't have to give him an opportunity and he will take it, but he makes opportunities just with his running, his support and his awareness. When a try needs to be scored, Val always seems to be there and he can create them for others. He's a smart footy player and he can play anywhere too.

Penrith – Just the presence of James Maloney makes his teammates feel 10-foot tall. He is dominant and he directs the team in that wily way. It is no coincidence most teams where Maloney plays are successful and that is due to his class and that sense of confidence and belief he projects. He's won grand finals with the Roosters and the Sharks and reached another one with the Warriors, he's a proven big-game performer. He can control a game from start to finish and when he is playing well, so are Penrith.

Maloney: Making the finals isn't a win for us

Brisbane – Anthony Milford is playing better than he did in 2015 and when his is on song the Broncos are at the top of their game. His kicking game has been brilliant lately. He's also running the ball and making good decisions. What I like about Anthony is he can control a game on his own and break it wide open. His forwards are also playing well but Anthony has built the confidence in his own game to make a difference even when they aren't on song.

St George Illawarra – When the Dragons are at their best they work together as an aggressive pack and the leader is Tyson Frizell. Every run and every tackle he makes is full of energy and intent and that is going to be crucial to getting the Dragons on the front foot. We know his defence is willing but he is even aggressive in his attack, where he breaks through just by running straight over blokes. It often happens out of the blue. It is all about strength with Frizell but he has it mentally as well. We've seen that in the Origin and Test arena.

WarriorsShaun Johnson is a freakish talent and he has real flair, but what is often overlooked is he also knows how to direct the team now. We've seen a maturity in his game in that regard this year and I'm sure Blake Green has helped him. He keeps the opposition guessing each time he touches the ball and we've seen this season how he can win games when they are on the line. He can be the difference in a tight game just with his individual brilliance. It can be through a smart kick or attacking the line on his own. Give him the ball 30 metres out and he could so anything. Any team that comes up against Johnson knows they have to stop him, but doing it is another story.

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/2018/09/07/renouf-the-eight-finals-x-factors/

getsmarty

dragons-jillaroos-1_rc2_0466.jpg

WOMEN'S RUGBY LEAGUE

Dragons' corporate partners extend support to Women's Premiership
Author
Dragons.com.au dragons.com.au
Timestamp
Fri 7 Sep 2018, 05:41 PM

The Dragons corporate partner network has thrown their support behind the inaugural St George Illawarra Dragons Women's Premiership team with 10 companies committing to individual player partnerships on the eve of the first clash against the Brisbane Broncos.

With the men's NRL player partnerships fully committed in season 2018, a host of current Dragons partners have recognised the value in aligning their brand with the women's team.

This follows on from the five organisations who have signed on to be apparel partners. St.George Bank, TripADeal, Westfund, University of Wollongong and Anytime Fitness will all proudly appear on the jersey when the team runs out in Brisbane on Sunday.

The ten player partners who have committed their support are as follows:

There are still some opportunities to show support via a women's player partnership.

Currently unsponsored NRLW players:

• Anneka Stephens
  • Asipau Mafi
  • Eva Karpani
  • Georgie Brooker
  • Hannah Southwell
  • Holli Wheeler
  • Josie Strong
  • Kate Haren
  • Melanie Howard
  • Oneata Schwalger
  • Shakiah Tungai
  • Teina Clark

For more information, contact the Dragons partnerships team on (02) 8566 4666 or email partnerships@dragons.com.au .

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/201...artners-extend-support-to-womens-premiership/

getsmarty

ben-hunt_20180907-1.jpg

FEATURE

Sometimes I feel lonely: The vitriol that led Ben Hunt to a psychologist
Author
Michael Chammas Chief Reporter
Timestamp
Fri 7 Sep 2018, 01:34 PM

"I know I’m not lonely, but sometimes I feel lonely."

It’s the first of many startling admissions Ben Hunt divulges at St George Leagues club on the eve of his return to Brisbane for a do-or-die semi final against his old club.

"It’s gone through my mind a couple of times, thinking ‘I wish I didn’t leave’."

The fact a man who traditionally says very little is saying so much is the strongest indication yet this story is about far more than a player dealing with a few bad games of footy.

"I’ve actually been getting some help from a psychologist to help cope with things," Hunt told NRL.com.

"I never wanted to go out and get help because I never thought I needed help. I always felt I could correct the things going wrong in my life. But that wasn’t happening for me anymore. So a couple of weeks ago I got help."

For some, largely those with red and white eyes, Hunt’s admission that sometimes he wishes he was still in Brisbane will be met with outrage.

Hunt: Criticism has worn me down

After all, what’s more rugby league than a bit of outrage.

But living in a new city with his wife Bridget and son Brady, and no family around to help, combined with relentless criticism, you struggle to blame him.

"The reason it goes through my mind is the people that are up there," he said.

"It’s not that I don’t love the Dragons. But when things were hard at the Broncos, I had friends and family close by. It’s why I could get through things myself, because they were around. My wife is from Brisbane and all her family are there. Being by herself was something we had to learn and cope on our own.

"I’m lucky enough to have some great teammates, but sometimes you do [feel lonely]. You’re that far away from your family. It’s the little things. You wish you had someone around that could babysit at the last minute … your mum and dad aren’t here. Things like that when you wish you were still back there. It crosses your mind."

When football went pear-shaped in the past, which it has, Hunt has always managed to separate football from his home life.

But under the weight of pressure of living up to the expectations of St George Illawarra fans who have all but kissed another season goodbye, and without the support of family and friends he grew accustomed to in Brisbane, Hunt's mental state deteriorated.

"My wife Bridget knew it. This was more than just playing bad footy," he said.

huntben-portrait-180307022.jpg

Dragons halfback Ben Hunt. :copyright:NRL Photos
"She could see I wasn’t myself any more. She was concerned for me. I was different at home. She encouraged me to try different things. I was against it at the start. I didn’t want to do it. But it got to the point where I had to.

"I’ve had my own way of dealing with things for years and never needed it. I’ve always been a person that just lets things fly by. If something happens I give it a couple of seconds thought then it’s gone. I don’t really worry about it and move on with life. There was a bit of a pride thing, thinking ‘I’m a man I can sort it out myself’. But I couldn’t."

