Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Articles

dragonssamy61

appsk-injured-yymmdd051.jpg

WOMEN'S RUGBY LEAGUE

Scans confirm broken leg for Apps
Author
Alicia Newton NRL.com Reporter
Timestamp
Wed 17 Oct 2018, 12:36 PM

Australian forward Kezie Apps has received mixed news on the injury front with scans confirming knee ligament damage and a fractured fibula in the Jillaroos' 26-24 win over the Kiwi Ferns on Saturday.

The 27-year-old left the field during the second half after being twisted awkwardly in a tackle while carrying the ball.

Initial fears of an ACL injury were put to bed early by support staff but Apps went for scans upon arrival back into Sydney.

Not the way I wanted to end my year but everything happens for a reason. I want to thank everyone for your support and concerns. Just finished with all the scans for my knee and I’ve done Lateral ligament damage and fractured my fibula! Bring on an injury free 2019 #teamrehab pic.twitter.com/sPstHxWN5E

— Kezie Apps (@KezieApps) October 16, 2018
The Dragons back-rower broke the same leg in 2017 but is expected to recover over the off-season with surgery not required.

Australian teammate Jess Sergis suffered medial cruciate ligament damage to her right knee two days prior to the clash.

Sergis injured her leg on the training paddock and missed the chance to make her international debut with Hannah Southwell a late replacement in the backline.

The 21-year-old is expected to make a full recovery.

Kiwi Ferns playmaker Kimiora Nati will see a specialist on Thursday to determine the severity of a knee injury with growing concerns she's ruptured her ACL.

natik-181013_gt_33.jpg

Kiwi Ferns halfback Kimiora Nati. :copyright:Grant Trouville/NRL Photos
The Broncos five-eighth, who won the Karyn Murphy Medal on grand final day, limped from the field in the opening half after attempting to play on with the injury.

In other news, Roosters winger Taleena Simon is set for surgery after injuring her ankle in the NRLW decider against Brisbane earlier in the month.

Simon conceded a penalty try in the defeat by extending her leg to jolt the ball free from Nati's hands, injuring herself in the process. She's expected to miss most of the pre-season.

Meanwhile, Jillaroos fullback Nakia Davis-Welsh has announced she's expecting her first child.

The NSW representative signed a deal with the Roosters in June but fell pregnant and sat out the inaugural NRLW.

The Tricolours were aware of the situation throughout process with Davis-Welsh due in April next year.

Davis-Welsh took to Instagram on Tuesday night to deliver the news.

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/2018/10/17/scans-confirm-broken-leg-for-apps/

All the best kezie.
She has had no luck with injuries.
Speedy recovery.
You could not meet a better person than kezie .
She will be back bigger and better

getsmarty

hiremeh-180909704-sd.jpg

REPRESENTATIVE

Honey Hireme in Golden Boot contention
Author
NRL.com
Timestamp
Tue 30 Oct 2018, 11:53 AM

Canberra second-rower Elliott Whitehead and 2019 Raiders recruit John Bateman are among three English players added to the long-list for the Rugby League International Federation Golden Boot award.

Penrith's Dallin Watene-Zelezniak, the Kiwis captain and fullback, and Warriors playmaker Shaun Johnson are also in contention for the prestigious award presented to the player who has produced the most outstanding performances in international games since last year's World Cup final.

England winger Tommy Makinson, who plays for Super League club St Helens, has also been added to the final list which includes five players named last week from Australia and Tonga.

England's 18-16 win over the Kiwis in the first Test in Hull last weekend would only have helped their players' chances.

Kangaroos captain Boyd Cordner, his Sydney Roosters team-mate James Tedesco and Cronulla star Valentine Holmes are the Australian players nominated.

Mate Ma'a Tonga forward Siosiua Taukeiaho is the third Roosters player in contention for the Golden Boot. Tonga and North Queensland superstar Jason Taumalolo completes the list.

_kellyi-1gp_1093.jpg

Roosters and Jillaroos star Isabelle Kelly. :copyright:Gregg Porteous/NRL Photos
England's Georgia Roche has been added to the list of candidates for the RLIF Women's Golden Boot award after an impressive debut in last weekend’s 54-4 defeat of France in Carcassonne.

Roche, who has also been nominated for the prestigious BBC young sports personality of the year, joins New Zealand and St George Illawarra star Honey Hireme and Australians Isabelle Kelly (Roosters), Ali Brigginshaw and Brittany Breayley (both Brisbane) on the long-list.

