Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Baileys Comments

Fines will not work.
it 's like this. your boss sends you out to pick up a car. He gives you information & tools & gives you the location of the car. Upon breaking into the car you make a noise & get pinged for breaking & entering.
Who's at fault? the boss? The cops? The employee?

Remember its these guys job to go out there & bhreak the rules. Every club does. If you don't break the rules, you may as well just concede & not play because you will give away too much advantage.

e.g
Rogers: Ok Stevo, Nutts & bailey. you've all been fined 6k each for penalties.
Nutts: But god, thats my job. I got this dirty job to do that the other guys don't & I because I make a mistake, I get fined.
bails: Yeah same here
Stevo: Me too
Rogers: bad luck, cough up.

Nutts: hey guys, farged if i'm gonna make a contest of the play the balls anymore if risking my pay packet.
Stevo: Me too
Bails: me three

p.s. shutup McSharkie

Aries

bubs said "stupity penalties"...

There is a difference reefy, and bubs explained some examples of them. There are others also.

All clubs push the 10mtrs as far as they can, try to strip as much as they can and hold down players for as long as they can. When that limit is found, they back off. We don't seem to. We then abuse the reff and cop more penalties, thats a stupid penalty. We get frustrated and do stupid strips and flops and even knees to the head...

and bubs, it should be $2000 mate, not $200... that might hurt them cause they would stick more than $200 through the pokies or on the horses or out on the town in a night!!

eg: Bailey gave away 8 penalties against Manly... I reckon he would miss THAT $16,000 ;-)

& we would then miss him at the club, because they would all tell the club to f**k off.
Fines are useless except for chipping in for drinks of end of season trips.
Nutley makes 40 tackles a game, Reick makes 5. so we fine Nuttley because of a few "technique" errors whilst Reicky goes to the bank?
Sorry , fines are ridiculous. If it really is that big a deal, then drop the player. Thats it.

Aries

blacktip-reefy said:
If it really is that big a deal, then drop the player. Thats it.

Then they will "f**k off" or ask for a release anyway...

and Nutleys 40 tackles could be undone in giving away field position with "Stupid penalties" and tries, then we lose anyway.

btw, Nuts is yet to get close to 40 tackles this year... given plenty of "stupid penalties" away though...

If the fine system could be implemented for onfield discretions, they would.
But contract are written so that they can't.
Players can only be fined for indescretions stipulated in the contract.
So yeah I reckon BK & Nigel have in their contracts that the club can fine them for penalties, missed tackles, bombed tries, knockons, poor kicks, dirty kit, etc etc etc

Aries

blacktip-reefy said:
If the fine system could be implemented for onfield discretions, they would.
But contract are written so that they can't.
Players can only be fined for indescretions stipulated in the contract.
So yeah I reckon BK & Nigel have in their contracts that the club can fine them for penalties, missed tackles, bombed tries, knockons, poor kicks, dirty kit, etc etc etc

I was going to mention that, but I love debating you so much reefy, I was waiting till someone else brought it up... :lol:

I'm sure you will find that they have to adhere to certain rules of the club also. Those contracts aren't all oneway reefy. That's why players get fined by clubs for doing dumb things, Like Bird will probably be... A smart lawyer could us that loop hole to apply in this case. ;-)