His wife, fed up with the criticism aimed at her struggling husband, recently took to Instagram to voice her concerns.

"You know what the number 1 killer of men between the age of 15-44 is? It’s suicide! And no wonder, the amount of bullying these people cause other people is despicable," she wrote.

"Words have meaning! You may not think they affect the person, but they have meaning! It's funny, that Ben is apparently being blamed for the Dragons' performances of late, but it's funny, last time I checked it's his first year at the Dragons, and this has happened three years in a row. And it's funny that there's 17 people in a whole side, yet it's all his fault! Players make errors when they are loosing (sic), and players make errors when they are winning too!

"Rugby league should not be condoning this culture! You would hate it if someone was talking to your children or parents that way, so why is it okay to do so in the game they play? It’s bullying & it’s not okay! We are just lucky that Ben is resilient and doesn’t get affected by this sort of stuff, but the story may go a different way for someone else."

Through the vitriol and abuse he has copped, largely because of the amount of money that is rolling into his bank account each week, the joy football once brought Hunt diminished with each game.

"I think my heart wasn’t there," Hunt said.

"It wasn’t the enjoyable footy I knew as a kid. You grow up doing this for nothing but the joy it brings you. But that joy went away for a couple of weeks. The love of the game disappeared.

"I found myself shying away from contact. Defensively I wasn’t getting into my tackles like I usually do. I wasn’t running the ball at all. I couldn’t put my finger on how to change."

Hunt never used to care about the outside noise. But suddenly his head was full of voices. The voices of players – past and present. The voices of the media. And the deafening sound of social media.

Hunt ready to face Bennett at Suncorp

"I’ve had to delete Instagram," he said.

"I’ve made a decision not to get on it for the rest of the season. I never used to care, but I found myself scrolling through the comments reading everything people were saying about me.

"It was very strange for me. But the last month or so I’ve been really struggling with that. I’ve had a few things playing on my mind and listening to people I shouldn’t be listening to. Worrying about what other people think rather than what I can do. It dragged me down."

After the first three months of the season, Dragons fans began comparing their team to the premiership-winning team of 2010.

Hunt was worth every one of the millions of dollars the club spent luring him from the Broncos. While the perception outside the club’s four walls has since changed, internally they are still singing from the same hymn sheet.

"We’ve got the halfback we want," Tyson Frizell said.

"He’s a great halfback for our team. We’ll be sweet. He’ll be sweet. We have his back. We’ve had it the whole time."

It was at ANZ Stadium on Sunday, June 24, when things began to turn.

When Queensland’s problems became St George Illawarra’s problems.

He didn’t know it at the time, but it’s when the doubts began creeping in.

Am I good enough? Am I worth it? Should I play hooker? Should I even be here?

"Looking back now I think it did have an impact on me," Hunt said of his axing from the Maroons starting team for State of Origin III.

"The couple of weeks following Origin, I didn’t think so. I thought I was feeling alright. But I wasn’t. The longer it’s gone on the more I feel like it got to me and it took its toll on me mentally. I found myself in a funny situation. I just couldn’t get over it like I usually do.

"I still think that kick in Origin was the right option, I just didn’t execute it. So I was able to move on from that because deep down I knew I was making the right decisions - that I just kicked it too hard. I did it again the next game for the Dragons and we scored. That’s how I’ve approached my whole career. But that mentality is something that has evaded me the last few weeks."

huntb-180624nh63.jpg

Maroons halfback Ben Hunt in Origin II. :copyright:Nathan Hopkins/NRL Photos

https://www.nrl.com/news/2018/09/07...utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=NetworkContent

getsmarty

Part 2
huntb-180624nh63.jpg

Maroons halfback Ben Hunt in Origin II. :copyright:Nathan Hopkins/NRL Photos

Queensland coach Kevin Walters made the tough decision to bring in Daly Cherry-Evans for the dead rubber at the expense of Hunt, but insists he never held the Dragons halfback liable for his team’s shortcomings in the opening two games of the series.

"I didn’t blame him for what happened," Walters said.

"I blamed it on the 17 players out there, and we had some pretty experienced players there too. We just couldn’t nail and get it right. It’s been horrible really, the criticism he has since copped. It’s unfair. I stayed in contact with him. He’s a terrific fella. Regardless of who it is, what people say about you, it does have an effect on people. Somewhere people have to start understanding the impact those words can have.

"It’s hard but he needs to block all that out. He needs to come out and play the football we know he can. I think Ben would really be looking forward to the challenge that Sunday provides back at Suncorp in a different jersey trying to finish the Broncos’ season. He’s just got to get back to doing the things that he knows works well for him. I love him as a player. He can do things, like Anthony Milford, that not many can do. He just needs to start challenging the line again."

For years, Mitchell Pearce has played the role of rugby league punching bag. If anyone knows what Hunt is going through, it’s the Knights No.7.

"Funny you say that," Hunt interrupts.

"He actually messaged me a couple of weeks ago out of nowhere on social media. He just said ‘keep your head up, I know you’re a great player and I’m thinking of you’. He said: ‘I know what you’re going through and you’ll come out the other side’.

"Honestly, that made me feel pretty good. For him to say that, a player I love watching play, for him to come and say that it meant a lot."

Hunt has been dealing with some anxiety issues, and through the advice of a psychologist and those closest to him, he’s adopted a range of techniques to help him overcome what it is that has brought him down.

huntb-scores-a-try--180424-gp-10.jpg

Ben Hunt scores for the Dragons. :copyright:Gregg Porteous/NRL Photos
He’s taken his wife’s advice and sought help.

He’s taken his coach’s advice and has been watching old footage of himself when life and football seemed a lot simpler.

He’s also began practising mindfulness, like Pearce, focusing on the moment to help deal with the head noise.

"The last few weeks I’ve turned the corner mentally," he said.

"It’s helping. It definitely has. It’s taken this weight off my shoulders getting it out there and not bottling it up inside. I’m trying some breathing techniques. When I find myself a bit anxious or stressed about something I ground myself again and start breathing.

