Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Australia are the problem in international rugby league

Stallion

Let's enjoy the tournament for what it is. At least their is more publicity this time around than in 2008! Quite a few nations a bringing over domestic players. The USA an interesting case. Its apparent that the game has made progress in the USA and all power to these pioneers. Hope all nations are enthusiastically embraced as we should be aware that these developing rugby league playing nations face obstacles far more limiting and debilitating than are faced in Australia.

ParraEelsNRL

RL without Australia playing would be just like brewing a beer and forgetting to put the sugar in, no thanks.

Australias problem is its arrogance and neglect towards the international game, not its dominance of it.
If they won every game but gave back in a healthy way I would be a proud fan but that simply doesn't happen.

hutch

There isn't much interest in international basket ball.

It's more a domestic competition.

They should make usa also have an all white team.

They would come last.

USA should be called Africa and then I would support them.

This is one of the dumbest things I’ve read.

LeagueXIII

Forget Australia, there are plenty of other games to look forward to.

I'm keen on seeing PNGv Wales, NZ v Tonga, France v Lebanon etc etc

Plenty to enjoy.

Enjoy the sport and take the focus off Australia's dominance.

Don't hear the media whinge how dominant the Australian netball team is during their world championships.

King hit

The problem is lack of money and professional domestic competitions. Blaming it on one nation because they are so dominate is wrong. Don't here rugby complaining about the All Blacks.

People lose interest because the lack of international footy....not the big score lines.

Over the last couple of years there have been some people even New Zealand legends saying that their dominance is not healthy and they need some competition. They were vocal about it last year as the All Blacks apart from their game in Chicago steamrolled everything in it's path but this year with the drawn Lions series and they got beaten last night and almost lost to South Africa it's been a lot more competitive and not much has been said.

ouryear

This is one of the dumbest things I’ve read.
Mate, it's true...the Olympics is the only international basket ball.

You saying developing league countries should develop their players more is almost racist.

They do develop many many players without frigging much money to do it with......budgets of 100k a year....not $150 million like Australia.

100k mate.....less money to develop every player than what we spend on lunches for league bosses.

So wake up....your post is ridiculous.

And yes, any player with the heritage of these Pacific and other developing countries MUST be able to be chosen for their country of heritage first.

Elitism is your badge of honour?

siv

The problem is lack of money and professional domestic competitions. Blaming it on one nation because they are so dominate is wrong. Don't here rugby complaining about the All Blacks.

People lose interest because the lack of international footy....not the big score lines.

As a aside how International RU matches actually occur in a calender year ?

Golden point

Of course it could happen, but England could beat Australia. Neither are that likely I don’t think. I look forward to watching the teams try though.
I genuinely think that England is the dark horse. If widop and gale click it's on! Also benet is saying all the right things.. like he just thinks they will be competitive... that is the perfect motivation.
England have always been good, it's just silly errors and penalties at critical moments. Expect that to be a significant improvement under benet. They will be beat game 1 but win the final.

Golden point

If you take Australia out of this World Cup it would be a very competitive tournament.when Australia flog another country it sets the international game back and people lose interest.

The best international series I can remember was the 1990 ashes in England against Great Britain.

All three games went down to the wire Great Britain was very competitive and Australia only just won the series 2-1.

It would be great if France could rise to the top again apparently they were outstanding in the 50’s60’s and 70’s.

After they defeated Australia 2-1 in the 60’s the French put on a parade back home and 150 thousand people celebrated the winning team!
I agree. I'm an Aussie but every win is a kick in the teeth to the international game. But it is working through ok , others are catching up. Which is better than Australia dropping down.

ULYSSES

Siv,
How many Rugby Union tests in a calendar year. I have no idea, but it must be a lot as according to World Rugby there will be 76 tests in November. That gives us some idea of what to aim for.

hutch

Mate, it's true...the Olympics is the only international basket ball.

You saying developing league countries should develop their players more is almost racist.

I never said that you muppet and if I did it has nothing to do with racism and everything to do with growing rugby league around the world.

They do develop many many players without frigging much money to do it with......budgets of 100k a year....not $150 million like Australia.

100k mate.....less money to develop every player than what we spend on lunches for league bosses.

So wake up....your post is ridiculous.

And yes, any player with the heritage of these Pacific and other developing countries MUST be able to be chosen for their country of heritage first.

I can’t believe I’m actually replying to this stupidity but anyway.

There has never been a rugby league junior developed in Samoa and Tonga make it to the nrl and only a small handful from png and Fiji. This is a blight on our sport. Players who have heritage from the pacific islands have every right to represent their island heritage or country of their birth. Nobody has the right to force them as you say. It should be a fairer choice in regards to compensation ($) and a regular test schedule.

Elitism is your badge of honour?