It is the first time there will be a Golden Boot award for the best player in thewomen's game.

RLIF Golden Boot award
Who will win the men's Golden Boot award?

RLIF Golden Boot award Who will win the men's Golden Boot award?
  • John Bateman (England)
    0%
  • Boyd Cordner (Australia)
    0%
  • Valentine Holmes (Australia)
    0%
  • Shaun Johnson (New Zealand)
    0%
  • Tommy Makinson (England)
    0%
  • Siosiua Taukeiaho (Tonga)
    0%
  • Jason Taumololo (Tonga)
    0%
  • James Tedesco (Australia)
    0%
  • Dallin Watene-Zelezniak (New Zealand)
    0%
  • Elliott Whitehead (England)
    0%
The judging panel, drawn from the rugby league media in both hemispheres, will meet again after the November 4th Test between England and New Zealand at Anfield to select the final short-lists.

The panel comprises BBC commentator Dave Woods, renowned journalist Steve Mascord, rugby league filmmaker (Power Meri) and Pacific specialist Joanna Lester, Rugby League Express managing editor Martyn Sadler and NRL.com senior reporter Brad Walter.

The RLIF Golden Boot 2018 will be awarded to the winners at a special dinner at Elland Road, Leeds on November 7.

Last year's Golden Boot winner was former Australian captain Cameron Smith, who announced his representative retirement on the eve of this year's State of Origin series.

Smith will be among the playershonoured by the RLIF for more than 50 international appearances for their countries.

RLIF Golden Boot
Who will win the women's Golden Boot award?

RLIF Golden Boot Who will win the women's Golden Boot award?
  • Ali Brigginshaw (Australia)
    0%
  • Brittany Breayley (Australia)
    0%
  • Honey Hireme (New Zealand)
    0%
  • Isabelle Kelly (Australia)
    0%
  • Georgia Roche (England)
    0%

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/2018/10/30/honey-hireme-in-golden-boot-contention/

getsmarty

Peter Doust finally calls it a day as St George Dragons CEO
  • Local Sport
    r0_413_5472_3502_w1200_h678_fmax.jpg

Dragons CEO Peter Doust. Picture: Sylvia Liber

• Finally, after 18 years as boss, Peter Doust finally shuffled out of his office for the last time yesterday.

The St George Illawarra CEO, the longest serving club boss in the NRL, had his final official day at the Dragons yesterday.

Doust oversaw the early days of the fledgling club after the merger of the St George Dragons and Illawarra Steelers, with the joint venture club winning one premiership in his almost 20-year tenure.

Doust has been one of the most polarising figures in rugby league. His retirement will likely be welcomed by sections of the club’s fan base who have long called for his resignation, with the infamous “oust Doust” banners once conspicuous on the hill at Jubilee Oval.

One of Doust’s greatest achievements was attracting legendary coach Wayne Bennett to the club in 2009, with Bennett going on to end St George’s 31-year wait for a premiership a year later.

He also oversaw the protracted deal for WIN Corporation to partially privatise the club, potentially securing their long-term financial future.

Georges River Council mayor Kevin Greene paid tribute to Doust at a council meeting on Monday night.

“Perhaps the best tribute to Peter’s success in the role is that he is by far the longest serving CEO amongst the 16 NRL clubs. Peter’s passion for the game and particularly the Dragons I’m certain started at birth as his father Laurie was a long-term St George rugby league official,” Greene said.

“Peter has never shirked a challenge and while the 2010 premiership success is undoubtedly the highlight of his resume I think it is fair to say his maintenance of the Dragons as a consistently successful football team in a tough, competitive environment is a more long-term tribute.

“Former Kogarah councillors will recognise that many of the major infrastructure improvements at Jubilee Stadium were the result of Peter’s negotiation of Federal and State Government funding. His doggedness is well-known.

“I’m sure all councillors will join with me in thanking Peter for his service to our district and wish him well in retirement.”
https://www.theleader.com.au/story/5731080/doust-finally-calls-it-a-day/?cs=1633

getsmarty

fiji_20181101.jpg

NRL COMMUNITY

Bremner part of Clint Newton's 'Transformers' project
Author
Tanisha Stanton NRL.com Reporter
Timestamp
Thu 1 Nov 2018, 12:55 PM

RLPA General Manager of Stakeholder Relations Clint Newton will see his passion project come to life over the next week in Fiji.

