Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Beer Thread

Red Bear

As an old Reschs drinker, I have to agree. Gutted I can't get the draught variety round these parts.
Still see Reschs around the place quite a bit, especially in Sydney but also around here a bit.

Prefer it on tap to carlton/new.

Prefer New to Carlton though. But don't really drink either, tend to rotate between Coopers and Tooheys Old at the pub.

Beeker

For anyone in Yunnan, China, a trip to the Bad Monkey bar in Dali is a must!
British owned, they use local water and import the rest to make the best microbrew I've had in Asia (which really isn't saying much).
If you can't find Bad Monkey, I recommend drinking Beer Lao... the best major beer in SouthEast Asia.

veggiepatch1959

A good mate of mine is spewing at Carlton for changing its Carlton Cold formula. In addition, they have done a sneaky and dropped the volume of a stubbie from 375mL to 355mL.

I've had the occasional old style Carlton Cold at his place and it wasn't too bad.

Today our local watering hole ran out of the old style stubbies so he tried the new style. Well he nearly vomited in the garden. I had a sip and I must admit I've never tasted a more poxy beer in my life!

Carlton Cold to me has always been rubbish, don't know how anyone can stomach it.

When they first launched it, it had a heap of promotion and was seen as a "cleaner" style beer for those who didn't like full flavour styles like VB or Carlton Draught, but was still a full strength beer at 4.6% abv. They stopped backing it as hard when Pure Blonde hit the market back in 2005. Then they got cheeky, and told everyone the price of Cold would actually be getting cheaper, but to do this they cut out 0.6% of the alcohol content. They even dropped the Carlton name from it in the end.

The fact they relaunched it surprised me, and as a midstrength even more so. I can't see it doing a lot for them as a brand.

Our rep basically said Cold was a dead brand for them. It costs more than VB, Melbourne or Carlton to make and they sell f**k all of it. So it was the one they decided to change. They pretty much said (and I'm paraphrasing but this is actually what he said) f**k Cold drinkers, if they drink Cold it won't be hard to get them to drink something better because everything is better. They wanted another midstrength given the massive market for them and apparently it cost them the same or less to re-label the brand and change the ABV than it would to continue making Cold.

Personally I tried the new one and while it's still absolute filth it's ten times the beer the old one was.

I loved the old cold :lol: ten bucks cheaper then everything else was too good to pass up.

How about you love sending my PM :fist: :p

I drank Cold as a kid but once it went over $35 a case it was no longer cheap enough to make up for the taste

veggiepatch1959

I went into a website called beeradvocate.com this morning.

Checked out various beers I have drunk over the years and have come to one conclusion.

The people who post reviews on this website are nothing but a bunch of wad tossing beer snobs. Then again it is based in USA. :lol:

Wow...."it has nice lacing head with a scent of hops that finish with a hint of wheat and pale malt at the finish".

Honestly, its just a beer.....drink the f**king thing and stop shooting your load over the pretty label!

Nothing wrong with proper beer tasting and whatnot. But sites like that are full of wankers all the same

Red Bear

Nothing wrong with proper beer tasting and whatnot. But sites like that are full of wankers all the same
Yeah, they've given poor reviews to my favourite drinks.

Mind you American beer is, on the whole, a fair bit stronger than over here, so probably influences what they like.

It's more that they all turn in to toffs and only like the hoppiest, most special beers and see no place for anything else. You read some reviews and you're like wtf are you on?

MKEB...

Stoke bomber oatmeal stout...yeah nah, to much like those home baked biscuits that your old lady made...and that you hated

Blue Moon Wheat Beer. Coca-Cola's re-entry into the beer market alongside Coors, this is one of three (?) offerings from the USA alongside Coors and Samuel Adams.

As a beer, it's okay. Rather bland for a Belgian wheat style, but very approachable for anyone who's not a fan of beers like Hoegaarden. Price ($19.99) is a bit exey though...