Elitism? P*ss off fool. I was originally referring to your ridiculous claim that the USA basketball team should be made up of white players and that they would come last for some reason, and the black players should play for a team, not a nation called Africa. Are you saying that African Americans shouldn’t represent their country? None of this has anything to do with rugby league and I am now dumber for discussing it.

ouryear

I never said that you muppet and if I did it has nothing to do with racism and everything to do with growing rugby league around the world.

I can’t believe I’m actually replying to this stupidity but anyway.

There has never been a rugby league junior developed in Samoa and Tonga make it to the nrl and only a small handful from png and Fiji. This is a blight on our sport. Players who have heritage from the pacific islands have every right to represent their island heritage or country of their birth. Nobody has the right to force them as you say. It should be a fairer choice in regards to compensation ($) and a regular test schedule.

Elitism? P*ss off fool. I was originally referring to your ridiculous claim that the USA basketball team should be made up of white players and that they would come last for some reason, and the black players should play for a team, not a nation called Africa. Are you saying that African Americans shouldn’t represent their country? None of this has anything to do with rugby league and I am now dumber for discussing it.

Wow.....so uptight about a different point of view.

Not used to it?

And yes......you are mad for debating this!

hutch

Wow.....so uptight about a different point of view.

Not used to it?

And yes......you are mad for debating this!

I don’t know what you’re different point of view is? Teams decided by skin colour?

titoelcolombiano

There isn't much interest in international basket ball.

It's more a domestic competition.

They should make usa also have an all white team.

They would come last.

USA should be called Africa and then I would support them.

There is quite a bit of interest in international basketball. I would love RL to have a World Cup (Championship in Bball) with as many viewers, spectators, sponsors and participation as FIBA have. It is also an Olympic sport.

My point though is that the popularity of the FIBA world championship is not affected one bit by the utter domination of team USA - I think they've lost twice... ever

giboz71

There is quite a bit of interest in international basketball. I would love RL to have a World Cup (Championship in Bball) with as many viewers, spectators, sponsors and participation as FIBA have. It is also an Olympic sport.

My point though is that the popularity of the FIBA world championship is not affected one bit by the utter domination of team USA - I think they've lost twice... ever

I watched some of the Asian Cup that took place in Lebanon a couple of months ago that Australia won. That tournament went off - the game between Lebanon and the Philippines was crazy with the fans from both sides absolutely going bananas, the atmosphere would have been terrific.

Was full houses every night, so don't know where the notion comes from there is no interest in international basketball?

kiwileaguefan

Australias recent results against tier two nations:
2016 vs Scotland 54-12
2014 vs Samoa 44-18
2013 vs Fiji 64-0, USA 62-0, Ireland 50-0, Fiji 34-2
2011 vs Wales 56-14
2010 vs PNG 42-0
2009 vs France 42-4
2008 vs Fiji 52-0, PNG 46-6
2005 vs France 44-12
2004 vs USA 36-24, France 52-30
2003 vs Wales 76-4
2001 vs PNG 54-12
2000 vs Wales 46-22, Samoa 66-10, Russia 110-4, Fiji 66-8, PNG 82-0

So based on the last 17 years results you could argue that the gap is getting closer? Would be interesting to compare these results with Australia in Netball, All Blacks in Rugby, USA in Basket Ball, Aussie in ODI Cricket etc

papabear

Australias problem is its arrogance and neglect towards the international game, not its dominance of it.
If they won every game but gave back in a healthy way I would be a proud fan but that simply doesn't happen.
Whilst I understand your sentiment.

Can you not see the Chooks are like this but even worse, they dont even dominate like Australia do.

Whilst I understand your sentiment.

Can you not see the Chooks are like this but even worse, they dont even dominate like Australia do.

Not even close

Kangaroos and Australia - refuse to play lesser nations, take years off because influential players don't feel like playing, poach players from tiny nations, Australian clubs refuse to allow rep service and reluctant to participate in games with SL teams

Roosters - play games in Gosford, Adelaide, and England, healthy attitude to rep football, develop players from all over

papabear

Not even close

Kangaroos and Australia - refuse to play lesser nations, take years off because influential players don't feel like playing, poach players from tiny nations, Australian clubs refuse to allow rep service and reluctant to participate in games with SL teams

Roosters - play games in Gosford, Adelaide, and England, healthy attitude to rep football, develop players from all over
Australia play games far further abroad then Gosford / Adelaide and England for a lot less profit then what the roosters take from those games.

The roosters have no juniors, do no development. The only development they help in is the central coast, by way of parking there players there who arent good enough for first grade. Any talent in their squad inevitably does not come from ESDJRL, in fact very little talent in the League comes from ESDJRL.

Is there even an ESDJRL.

That said I agree that ARL and the NRL could do a lot more for the game internationally then they do, I still think they are streets ahead of the roosters who are by a long margin do the absolute least and most of the blood suck from Rugby League then any organisation. Rest assured I am not a souths fan and considering how little time I have for Manly that is an impressive place to be from the Roosters, but at the very least Manly runs a semi decent Junior Rugby League competition.