Newton will lead a group of NRL and NRLW players who will depart for Suva on Friday. Once there they will get the opportunity to take part in aid work while also embarking on a journey of personal development.

Victor Radley, Jayson Bukuya, David Nofoaluma, Junior Tatola, Corban McGregor and Sam Bremner will accompany Newton, sports psychologist Steve Johnson and video content creators Johnny Tuivasa-Sheck and Job Toa on the week-long ″Transformers″ trip.

The former Newcastle Knights forward hopes the experience changes the lens the players look through when they view the world.

″It's basically came together in the space of a couple of weeks – I just pulled the trigger on it,″ Newton said.

″Sometimes you need to take a leap of faith and back yourself, so I started ringing a few different players to see who would be interested to get involved.

The top 10 breakout stars of 2018

″I'm rapt with the group that we've been able to pull together because it's a very diverse group with gender, culture and age – that's was a key factor behind this as well.

″It's something I'm really proud of because it aligns with my values and my purpose so it's very exciting seeing it come to life.

Sometimes you need to take a leap of faith and back yourself

Clint Newton
″This is going to be a life-changing experience for them based on the fact that they're going to be dropped into an environment that's going to provide them an opportunity to develop themselves and others.″

The group will assist the community by taking part in construction and renovation, teaching in schools and running sports clinics for students.

Newton said that as much as the trip is about offering support to the people in Suva, it is also about ensuring participants contribute to their own personal development.

″We are looking to transform the participant, not change them, transform them and take them on a bit of a journey,″ Newton said.

″And by their own individual transformation it will give them to tools to not only transform others but their respective communities when they come back.

″The other key element is that on top of the volunteer work, I'm looping in personal and professional development stuff either in the morning or at the end of each day.

″A lot of the program then becomes a head, heart and body type of experience – this is really focusing on the growth mindset of the individual and challenge their thought process and belief systems via this philanthropic endeavour.

″It's also about giving them the tools to go and activate things that they're passionate about and have a greater impact in society as well.″

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/2018/11/01/bremner-part-of-clint-newtons-transformers-project/

getsmarty

preview-pic_eng-v-nz.jpg

MATCH PREVIEW

England v New Zealand second Test preview
Author
Alicia Newton NRL.com Reporter in England
Timestamp
Thu 1 Nov 2018, 08:47 AM

Football nets have been removed and goal posts installed as Anfield hosts game two of the three-Test series between England and New Zealand on Sunday.

The clash marks the first time England have played at the famous venue after missing the 2016 World Cup final with Wayne Bennett's men out to seal a series victory on home turf.

Both sides had their chances in a frantic finish in the first Test at KCOM Stadium but England held their nerve to defend themselves to victory in the opening fixture.

England have lost skipper Sean O'Loughlin to a calf injury for the second clash with a replacement skipper to be named on Thursday, while the Kiwis are hopeful Adam Blair will play after withdrawing last week with a knee complaint.

For New Zealand, they'll need to bounce back after a two-point loss in Hull to force the series into a deciding game and prove their victory over the Kangaroos wasn't a one-off achievement.

Michael Maguire's era as Kiwis coach reads a 1-2 record in 2018 and the recently appointed Wests Tigers coach will be determined to have his side firing on the weekend.

342 match-eqio->488 match-eqio->628 match-eqio->736" data-eqio-prefix="match" data-eqio-sizes="["<186>342", ">488", "<627>628", ">736", ">920"]">
Match: England v New Zealand

Round 2 - Monday 5th November

1:30am

Home Team

England

Away Team

New Zealand

Venue: Anfield

Match broadcasters:

• Fox League
Buy Tickets
Key match-up
Oliver Gildart v Joseph Manu
Gildart got the better of Manu in the opening game with the Roosters centre having a quiet outing as he was well contained by the England defence with just 75 running metres. The right edge of Manu and Jordan Rapana is the Kiwis' strongest if they can find more space and be given early ball in similar fashion to their victory over the Kangaroos a fortnight earlier.

Brandon Smith enjoying England experience

For England to win
The pack proved they're capable of matching the Kiwis up front so halves George Williams and Sam Tomkins will need to create more in attack particularly with New Zealand's expected bounce-back factor. Josh Hodgson did a lot of work at first receiver and finished off some final plays in a usual roaming role but they overall could get better. The trio will need to step up another gear with slicker finishing for England to clinch the series.

