Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Bathurst thread

Kiwi

Agent Mulder said:
Murphy is a BIG CAT, He got the sh*ts cuz the Might of Ambrose took over him, Isn't that 1st victory for Holden this year? What a sh*tbox, Go You Mighty Fords, It was clearly Murphy's fault, What an Asshole.

Todd Kelly has won 3 rounds this year I think, the rest are mainly fords though. Abrose has round wins, Ingall does, Lowndes has 3 I think.

rules of racing: you can't take someones line when you are passing them and have not fully cleared them.

the helicopter view clearly shows ambrose taking the line of murphy when he hadn't cleared him yet.

Kiwi

douglasallen91 said:
rules of racing: you can't take someones line when you are passing them and have not fully cleared them.

the helicopter view clearly shows ambrose taking the line of murphy when he hadn't cleared him yet.

Bollucks, what replay were you watching, Ambrose left Murphy a heap of room, Ambrose had to turn it was a bloody corner. Murphy went straight into him even though Marcus had left him enough room to go around the corner side by side.

Chook

Greg Murphy is a f**king cat!!! A dirty whining whinging hypocritical cat. He took Ambrose out plain and simple. When 3/4 of you car is in front, the other driver must conceed the corner and Murphy hit Ambrose in the back quarter panel. Murphy's fault 100%!!!!

And the balaclava fiasco is yet another way that Avesco and the stewards "allow" holden to win one. It's a f**king debarcle!!! If I was Ambrose I would be sreaming from the highest top about the inconsistency and absolute sham those stop go penalties for SBR were. Did anyone else notice how many other teams drivers got out of their cars helmets on and proceeded straight out the back of the pits...only to reappear "with" their balaclava? A f**king sham!!!

Chook.

Kiwi said:
Bollucks, what replay were you watching, Ambrose left Murphy a heap of room, Ambrose had to turn it was a bloody corner. Murphy went straight into him even though Marcus had left him enough room to go around the corner side by side.

replay on the news last night their was way more room on ambrose right that he could have gone around the corner easily but ambrose was hoping that murphy would back off which he didn't.

douglasallen91 said:
replay on the news last night their was way more room on ambrose right that he could have gone around the corner easily but ambrose was hoping that murphy would back off which he didn't.

Murphy is supposed to give Ambrose racing room and didn't - if you've never been to Bathurst I suggest a trip is in order to have a drive through the corner they were about to. Had Ambrose moved out he would have been in the wall.....

Kiwi

The Colonel said:
Murphy is supposed to give Ambrose racing room and didn't - if you've never been to Bathurst I suggest a trip is in order to have a drive through the corner they were about to. Had Ambrose moved out he would have been in the wall.....

Yup absolutely right. Murphy had room, but decided to punt Ambrose off instead, I bet he didn't count on taking himself out as well.

All Murphy had to do was take the corner with room he had and all would have been fine, Ambrose pasted him fair and square, Murphy must not have like being nailed around the outside.

Kiwi

An interesting thought ...

If Murphy had not have taken himself out, would he have recieved a drive through for it if the stewards were actually doing their job, the answer ...YES.

jed

The Colonel said:
if you've never been to Bathurst I suggest a trip is in order to have a drive through the corner they were about to. Had Ambrose moved out he would have been in the wall.....
That's a very good point. As far as uphill corners go, that's one of the most exciting to drive. Going downhill, the dipper is breathtaking, especially if you slightly ;-) go over the speed limit.

Kiwi

Larkham has pointed the finger at Muphy now as well. He isn't to happy about having to rebuild a car because of it, and he blames Murphy.

jed

Larkham's a Ford man... he's hardly going to turn around and say "the Ford driver was in the wrong, Holden was innocent"

Kiwi

He may be a Ford man, but both Ambrose and Murphy both compete against him. He blamed driver not car.

And Ford man or not, he is 100% correct. Murphy had lost the position, he had to make a choice, go around the corner conceeding the position ( which he should have done ) or cause an accicdent ( which he did ). Murphy has been very anti Ambrose for a while now, you can bet if it was any other driver in the field over taking him he would not have done what he did and he would have conceeded the position like he should have.

It was very stupid on Murphy's part, took himself out which he deserved but probably did not expect, and with that many cars slamming into each other, it's very lucky it wasn't worse and someone seriously hurt.