"I worry about the present moment and not the noise on the outside. I’m focusing on what I can control. It’s cleared my head. I think I’m pretty close to being clear. There’s a load off my shoulders and on the weekend against the Knights I enjoyed playing the game and feel better about a life."

Unfortunately some fans show little sympathy. It’s about results. It’s about premierships.

Hunt joined the Dragons as their marquee man on a five-year deal, and perhaps he should be judged on what he accomplished in those five years not the first five months.

"That’s it," he said.

"It’s obviously the goal to win a comp. But if I finish my time down here without one, I’m going to be pretty disappointed. As a fan, I know they want to win every year. I want to win every year as well. But we’ve got to try and get one in there somewhere.

"The big discussion when I came down to the Dragons was that we feel like we’re building towards a team that are ready to win a competition and I feel that I can contribute to that."

I’m lucky enough to have some great teammates, but sometimes you do [feel lonely].

Ben Hunt
So when will it be? Is this their year? Or are things now too far gone for the Dragons to turn it around in sudden-death football and win four on the trot to achieve what looked so likely just a few months ago.

"I think it’s fair for people to say that we’re gone going off what we’ve produced the last six weeks," he said.

"It’s definitely fair for people to say that, but I know we’ve got a quality team. We showed that at the start of the year. I think things can turn our way."

First up, a clash against his old mates. Returning to Suncorp Stadium for the first time in Dragons colours.

"The messages have already started," Hunt joked.

"Telling me ‘to run at them’ or ‘I’ll be coming after ya’."

Boyd expects Hunt to rise

And that will no doubt be the case, but as Darius Boyd showed during the week when he pleaded with fans to get off Hunt’s back, there’s a bond that no jersey will break.

"It meant a lot mate. It really did," Hunt said of Boyd’s comments.

"Everyone knows what he’s been through in his career and in his life away from footy. To say those great words, it definitely meant a lot. It touched me. It gives you a bit of a lift in yourself to know there are other players out there who have been in tough situations and there are ways through it."

Hunt expressed his appreciation in a text to Boyd, thanking him for the lift in morale.

"He just replied: "don’t let it help you too much on Sunday".

Readers seeking support and information about mental health can contact Lifeline on 13 11 14.

https://www.nrl.com/news/2018/09/07...utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=NetworkContent

getsmarty

WOMEN'S RUGBY LEAGUE

24-hour warning: Women's Premiership (Round 1)
Author
Timestamp
Sat 8 Sep 2018, 02:05 PM

St George Illawarra coach Daniel Lacey has amended his inaugural Women's Premiership squad to 19 ahead of Sunday's historic clash against the Brisbane Broncos.

Talia Atfield and Georgie Brooker are the unlucky duo to miss out on selection to play at Suncorp Stadium.

Women's Premiership squad for Round 1 v Broncos:

1. Sam Bremner (c) – sponsored by Stonemasons & Landscapers (since 1970)
2. Rikeya Horne – sponsored by University of Wollongong
3. Jessica Sergis – sponsored by Powerade
4. Honey Hireme – sponsored by My Muscle Chef
5. Shakiah Tungai
6. Keeley Davis – sponsored by Dincel
7. Raecene McGregor – sponsored by Wollongong Diagnostics
8. Oneata Schwalger
9. Anneka Stephens
10. Asoiva Karpani
11. Kezie Apps – sponsored by Kingsgrove Sports Centre
12. Talesha Quinn – sponsored by Anytime Fitness
13. Annette Brander – sponsored by EFEX

Interchange:
14. Holli Wheeler
15. Hannah Southwell
16. Teina Clark
17. Melanie Howard
18. Asipau Mafi
19. Kate Haren

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/2018/09/08/24-hour-warning-womens-premiership-round-1/

getsmarty

WOMEN'S RUGBY LEAGUE

From soccer stars to NRLW: Dragons trio set to make history
Author
Brad Walter Senior Reporter
Timestamp
Sat 8 Sep 2018, 01:01 PM

Hannah Southwell was just 15 years old when she made her W-League debut, Shakiah Tungai won the Kyah Simon Medal at the 2016 National Indigenous Championships and Josie Strong has played goalkeeper in the elite NPL NSW Women's competition.

After excelling at soccer, the trio have each made the successful transition to rugby league this season and are members of the St George Illawarra squad for the inaugural Holden NRL Women's Premiership starting this weekend.

It's been a rapid rise for all three, who only fully committed to the game this year after stints in other sports because they weren't able to play rugby league in their teens.

"I've always loved league, I started with league when I was younger and then there wasn't anything around so I had to go to soccer," said Southwell, who was entrusted by the Newcastle Jets at 15 to stop the likes of Sam Kerr and Caitlin Foord scoring goals and represented the Young Matildas.

"I played school soccer and got selected for the Emerging Jets and then the Youth Jets. I had a couple of tournaments, played nationals and I actually got picked by the W-League side at 14 but I couldn't play because of age restrictions.

"I was the youngest ever W-League goalkeeper and it was pretty scary having Sam Kerr running at you. Kyah Simon scored a couple of goals against me and Caitlin Foord just ripped us apart in a game at WIN Stadium but I enjoyed the pressure."

fullsizerender.jpg

Dragons player and former soccer star Hannah Southwell. :copyright:Photo supplied
Tungai was also promoted to a high level at a young age and won the Golden Boot as leading goal scorer for four consecutive season from 2012 in the Football South Coast Women's competition as she helped Albion Park become the most dominant club team in NSW.

The 21-year-old was also awarded the Kyah Simon Medal as player of the tournament at the 2016 National Indigenous Championships but after taking up league for the first time last year she has now quit soccer and will play on the wing for the Dragons.

"I started playing soccer when I was about 12, I played juniors and then, when I was 14, I played opens up until last year," Tungai said.

"I could have taken it further, which I should have, but I just liked to stay local.

"I've played at four Koori Knockouts and backyard footy with my siblings but other than that I am pretty new to the game."

In contrast, Strong began playing league for Berry-Shoalhaven Heads from the age of seven until she was no longer allowed and represented South Coast at the NSW PSSA Championships alongside St George Illawarra five-eighth Keely Davis's brother Rory.