For the Kiwis to win
They'll need to fix their discipline after a lop-sided second-half penalty count in crucial stages of last week's loss with the game on the line. Kiwis skipper Dallin Watene-Zelezniak conceded the side became frustrated at the officiating and let it become a distraction during the game. England's defensive line proved vulnerable on the two occasions the Kiwis crossed the line and Michael Maguire's men should find confidence of exposing England despite defeat last week.

England Stat Attack
England calculated a play-the-ball speed average of almost half a second slower (3.89 seconds) compared to the Kiwis last weekend, indicating a slower ruck speed across the board. James Graham (4.59 seconds) and George Burgess (5.09 seconds) were well above the side's average, while Luke Thompson (3.42 second average) recorded the quickest of the big men.

Kiwis mark Liverpool FC visit with haka

Kiwis Stat Attack
New Zealand motored forward with an average of 53.6 metres per set last week compared to England's 34.6 figure. They tallied an extra 13 tackle breaks and 350 running metres but struggled with their fifth-tackle options and basic error count to enable England's advantage late in the game.

And another thing
The Kiwis have not lost three consecutive Tests against a British side since 2007.

England v New Zealand
Who will win the second Test at Anfield?

England v New Zealand Who will win the second Test at Anfield?
  • England 1-10
    0%
  • England 11+
    0%
  • New Zealand 1-10
    0%
  • New Zealand 11+
    0%

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/2018/11/01/england-v-new-zealand-second-test-preview/

getsmarty

Dragons star Apps won’t rush return from broken leg
Dragons Den
r0_0_3088_2059_w1200_h678_fmax.jpg

OUCH: Jillaroos star Kezie Apps is helped from the field after fracturing her fibula in Australia's Test win over New Zealand. Picture: AAP Image

YOU only need to look at the replay to know why Kezie Apps thought the worst when her left leg folded underneath her in the Jillaroos win over the Kiwi Ferns earlier this month.

The Dragons star was left writhing in pain after twisting awkwardly in a tackle, with replays on the Mt Smart Stadium big screen drawing a collective groan from the crowd.

She’s been no stranger to injury throughout her career, but it was a new feeling in the pain stakes.

“When I first did it I thought I’d dislocated something or broken my leg I was in so much pain,” Apps said.

“By the time they assessed it they thought I might have done my meniscus but it was two days later that I had scans that showed I’d fractured my fibula up near my lateral ligament.

“I didn’t do an ACL or a PCL, the only really bad thing is the fracture. Bones heal, I’ve been through it before, so it’s a pretty good outcome.

“It’s unfortunate but it’s come at a good time. It’s better to do it now than doing it next year and potentially missing a lot of games.”

Apps famously played on after fracturing the same leg in last year’s Auckland Nines, with the injury later requiring surgery and a six-month recovery period.

It makes her latest setback a frustrating one, but that experience leaves her confident she can get back to full strength prior to next season.

“I’m in a much batter head space than I was last time I broke my leg because it was my first major injury,” she said.

“I had no idea how everything worked, if I’d ever get back playing, if I’d ever get back to playing at that level.

“Having been through it before and come out the other side I’m in a heaps better head space because I know what I’ve got to do.

“It’s frustrating but you can’t control these things. I can control what I do from here on in.”

Her last recovery saw her make it back on the park for the Blues Interstate Challenge win in Wollongong last year, but she won’t be setting the same return pace this time round.

“I don’t think I rushed back last time but I probably wasn’t quite where I should have been before returning to footy,” she said.

“I might have come back a bit early and not quite built everything back up. I

“In saying that this was a freak accident, it was just unfortunate how I turned into it. I’ve got a little bit time this time around and don’t need to rush back.

These first six weeks are probably the most crucial with how everything heals so I’m definitely taking these first six weeks pretty easy.

“After that I’ll do the work and hopefully I’ll be stronger, fitter and everything else when I get back next year.”

It was a sour end but Apps said the 2018 season proved another monumental step for the women’s game.

“We had our first state of Origin, the women’s premiership, it’s just been awesome,” she said.

“Every year it just keeps getting bigger and better. Next year who knows what’s going to happen but I just can’t wait for it to come.”

https://www.illawarramercury.com.au/story/5726848/apps-taking-a-slow-and-steady-approach/?cs=3713

Drakon

NRL NEWS

Coyne to add value to ARL Commission
Author
NRL.com
Timestamp
Thu 1 Nov 2018, 10:18 PM
Share on social media
Former Queensland and Australian centre Mark Coyne will join the ARL Commission, replacing Chris Sarra on the board.