Y2Eel

Kiwi said:
He may be a Ford man, but both Ambrose and Murphy both compete against him. He blamed driver not car.

And Ford man or not, he is 100% correct. Murphy had lost the position, he had to make a choice, go around the corner conceeding the position ( which he should have done ) or cause an accicdent ( which he did ). Murphy has been very anti Ambrose for a while now, you can bet if it was any other driver in the field over taking him he would not have done what he did and he would have conceeded the position like he should have.

It was very stupid on Murphy's part, took himself out which he deserved but probably did not expect, and with that many cars slamming into each other, it's very lucky it wasn't worse and someone seriously hurt.

It one of those things where neither driver will say its there fault and will go down a s another racing incident like the Skaif Ingall bingle in 03..

Both drivers where in the wrong they were racing for position.
Also it will only intensify the rivalry between ford and holden.. which is good for the sport...

jed

Kiwi said:

My point was that where a 3rd-party speaks out to lay blame in a Ford vs Holden situation, they'll almost always lay the blame along badge lines.

On a different incident, did anyone see the new footage of the Lowndes window being smashed, looking out of the window. At the speed it hit, I'd have been sh*tting myself in his position.

aussies1st

It just wasn't Lowndes day. He had the quickest car on the day but bad luck followed him. The smashed wind screen top it off. Seems to be a trend happening after last year they had a Roo smash the wind screen.

Y2Eel

aussies1st said:
It just wasn't Lowndes day. He had the quickest car on the day but bad luck followed him. The smashed wind screen top it off. Seems to be a trend happening after last year they had a Roo smash the wind screen.

The roo was on the same part of the track on the climb up the mountain.. it was Steven Richards i think.

The Colonel said:

haha murphy couldn't keep going to the left cause ambrose took HIS room. in hindsight he should have bowed down to ambrose and in hindsight ambrose should have gave murphy room as he had not completed the pass.

hrundi99

douglasallen91 said:
haha murphy couldn't keep going to the left cause ambrose took HIS room. in hindsight he should have bowed down to ambrose and in hindsight ambrose should have gave murphy room as he had not completed the pass.

Mate you know nothing about the official or the "gentleman's" rules of motor racing.

As someone who has raced sprint karts and is from a family of generations of motor racing competitors, officials and enthusiasts, I can tell you that Murphy was well and truly in the wrong.

For a start, Murphy screwed up the previous corner, and Ambrose rightly overtook him, with the intention of claiming the next corner. There was no way that Murphy could challenge for the next corner without planting his foot, late braking, and ultimately not making it around the corner.

With that in mind, Ambrose had every right to believe it was his corner, and drive accordingly. He had given Murphy plenty of room by taking the wider racing line even earlier than normal. Instead of easing off slightly and hugging Ambrose's tail, Murphy let the red mist descend and basically just drove into him.

He should have been fined, as it was clear that it was his fault. Racing accident? I don't think so.

...and I'm a Holden man.

Kiwi

hrundi99 said:
Mate you know nothing about the official or the "gentleman's" rules of motor racing.

As someone who has raced sprint karts and is from a family of generations of motor racing competitors, officials and enthusiasts, I can tell you that Murphy was well and truly in the wrong.

For a start, Murphy screwed up the previous corner, and Ambrose rightly overtook him, with the intention of claiming the next corner. There was no way that Murphy could challenge for the next corner without planting his foot, late braking, and ultimately not making it around the corner.

With that in mind, Ambrose had every right to believe it was his corner, and drive accordingly. He had given Murphy plenty of room by taking the wider racing line even earlier than normal. Instead of easing off slightly and hugging Ambrose's tail, Murphy let the red mist descend and basically just drove into him.

He should have been fined, as it was clear that it was his fault. Racing accident? I don't think so.

...and I'm a Holden man.

:clap:

A Holden fan that actually saw it with his red goggles off. Well done and well said.

As a Ford man it's not the lack of winning at Bathurst that sh*ts me, it's what happens when he have a strong car there. How many times in the last few years not counting this one has Bowe and Jones been punted off when in very strong positons? Add Ambrose this year and not one has been punished, and all have been punted off by Holden drivers. Lowndes was unlucky, Ambrose was royaly screwed over by the officials then Murphy.