"When I was in year five I didn't get selected because I was a girl but in year six I think they saw through that so I went up to Penrith and played with all the boys. I was the only girl in that comp," the 23-year-old centre said.

"When I couldn't play anymore mum and dad said go and get a different sport. I just fell into soccer and made a couple of state sides. I played for Southern Branch, I played for NSW Country for a few years and I also played my final year for Sydney Uni.

"But rugby league was always in my blood. After soccer, I played for Wests Devils but had to stop because I got a chef's apprenticeship. I came back to the Corrimal Cougars this year."

NRLW Broncos v Dragons - Round 1

Despite their relative lack of league experience, the trio have been helped in their transition to the NRL by having played sport at an elite level, with Southwell having trained alongside Australian goalkeeper Lydia Williams in a 2016 Matildas camp.

"It was amazing to see how determined she was," 19-year-old Southwell said.

"I looked up to a lot of the girls at the Jets too and it was kind of a wake-up call to have Emily Van Egmond yelling at you. I really enjoyed that season in W-League but it just wasn’t for me.

"I had to train pretty hard to get my feet working. I was always very good with hand-eye co-ordination but had to work very hard on kicking the ball because I needed to use my feet to be a goalkeeper.

"It has helped heaps now. I can kick because of soccer and game awareness would be another big thing. Being a goal keeper you have got to be very game aware of where things are happening and who is doing what so that really helped out with league."

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/201...ars-to-nrlw-dragons-trio-set-to-make-history/

Dragsters

'I haven't spoken to the Dragons,' says Broncos coach Wayne Bennett

Andrew Webster
8 September 2018 — 4:15pm

In another life, before Wayne Bennett returned to the Broncos for his second stint as their Messiah, you never knew if he was going to pick up the phone – and what you were going to get if he did.

Sometimes you felt a true connection, falling under his spell and hanging on every word rugby league’s most successful coach cared to tell you. At other times, he gave you the one and two-word answers he was famous for in his media conferences.

Mostly, you were just happy if he picked up. Earlier this week, he phoned as soon as he read this column’s text about speculation he was negotiating a return to the Dragons, who he guided to the holy land of a premiership in 2010.

This tip came from a trusted source. Bennett had apparently met Dragons chief executive Peter Doust about replacing Paul McGregor next season ... even if both are still under contract and their seasons are still going!

“It’s Wayne …”

Sorry to bother you, supercoach, but you gotta check these things. You know how it works …

“I had lunch with Peter Doust and Craig Young before the first game of the season [in San Souci, as Fairfax Media reported at the time] and I’ve had no contact with him at all since then. Not a word. Completely not right.”

The Broncos meet the Dragons in an elimination final at Suncorp Stadium on Sunday. It’s a match they’re expected to win – and win easily.

The deeper Bennett’s side goes into September, the harder it will be for the Broncos board and chief executive Paul White to sack him at a meeting between all of the parties in the middle of October.

In fact, there’s a feeling coming out of Brisbane the Broncos will need to reach the grand final or even win it to ensure Bennett sees out the final year of his contract.

White has denied this before, but Bennett isn’t so sure after the club earlier this year started sniffing around for a replacement. Bennett told them to go after Craig Bellamy, who was coming off contract at the Storm.

Bellamy re-signed with Melbourne and Bennett started asking for an extension to 2020. He feels like the club owes him that. Let him nurture a younger coach and then, at the age of 70, he can happily slip into retirement.

The club doesn’t feel the same way. For once, Bennett isn’t getting his way.

No matter how the cards fall, it’s a chaotic set of circumstances the Broncos find themselves in. They finished sixth and play a style of footy that could see them wreck predictions the premiership is a race in four.

Wait. What? The coach is on shaky ground? They won't give him an extension? To the man who has won more premierships than anyone, including a grand final appearance just two years ago? Whaaaaat?

It went largely unnoticed but Phil Gould made the astonishing claim on Channel Nine’s 100% Footy in early April that the Broncos wouldn’t make the finals.

Bennett is proving everyone wrong. Again.

Remember round one? Hours after having lunch with Doust and Young, Bennett sat in the coach’s box at Kogarah, doing his best resting-bitch face as the Dragons trampled his side 34-12.

Bennett decided to start the game with Sam Thaiday at hooker. It was an air swing. Thaiday laboured from tackle to tackle, throwing wayward passes from dummy half that slowed the Broncos attack to a crawl.

Prop Matt Lodge missed tackles, dropped balls and conceded penalties in his first match in three years following his drunken, prescription drug-fuelled rampage in New York.

The crowd howled each time he went near the ball, angry that Lodge had been registered by the NRL to play.

Bennett’s faith in Lodge was interpreted as a sign the coach was losing the magic. Was Lodge that good? Was he really worth the trouble? The ugly headlines? The outrage?

Turns out, yes, in a football sense at least. Lodge is arguably the form prop of the competition.

Bennett did something similar with centre James Roberts, who came out of a Thai rehab facility two years ago and got straight back on the drink.

Bennett said the best thing for Roberts was to keep playing footy. It seemed selfish. He appeared more concerned about his team than the player's welfare, which conflicted with the Bennett mantra he picked up from the Broncos founding owner Paul "Porky" Morgan of making players better people ahead of better footballers. One followed the other.

Once again, Bennett was proven right: Roberts was a star in NSW’s series win in Origin earlier this year.

Bennett has the Broncos humming again without prized signing Jack Bird and international back-rower Matt Gillett, and a halves combination of Anthony Milford and Kodi Nikorima that’s only found each other late in the season.

After dismissing the Dragons rumours when we spoke earlier this week, Bennett started waxing about how close the season has been with the top eight not decided until the very last play of his side’s win against Manly last Sunday.

Bennett had to send out a message through trainer and former halfback Allan Langer in the final minutes to tell his side to stop scoring points.

Another try would’ve pushed the Broncos into fifth position on points differential, setting up a clash against the Warriors at Suncorp Stadium in the first week of the finals instead of the Dragons.