Boasting a lengthy background in business, Coyne - the CEO of Employees Mutual Limited - is considered a candidate to eventually take over as ARLC chairman from Peter Beattie, who is set to be remain in the role until at least February, 2020.

The 51-year-old, who played 222 first-grade games for St George and St George Illawarra from 1989-99 as well as six Tests and 19 State of Origin matches for the Maroons, will join the Commission in February.

Sarra has elected to not seek reappointment.

Coyne has been CEO of Employees Mutual Limited for the past seven years and previously spent seven years as an executive for Suncorp.

Beattie said Coyne's experience as a player and business leader would be invaluable to the ARL.

Beattie has also been endorsed as chairman for a further 12 months while Gary Weiss and Wayne Pearce will be reappointed to the Commission when their terms expire in February.

"Wayne's detailed knowledge and experience in the game is invaluable and Gary's business skills are crucial to the investment strategy being developed," Beattie said.

"The Commission is working well. Bringing Peter Vlandys and Amanda Laing onto the Commission earlier this year was the right decision and added to the already strong skills base of the existing Commissioners; Tony McGrath, Professor Megan Davis, Wayne, Gary and Chris Sarra."

The Chair is elected annually at the first ARLC meeting after the AGM in February.

Beattie, who is in his first year as ARLC chair, said recently that V'landys, Laing or a third incoming commissioner, who has now been confirmed as Coyne, were "potential future chairs" when he stands down from the role.

https://www.nrl.com/news/2018/11/01/dragons-legend-mark-coyne-to-join-arl-commission/

Drakon

Dragons seal deals for Allgood, Timm, Lomax
Author
Dragons.com.audragons.com.au
Timestamp
Fri 2 Nov 2018, 11:39 AM
Share on social media
The St George Illawarra Dragons today announce that front-rower Mitch Allgood has re-signed with the Dragons for one season.

The off-contract Allgood will now remain at the Club at least until the end of the 2019 NRL Telstra Premiership Season.

While the 29-year-old Allgood never featured in the top grade in 2018, he proved a valuable asset to the entire first grade playing squad and was duly awarded the Instrust Super Premiership Coach’s Award at the end of season awards evening.
Mitch Allgood awarded ISP Dragons Coach's Award

The Brothers Penrith junior has played 70 NRL games to date in previous seasons at the Parramatta Eels. Allgood also played 38 Super League games with Hull KR and Wakefield prior to joining the Dragons last season.

“We are really pleased that Mitch chose to stay on for another season he is extremely well respected by the staff and playing group,” said Dragons’ Director Rugby League Pathways and List Management Ian Millward.

“We offered him another contract because of his experience and his eagerness and ability to help with our culture and the development of young players.

“He was close to playing first grade last season, missing out only due to injury when the opportunity arose. We expect numerous players to be called upon for Origin next year, so he will be a key player underpinning our front row stocks for this time."

The Dragons have also announced the signing of Melbourne Storm prop Lachlan Timm on a one-year deal.

Timm, who is yet to make his NRL debut, has plied his trade with the Intrust Super Cup outfit Sunshine Coast Falcons over the past two seasons.

The Maroochydore Swans Junior averaged 140.1 metres and 24.1 tackles in his 20 games for the Falcons in 2018.

The Dragons Squad for 2019 has two places left on the roster to fill.

“Like numerous Clubs, we are still in the market, we have two places left in our roster,” said Millward. “We are looking for an outside back and we will continue to monitor the market.”

“For the second spot we are prepared to wait and see what circumstances arise during the season.”

The Dragons have completed their 2019 development players squad following the re-signing of Jersey Flegg utility Hayden Lomax.

Lomax has played 35 Under-20 games to date and joins Steven Masters, Jackson Ford, Joe Lovodua, Eddie Blacker and Jason Saab as the Dragons 2019 development players.

https://www.nrl.com/news/2018/11/02...r-mitchell-allgood-lachlan-timm-hayden-lomax/

Old Kogarah Boy 1

• Local Sport

• Finally, after 18 years as boss, Peter Doust finally shuffled out of his office for the last time yesterday.

The St George Illawarra CEO, the longest serving club boss in the NRL, had his final official day at the Dragons yesterday.

Doust oversaw the early days of the fledgling club after the merger of the St George Dragons and Illawarra Steelers, with the joint venture club winning one premiership in his almost 20-year tenure.

