Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Australian Team

Adam Reynolds, McLean or any of the utility players?
Was it Gould who said Reynolds had the best short kicking game in the comp. Keary has staked a late claim for the half spot after his performance tonite.. Jake Friend is my bench utility .

TheFrog

Was it Gould who said Reynolds had the best short kicking game in the comp. Keary has staked a late claim for the half spot after his performance tonite.. Jake Friend clinches the bench utility spot.
Getting a bit over-excited here. Friend is a hooker, not a bench utility. Aubusson is more the bench utility type but its a bit late in the day for him.

Yes. Reckon Friend could do the job in any case. Ben Hunt is a half yet there were some pundits putting him in the utility role. So is Friend any chance of getting the hooker nod? He gets my vote. Has been strong all year.. for a number of years in fact.

Was that the game in Brisbane and didn’t the kiwis win??

Yeah one of them was in Brisbane, one in Sydney. We lost those 2 games. We won the first game in Melbourne though, but Dave Watson was in the centres with McCracken and Blackmore on the wing. Iro came in for the 2nd and 3rd tests. Watson switched to 5/8. The Sydney game is where Peter Jackson got sent off for king hitting Dave Watson (after he done a high shot on Wishart). Jacko ran in and king hit Watson. Then McCracken ran in and started punching Jacko. I remember the commentary team going off at McCracken's send off....like wtf was he supposed to do, not fight and defend his mate? LOL

Explains it.

How? You don't think having all those big comeback wins were lucky? Some of the refereeing decisions during the momentum of those late finishes were atrocious. Mansour's try vs the Raiders for eg

I predict next year you won't be so lucky, and you'll have a season similar to the one when Ivan got the arse.

BTW it's just our luck that our Dally M winner can't play. This comes after our last Dally M winner didn't like the coach and left.

mxlegend99

Would love to see Keary get an Australian jersey. He is playing terrific footy. Just keep him away from Origin.

This is officially the squad -

Regan Campbell-Gillard
Daly Cherry-Evans
Damien Cook
Boyd Cordner
Tyson Frizell
Valentine Holmes
Ben Hunt
Greg Inglis (c)
Felise Kaufusi
David Klemmer
Josh McGuire
Jordan McLean
Latrell Mitchell
Cameron Munster
Tyrone Peachey
James Tedesco
Jake Trbojevic
Tom Trbojevic
Aaron Woods.

Source: https://www.nrl.com/news/2018/10/01/greg-inglis-to-lead-new-look-kangaroos-squad/

Greg Inglis to be captain.

Press conference being carried live on Fox Sports News right now. Mal Meninga has said Tedesco will be at fullback. Think he said Keary is a shadow player in case Munster gets suspended.

Makes you wonder how the hell Peachey gets in that squad though.

King hit

Peachey is in for utility value and that he can cover centre, halves, second row etc. Same reason Gidley played 12 tests.

Springs09

This is officially the squad -

Regan Campbell-Gillard
Daly Cherry-Evans
Damien Cook
Boyd Cordner
Tyson Frizell
Valentine Holmes
Ben Hunt
Greg Inglis (c)
Felise Kaufusi
David Klemmer
Josh McGuire
Jordan McLean
Latrell Mitchell
Cameron Munster
Tyrone Peachey
James Tedesco
Jake Trbojevic
Tom Trbojevic
Aaron Woods.

Source: https://www.nrl.com/news/2018/10/01/greg-inglis-to-lead-new-look-kangaroos-squad/

Greg Inglis to be captain.

Press conference being carried live on Fox Sports News right now. Mal Meninga has said Tedesco will be at fullback. Think he said Keary is a shadow player in case Munster gets suspended.

Makes you wonder how the hell Peachey gets in that squad though.

There's only 19 in the squad, why not just put Keary in?

Hunt over Maloney is strange, as is Woods, Kaufusi, Peachey over Crichton, de Belin, Papalii and Ponga.

1. James Tedesco
2. Tom Trbojevic
3. Latrell Mitchell
4. Greg Inglis
5. Valentine Holmes
6. Ben Hunt/Luke Keary
7. Daly Cherry-Evans
8. Reagan Campbell-Gillard
9. Damien Cook
10. David Klemmer
11. Tyson Frizell
12. Boyd Cordner
13. Jake Trbojevic

14. Ben Hunt/Tyrone Peachey
15. Jordan McLean
16. Josh McGuire
17. Felise Kaufusi

18. Aaron Woods

skeepe

Woods over Papalii, do me a favour. Woods has been woeful this year.

What an uninspiring Australian team.

Last Week

Interesting that Inglis is captain over Cordner. Both equally good choices but I'd like to see the logic in it.

I wonder if these games will count to Munsters suspension. This has a familiar feel about it.

Springs09

New Zealand squad
Leeson Ah Mau, Gerard Beale, Adam Blair, Jesse Bromwich, Kenneath Bromwich, James Fisher-Harris, Corey Harawira-Naera, Jahrome Hughes, Jamayne Isaako, Shaun Johnson, Issac Liu, Joseph Manu, Esan Marsters, Ken Maumalo, Kodi Nikorima, Isaiah Papali'i, Kevin Proctor, Jordan Rapana, Brandon Smith, Joseph Tapine, Martin Taupau, Jared Waerea-Hargreaves, Dallin Watene-Zelezniak.

https://www.nrl.com/news/2018/10/01/five-debutants-in-new-zealand-kiwis-squad/