McGregor might want to mention it to his players before they run out on Sunday. Bennett felt the Dragons would be easier to beat than the Warriors. It's an insult that's largely gone unnoticed this week.

It was also another example of Bennett, still the master manipulator, bending and turning life his way.

https://www.smh.com.au/sport/nrl/i-...ncos-coach-wayne-bennett-20180908-p502j6.html

I suspected as much last week watching that Brisbane Manly match.

One more point and they play the warriors.

As Webster stated, Mary needs to read that last couple of paragraphs to the team just before they run out onto Lang park tomorrow.

If that doesn't motivate them I'm not sure what will...

getsmarty

melanie-howard..jpg

WOMEN'S RUGBY LEAGUE

Late mail: Women's Premiership (Round 1)
Author
Timestamp
Sun 9 Sep 2018, 12:45 PM

St George Illawarra coach Daniel Lacey has finalised his team for the Dragons' historic Women's Premiership clash against the Brisbane Broncos on Sunday afternoon.

Talesha Quinn (knee) has been ruled out, with Holli Wheeler starting in her place in the back row. Asipau Mafi will come on to the interchange as a result.

Oneata Schwalger and Keeley Davis will start from the interchange also, with Melanie Howard named at five-eighth and Teina Clark set to play in the front row.

Women's Premiership team (Round 1) v Brisbane Broncos:

5. Shakiah Tungai
17. Melanie Howard
16. Teina Clark
9. Anneka Stephens
10. Asoiva Karpani
14. Holli Wheelerhttps://www.anytimefitness.com.au/

Interchange:
8. Oneata Schwalger
15. Hannah Southwell
18. Asipau Mafi

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/2018/09/09/late-mail-womens-premiership-round-1/

getsmarty

‘He’s a phenomenal player’: Tariq Sims in awe of Gareth Widdop’s tough as nails replacement Kurt Mann
Dragons
  • September 9, 2018 8:56pm
  • by Pam Whaley
  • Source: FOX SPORTS
9321c5ad4ce524bbb8f5f40074c15717

Kurt Mann will be the man to replace Gareth Widdop. (Photo by Albert Perez/Getty Images)Source: Getty Images
DRAGONS enforcer Tariq Sims is in awe of unassuming utility Kurt Mann.

Mann has been the Mr Fix It at the Dragons for a few years now, playing everything from fullback to centre and switching into the halves.

After missing out on a starting spot in the centres through injury at the beginning of the season, the 25-year-old has found himself a spot on the bench, switching into lock for Jack de Belin despite his smaller frame.

Finals Week 1

697954_640x360_large_20180909191057.jpg

Dragons press conference

7:11
But now he’s staring down the barrel of replacing injured Dragons five-eighth Gareth Widdop in the biggest game of the season against South Sydney on Saturday.

Sims says Mann has a special x-factor, not unlike his Blues team-mate and fellow semi-finalist, Tyrone Peachey.

“He’s tackling blokes who are 60kgs heavier than him so you have to try and put yourself in his shoes and think about someone charging towards you at full speed who is 50 plus kilos heavier than you, that’s daunting,” Sims says.

“He doesn’t bat an eyelid. As a teammate, that stiffens the spine for the rest of us players.

“He’s a phenomenal player. He reminds me of [Tyrone] Peachey.

If you wanted him to play prop he’d roll his sleeves up and have a crack. He’s just one of those players we’re very lucky to have. He’s been so consistent for us this year.”

697944_640x360_large_20180909183011.jpg

Dragons finish in style

0:33
Even if his positions have not been.

For the past three weeks Mann has filled in for Widdop, who has been nursing a dislocated shoulder and was unlucky enough to re-injure it in the Dragons’ 48-18 win over the Broncos on Sunday. It’s unlikely he’ll play again this year.

Those three games are all that Mann has up his sleeve as he’ll prepare to face the Rabbitohs at ANZ Stadium on Saturday, but he’s confident he can get the job done if selected.

It’s what he does.

“I knew straight away as soon as ‘Gaz’ went down. I was playing lock at the time and as soon as he went down I knew what my job was,” Mann says.

“I’ve played front row and a few other positions too. I tend to get chucked around a bit because I can play a few roles.

“I’ve played five-eighth the past few weeks, so nothing has really changed. I’ve played there the past three games there so I’m comfortable with it.”

“[coach Paul McGregor] has showed a lot of faith in me over the past few weeks and times before that so if he’s confident to play me in the front row sometimes, my body shape definitely doesn’t suit a front rower.

“For him to be confident enough for me to do that definitely shows me that he has a lot of faith in me. If he gives me the five-eighth job I’ll take it with both hands.”

https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/nr...n/news-story/5f1efdcbda8b14b37bac07929c402fc6

getsmarty

walter_20180910.jpg

WINNING STARTS MONDAY

Why the focus on NRL playmakers is unhealthy
Author
Brad Walter Senior Reporter
Timestamp
Mon 10 Sep 2018, 01:38 PM

"How's Ben Hunt, he looks like he's in a pretty dark place at the moment?"

"How's Benny, because he has copped a lot of criticism and it would have to knock him about a little bit?"

"How have you worked on trying to put Ben Hunt back together, because his confidence looks shot?"

There has hardly been a media interview with a St George Illawarra player or coach Paul McGregor during the past month which hasn't involved a question about star halfback Ben Hunt.

Even after the Dragons 48-18 defeat of Brisbane in Sunday's elimination final at Suncorp Stadium, McGregor was asked: "How is Ben Hunt, after some of the criticism he has copped recently?"

McGregor replied: "He was involved in a 48-18 win and he was part of a 1-17, like he is every week. He gets the blame for a lot of things he shouldn't and I am just glad he is in that shed smiling."

Match Highlights: Broncos v Dragons - Week 1 Finals, 2018

The scrutiny and focus on NRL playmakers this season has become unhealthy.

If their team wins the likes of Hunt, Shaun Johnson, Anthony Milford and Nathan Cleary are heroes. If their teams lose, they are failures.

The Broncos' season had barely finished when it was suggested during the post-match analysis on one radio station that the club needed to consider buying a new halfback to either play alongside Milford or replace him.