Doust has been one of the most polarising figures in rugby league. His retirement will likely be welcomed by sections of the club’s fan base who have long called for his resignation, with the infamous “oust Doust” banners once conspicuous on the hill at Jubilee Oval.

One of Doust’s greatest achievements was attracting legendary coach Wayne Bennett to the club in 2009, with Bennett going on to end St George’s 31-year wait for a premiership a year later.

He also oversaw the protracted deal for WIN Corporation to partially privatise the club, potentially securing their long-term financial future.

Georges River Council mayor Kevin Greene paid tribute to Doust at a council meeting on Monday night.

“Perhaps the best tribute to Peter’s success in the role is that he is by far the longest serving CEO amongst the 16 NRL clubs. Peter’s passion for the game and particularly the Dragons I’m certain started at birth as his father Laurie was a long-term St George rugby league official,” Greene said.

“Peter has never shirked a challenge and while the 2010 premiership success is undoubtedly the highlight of his resume I think it is fair to say his maintenance of the Dragons as a consistently successful football team in a tough, competitive environment is a more long-term tribute.

“Former Kogarah councillors will recognise that many of the major infrastructure improvements at Jubilee Stadium were the result of Peter’s negotiation of Federal and State Government funding. His doggedness is well-known.

“I’m sure all councillors will join with me in thanking Peter for his service to our district and wish him well in retirement.”
https://www.theleader.com.au/story/5731080/doust-finally-calls-it-a-day/?cs=1633

Goodbye, get f--ked and shut the door when you leave.

getsmarty

allgoodm-1850621rc.jpg

DRAGONS

Dragons re-sign Allgood, sign two more
Author
Dragons.com.au dragons.com.au
Timestamp
Fri 2 Nov 2018, 11:39 AM

The St George Illawarra Dragons today announce that front-rower Mitch Allgood has re-signed with the Dragons for one season.

The off-contract Allgood will now remain at the Club at least until the end of the 2019 NRL Telstra Premiership Season.

While the 29-year-old Allgood never featured in the top grade in 2018, he proved a valuable asset to the entire first grade playing squad and was duly awarded the Instrust Super Premiership Coach’s Award at the end of season awards evening.

Mitch Allgood awarded ISP Dragons Coach's Award

The Brothers Penrith junior has played 70 NRL games to date in previous seasons at the Parramatta Eels. Allgood also played 38 Super League games with Hull KR and Wakefield prior to joining the Dragons last season.

“We are really pleased that Mitch chose to stay on for another season he is extremely well respected by the staff and playing group,” said Dragons’ Director Rugby League Pathways and List Management Ian Millward.

“We offered him another contract because of his experience and his eagerness and ability to help with our culture and the development of young players.

“He was close to playing first grade last season, missing out only due to injury when the opportunity arose. We expect numerous players to be called upon for Origin next year, so he will be a key player underpinning our front row stocks for this time."

The Dragons have also announced the signing of Melbourne Storm prop Lachlan Timm on a one-year deal.

Timm, who is yet to make his NRL debut, has plied his trade with the Intrust Super Cup outfit Sunshine Coast Falcons over the past two seasons.

The Maroochydore Swans Junior averaged 140.1 metres and 24.1 tackles in his 20 games for the Falcons in 2018.

The Dragons Squad for 2019 has two places left on the roster to fill.

“Like numerous Clubs, we are still in the market, we have two places left in our roster,” said Millward. “We are looking for an outside back and we will continue to monitor the market.”

“For the second spot we are prepared to wait and see what circumstances arise during the season.”

The Dragons have completed their 2019 development players squad following the re-signing of Jersey Flegg utility Hayden Lomax.

Lomax has played 35 Under-20 games to date and joins Steven Masters, Jackson Ford, Joe Lovodua, Eddie Blacker and Jason Saab as the Dragons 2019 development players.

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/2018/11/02/dragons-re-sign-allgood-sign-two-more/

BLM01

• Local Sport

Of course The Leader would say that and a local councillor, what about his lack of forseight, planning and money wasting failures at the Dragons since not giving Bennett the 5 year deal he seeked..and he stayed so long in the top job, cause how could of he been and other boar members out. Even if you became a St George League club member, you had to go through a time qualifying period and converluted system to even get to a point of voting on the rugby league board and it's members indirectly through their AGM's. It was set up and designed so you could not vote them out..