Forget that Milford had steered Brisbane to a home final after impressive wins over Manly, Sydney Roosters and South Sydney in their last three matches of the regular season, playing behind a forward pack missing Matt Gillett, Jayden Su'a, Jack Bird and Payne Haas.

Johnson has now come under fire in Auckland after the Warriors' 27-12 season-ending finals loss to Penrith on Saturday night, with the Kiwi superstar described as a "million-dollar flop" in a New Zealand Herald article which began: "If only Shaun Johnson had Jazz Tevaga's heart".

Former Warriors coach Tony Kemp also said on radio on Monday that the club may not re-sign Johnson when he comes off contract at the end of next season.

Kemp suggested the Warriors should be "throwing $2 million at someone like Nathan Cleary, a 20-year-old who has the goods to show up week in and week out".

However, commentator Dale Budge told Radio Sport it was unfair to blame Johnson solely for the Warriors' defeat in a game in which they lost captain Roger Tuivasa-Sheck with a knee injury midway through the first half and their forwards were outmuscled by the Panthers.

Match Highlights: Panthers v Warriors – Finals Week 1, 2018

"I don't understand New Zealand sports fans' obsession with trying to bag certain players. I put him in the same category as Brendon McCullum," Budge said.

"Shaun Johnson is never going to be Cooper Cronk or Johnathan Thurston. He's never going to be able to inspire a team that isn't dominating up the middle third with the forwards."

Brett Finch once blamed Andrew Johns for setting a standard other halfbacks couldn't live up and now it's Cronk and Thurston who playmakers are compared to.

Cleary hasn't been immune to criticism either after the Panthers dropped from first place going into State of Origin and suffered a string of losses while his NSW halves partner James Maloney was injured.

It was even suggested that Cleary and Maloney don't get on.

"That's just part of the 24-7 news cycle isn't it," McGregor said of the constant re-evaluating of the worth of NRL playmakers. "That's just part of their job isn't it – to either praise or to criticise."

With such heavy scrutiny, it is little surprise that Hunt last week revealed to NRL.com he had withdrawn from social media and was seeing a psychologist, or that Mitchell Pearce had reached out to offer him support.

Few playmakers have been more maligned than Pearce but after moving from the Roosters to Newcastle this season he has been earning praise rather than criticism because the expectations are lower.

What casual observers of the game wouldn't realise that Hunt remains fifth in the NRL for try assists (15) and equal 12th for line-break assists (11) with Johnson.

Hunt, who was personally targeted by some Dragons fans as he walked up the tunnel at Jubilee Oval two weeks ago following the team's capitulation to Canterbury, was being praised on Sunday for a performance in which he had a hand in three tries and produced a 40/20 kick.

"It's a really good feeling," Hunt told Sunday Night with Matty Johns. "I've been copping a bit of a hiding the past month or so. To come out tonight and really get into them, it was very satisfying."

nrl2018_finals-bracket-week-2_1650x1080.jpg

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/2018/09/10/why-the-focus-on-nrl-playmakers-is-unhealthy/

getsmarty

Dragons 2018: Hunt confident after Broncos bounce-back
AFL
r0_0_4590_3311_w1200_h678_fmax.jpg

Ben Hunt celebrates the Dragons win over Brisbane on Sunday. Picture: AAP

IT says a lot about the flak Dragons half Ben Hunt’s copped of late that several of his former Broncos teammates joined him in the away shed after his side’s stunning 48-18 finals victory.

Broncos skipper Draius Boyd had felt compelled to jump to Hunt’s defence in the lead-up, saying the relentless nature of criticism was unwarranted unfair.

A large section of his own fans didn’t listen, brandishing signs that read ‘kick it to Hunt’ and jeering him at every kickoff.

“Which kickoff?” he said. when asked if he heard the jeers.

“Every one seemed to keep coming. Duft [Matt Dufty] said ‘I’ll swap you’ and I went over the other side and they just kept coming.”

Hunt stood up to the barrage without error on multiple occasions as his side ran in 28 points in a first-half boil-over. He could have enjoyed the last laugh but he wasn’t about to rub it in his critics’ face ahead of Saturday’s clash with the Rabbitohs.

‘‘That’s not my attitude at all,” he said.

“I’ve played a lot of footy now and the people I play for isn’t my critics, it’s for my teammates, to make my family proud and that’s going to be one motivation next week.

“The last month, month and a half has been pretty aggressive down there, the fans the media, everyone but it’s something that’s part of rugby league. You’ve just got to learn how to deal with that and move on.

“I’ll definitely take a lot out of [Sunday], even last week against the Knights I really simplified what I wanted do.

“I felt like I achieved that last week and just wanted to build on it again this week. Especially at the back end of the game I thought I did that.

“The biggest things [next week] will be what I’ve focused on the last two weeks, just defending well and finishing our sets with kicks really well. That’s the main job I’ll be focusing on.”

A return to his pre-Origin form it was not, but putting Tariq Sims over for the first of his three tries and a measured kicking game, including a 40-20, to get his side home will his confidence a world of good.

He’ll need every bit of it against the Rabbitohs, with Gareth Widdop’s season over after again dislocating the shoulder that kept him out of the Dragons final three games of the regular season.

He’ll join Paul Vaughan, Jason Nightingale, Euan Aitken and possibly Jack de Belin – who re-injured his ankle in the win – in a crowded casualty ward. It will see the Dragons start at long odds against the Rabbitohs but it’s a position they clearly relished in week one.

“I remember him doing it the first time and that was a minimum 3-4 week injury and he did it again tonight and, straight away, he knew he was gone,” Hunt said.

“I played at the Broncos for a long time and they can score some tries pretty quickly. I saw him go off and I thought ‘here we go, this could really be a turning point for us’ but we managed the hang on. It was disappointing but he was the difference for us.

“He’s such a class player and takes a load off your shoulders your shoulders knowing he’s in the other side. We’ll have to try and work our how we play well [without him]. It’ll simplify things, we’ll play a more simple go-forward sort of game.

“We’ll be feeling pretty confident after [the win], I think we showed we can really do something in this competition.”

https://www.illawarramercury.com.au/story/5635729/hunt-confident-after-broncos-bounce-back/?cs=2375

getsmarty

WOMEN'S RUGBY LEAGUE

Hireme named in RLPA Players Champion women shortlist
Author
Alicia Newton
Timestamp
Mon 10 Sep 2018, 02:01 PM

Five of Australia and New Zealand's best rugby league players have been shortlisted for the elite player of the year, to be announced at the RLPA awards on Tuesday evening.

The award has been judged on performances at the 2017 Rugby League World Cup and will be eligible to both Jillaroos and Kiwi Ferns representatives for the first time since 2016.

It should be noted performances from the NRL Holden State of Origin fixture and inaugural NRLW competition were not included for consideration.

The finalists include three current NRL Holden Women's Premiership captains – Simaima Taufa, Ali Brigginshaw and Laura Mariu – as well as Kiwi Ferns stars Honey Hireme and Teuila Fotu-Moala.

Sydney Roosters captain Taufa is the reigning representative and Dally M female player of the year and was an integral part of the Australian Jillaroos' success at the World Cup with a dominant display through the middle.

The 24-year-old averaged 139 metres across the tournament and played 80 minutes against the Kiwi Ferns in the final to produce 43 tackles in a rugged performance.

Australian teammate Brigginshaw is coming off a consistent display for the Brisbane Broncos in their inaugural NRLW game against St George Illawarra on the weekend, but her nomination stems back to a stellar World Cup campaign for the Jillaroos where she was named player of the final.

Brigginshaw set up two match-winning tries in the deciding game and produced 11 carries for 90 running metres. She played in all five games throughout the campaign to set up 10 try assists and nine line break assists, while her defence was on show with just six missed tackles across 300 minutes played.

mariul-17112601rc.jpg

New Zealand veteran Laura Mariu. :copyright:Robb Cox/NRL Photos
Opposite Kiwi Ferns playmaker Laura Mariu created history at the tournament by becoming the first player to compete at five rugby league World Cups.

The 37-year-old announced her retirement from the game last November but has since pulled on the boots again to lead the Warriors in the NRLW competition.

Kiwi Ferns winger Honey Hireme was a try-scoring machine for the Kiwi Ferns at the World Cup with an incredible 13 tries in four appearances, including six against the Cook Islands in Sydney and a double in the final.

Her totals also included 19 line breaks, 157 average running metres and 34 tackle breaks.

New Zealand back-rower Fotu-Moala was judged the player of the tournament in the lead-up to the final last November after rampaging performances in the regular rounds and semi-finals.

She made an incredible 207 post-contact metres throughout the campaign, with four tries, five line-break assists and 30 tackle break.

Fotu-Moala earned the name Jukebox from Darren Lockyer over the years because "the hits just keep on coming" but was overall well contained by the Jillaroos in the final.

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/2018/09/10/hireme-named-in-rlpa-players-champion-women-shortlist/

getsmarty

simsk-180909700-sd.jpg

JUDICIARY

Suspension threatens Sims's 2019 season start
Author
Dan Walsh
Timestamp
Mon 10 Sep 2018, 01:38 PM

Roosters match-winner Latrell Mitchell will front the judiciary on Tuesday night in an attempt to clear his name for next week's grand final qualifier.

Mitchell is facing a one-match suspension for a crusher tackle on Josh Dugan, who was laid low early in the second half of the Roosters 21-12 win over Cronulla on Saturday night.

Mitchell was penalised for the tackle that left Dugan clutching at his neck, but was not placed on report, and will not face any extra time on the sidelines if he is found guilty by the judiciary.

The match review committee has charged the NSW Origin star with a grade-one dangerous contact to the head/neck.

Mitchell escaped suspension for a cannon ball tackle on Parramatta's Clint Gutherson with an early guilty plea in round 25, however the 75 carry-over points from that charge have come back to bite him with his latest infringement.

The Roosters' win gives them a week off before facing the winner of Saturday's semi-final between the Rabbitohs and Dragons.

Enforcer Dylan Napa still has one more week to serve of his suspension from a brutal hit on Brisbane hooker Andrew McCullough, and will only play again this year if the Roosters win through to the grand final.

taukeiahos-2gp_0486.jpg

Roosters forward Sio Siua Taukeiaho. :copyright:Gregg Porteous/NRL Photos
Should Mitchell be rubbed out of the preliminary final, the Tricolours are confident goalkicking back-rower Siosiua Taukeiaho will be fit and able to take the kicking tee.

Taukeiaho was forced from the field early on against Cronulla with what's been diagnosed as an ankle lateral ligament sprain, but the extra week's rest has him well-placed to recovery in time for the grand final qualifier.

Mitchell Aubusson looms as Mitchell's likely replacement in the centres if his suspension stands.

Meanwhile Broncos forward Korbin Sims is facing a three-match suspension, capping a forgettable afternoon against the St George Illawarra side he will join next season.

Sims was charged over a lifting tackle on future teammate Blake Lawrie in the 32nd minute, with the grade two dangerous throw to result in a two-match suspension if he pleads guilty.

He has until midday Tuesday to submit a plea to the charge, with an extra games suspension on the cards if he is found guilty at the judiciary, which would rule him out of the Dragons first three games of 2019.

Player Korbin Sims
Club Broncos
Minute of match 32nd
Charge/incident Dangerous throw
Charge grade 2
7yrs incident free discount? No
Base penalty 300
Penalty points: Early plea 225
Penalty points: Guilty plea 300
Prior Similar Offences in last 2 years (50% loading) 0

Prior Non-similar Offences in last 2 years (20% loading) 0
Carryover points to be added 0
Misconduct on whom? Blake Lawrie

Player Latrell Mitchell
Club Roosters
Minute of match 42nd
Charge/incident Dangerous Contact - Head/Neck
Charge grade 1
Base penalty 100
Penalty points: Early plea 90
Penalty points: Guilty plea 120

Prior Non-similar Offences in last 2 years (20% loading) 1
Carryover points to be added 75
Misconduct on whom? Josh Dugan

Player Agnatius Paasi
Club Warriors
Minute of match 2nd
Charge/incident Dangerous Contact - Other
Charge grade 1
Base penalty 100
Penalty points: Early plea 75
Penalty points: Guilty plea 100

Prior Non-similar Offences in last 2 years (20% loading) 0
Carryover points to be added 0
Misconduct on whom? James Maloney

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/2018/09/10/suspension-threatens-simss-2019-season-start/

getsmarty

screen-shot-2018-09-10-at-4.08.28-pm.png

OPINION

NRL Official Fans Poll: The results are in
Author
Michael Chammas Chief Reporter
Timestamp
Mon 10 Sep 2018, 04:00 PM

The fans have spoken. The Australian No.9 jersey isn't the only thing Damien Cook will take from Cameron Smith this year, with the South Sydney hooker claiming the mantle as the game's best player in 2018.

More than 50,000 readers took part in the official NRL fans poll, selecting the best players in each position and providing their views on some of the biggest issues in the NRL.

Cook was the overwhelming winner of the best player of the year category with almost 30 per cent of the votes, well ahead of the next best (Kalyn Ponga and Roger Tuivasa-Sheck).

The Rabbitohs and NSW No.9, who was recognised as the most improved player in the game, was also crowned the NRL's best hooker, claiming almost two thirds of all votes ahead of Smith.

There was a strong South Sydney presence, with rookie Rabbitohs coach Anthony Seibold the overwhelming winner of the best coach of 2018 category.

fans-poll_01_favourite-team.jpg

NRL Fans' Poll results

1 / 37
fans-poll_04_best-player.jpg

NRL Fans' Poll results

2 / 37
fans-poll_05_best-coach.jpg

NRL Fans' Poll results

Click the left and right arrows above to see the results

Sydney Roosters centre Latrell Mitchell claimed almost 60 per cent of the votes in the centre category, while Nathan Cleary edged out Shaun Johnson as the game's premier No.7 in 2018.

Newcastle superstar Kalyn Ponga was voted the best buy of the year, the best fullback of the year and also the best player under 22 years of age in the NRL.

Suncorp Stadium was voted the best stadium in the NRL to watch rugby league, while ANZ Stadium and Lottoland were voted as the least favourite venues.

The fans also selected the Friday 8pm time slot as their favourite to watch the NRL, with the Thursday night match the least liked.

Perth was the overwhelming winner as an expansion target, while Andrew Voss (36.6 per cent) pipped Ray Warren (32.5 per cent) as the best TV commentator.

Full results from the Official NRL Fans Poll

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/2018/09/10/nrl-official-fans-poll-the-results-are-in/

getsmarty

hiremeh-180909702-sd.jpg

TEAM LISTS

NRLW team: Round 2 v New Zealand Warriors
Author
Timestamp
Tue 11 Sep 2018, 04:00 PM

St George Illawarra coach Daniel Lacey has named his mandatory 21-woman squad ahead of the Dragons' Round 2 NRL Holden Women's Premiership clash against the New Zealand Warriors at ANZ Stadium on Saturday, September 15.

Talesha Quinn (knee) has been named to potentially make her first start for the Dragons' Women's Premiership, with Holli Wheeler dropping back to the interchange and Asipau Mafi named as 18th woman.

Raecene McGregor (shoulder) and Jessica Sergis (concussion) have been named despite picking up injury concerns in their last start loss to the Brisbane Broncos.

Josie Strong has also been named in the extended squad in place of Georgie Brooker.

Women's Premiership squad for Round 2 v Warriors:

5. Shakiah Tungai
8. Oneata Schwalger
9. Anneka Stephens
10. Eva Karpani
12. Talesha Quinn – sponsored by Anytime Fitness

Interchange:
14. Holli Wheeler
15. Hannah Southwell
16. Teina Clark
17. Melanie Howard
18. Asipau Mafi
19. Kate Haren
20. Talia Atfield – sponsored by Baimed Performance
22. Josie Strong

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/2018/09/11/nrlw-team-round-2-v-new-zealand-warriors/

getsmarty

Graham inspired Dragons to boilover: Dufty

By AAP+ on 11/09/2018 at 5:02 pm
Filled in: NRL News
20180911_170118-800x579.jpg

Matt Dufty has revealed how a rousing pre-game rev-up from James Graham inspired St George Illawarra to their NRL boilover against Brisbane.

The Dragons produced one of the biggest upsets of the season in their 48-18 demolition of the Broncos and now have designs on again rattling cages against South Sydney in Saturday’s semi-final.

Written off and even abused by their own fans after limping into the play-offs, the Dragons produced a finals performance for the ages on Sunday.

And fullback Dufty said Graham provided the impetus when he dragged the playing group into a huddle at Suncorp Stadium and urged them to believe in themselves like he did.

“Jammer gave us a speech before the game in a huddle, saying he’s going to put everything on the line, he knows this squad has the potential to win a grand final, that’s why he came here,” Dufty told AAP.

“It’s really inspiring because he’s played 400 first-grade games here and overseas.

“For him to have that confidence in our playing squad definitely helped out.”

Graham’s passion was on show in the 25th minute when he refused to be pulled from the field after copping an accidental elbow to the head from Korbin Sims, though he relented and didn’t return after failing a head injury assessment.

Dufty’s affection for the English prop is evident, calling him a warrior and “probably the toughest guy I’ve played with”.

“He didn’t want to come off on the weekend. He got knocked out and he was fighting to stay on the field,” Dufty said.

Following their 38-0 humiliation at the hands of Canterbury in the second-last round of the season, the pair exchanged terse words in the dressing room.

While some saw it as a sign of a rift between them, Dufty said they could hardly be closer, describing them as having a big brother, little brother relationship.

“We’re definitely good friends and he’s someone I respect,” Dufty said.

“We have arguments every now and then but what good friends don’t? We get over it pretty quick.

“After that Bulldogs thing, we were on the phone that night and we had breakfast the next day. It wasn’t worrying us.

“We were laughing at everyone making it out to be a big deal. The joke was on them.”

https://www.sportsnews.com.au/nrl/graham-inspired-dragons-to-boilover-dufty/451002