Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Ben Hunt

Old Kogarah Boy 1

Just watched the replay, sober this time.

His kicking game was brilliant. One kick that gave them 7. Took kick offs despite the crowd jeering him.

I’ve been saying it all year. Class Act.

I wouldn’t swap him for any other half, except maybe Clearly.

Agree ALSGI,

Notice how he barely kicked any bombs.
Most of his kicks were from within our half and they were looooooooong.
Much better tactics than just handing over with a plop kick.

He will hit his straps next season , has now settled into the Dragons regime and I suspect shall become a more potent force compared to his up and down performances this year . Same with Matt Duffy , he along with Pierera and Pearson will form a great attacking combination for the Dragons in 2019 onwards .

nontime111

so good to see some talk about Pearson!
My best friend and fellow firsts high school footy team player is a very very close part of the Broncos...he is there at most training sessions very close to the team in no role......but he assured me, Pearson is an ace!
Hes the guy who told me the Borncs were nervous about us in the semi and he was right about that also.... watch Pearson he might even be better than Nene from what Ive heard as hes a full ball player

ouryears

so good to see some talk about Pearson!
My best friend and fellow firsts high school footy team player is a very very close part of the Broncos...he is there at most training sessions very close to the team in no role......but he assured me, Pearson is an ace!
Hes the guy who told me the Borncs were nervous about us in the semi and he was right about that also.... watch Pearson he might even be better than Nene from what Ive heard as hes a full ball player
Seems a great addition
Missed tackles zero
Average run metres 119 mts
Effective passes 29
Exciting prospect
Thursday island boy
They always do well

nontime111

Seems a great addition
Missed tackles zero
Average run metres 119 mts
Effective passes 29
Exciting prospect
Thursday island boy
They always do well
I LOVE my Broncs connection! Im from QLD and my friend is for real..chock a block just loves league and told me he should be in the team first round, mad if we dont kind of thing! possibly another Tingah, maybe....just needs a good go, I dont know for sure but he was blocked getting a go up there by 2 other really good wingers apparently I only keep up with Saints so I dont know much about them...but Im SO excited to see him in trials! could be one really positive thing for next season, he thinks hes better than Nene and tries harder, goes harder really puts in, unlike lazy ol Nene with flashes of brilliance then thats it... My friend also said he was one of THE fastest speedsters up there!! and they were all cut, all wanted to keep him hes still going on about it! we did well her i can feel it in me bones!

nontime111

also, all that week leading up to the semi against Broncs....he was shitting...telling me all the players were as nervous as theyd ever been...said we were the wildcards and they all knew we had it IN us...just need to do more of that Broncs game now in attitude EVERY game!!
I think we possibly can do it with Mary....if we just be positive and put in! really go hard each game, with lazy Nene gone theres more of a chance Id say...specially if say, Mann goes to the other wing and finds his 2016 wing form there also! or Lomax is on the other wing or given a good go at centre above Aitcant...even if they choose to still persist with him, maybe Aitken will learn to tackle...I damn well hope so!
It just pisses me of the way Mcboring just doesnt drop out of form players nor bring in IN form players! worst thing for me with him as a coach, apart from the awful bench rotation

ouryears

also, all that week leading up to the semi against Broncs....he was shitting...telling me all the players were as nervous as theyd ever been...said we were the wildcards and they all knew we had it IN us...just need to do more of that Broncs game now in attitude EVERY game!!
I think we possibly can do it with Mary....if we just be positive and put in! really go hard each game, with lazy Nene gone theres more of a chance Id say...specially if say, Mann goes to the other wing and finds his 2016 wing form there also! or Lomax is on the other wing or given a good go at centre above Aitcant...even if they choose to still persist with him, maybe Aitken will learn to tackle...I damn well hope so!
It just pisses me of the way Mcboring just doesnt drop out of form players nor bring in IN form players! worst thing for me with him as a coach, apart from the awful bench rotation
Love passionate supporters mate, we need thousands like you, wear your heart on your sleeve, same as I do. Say it as it is. Can’t wait for 2019. Got to be top 4. Here we come nontime

nontime111

Love passionate supporters mate, we need thousands like you, wear your heart on your sleeve, same as I do. Say it as it is. Can’t wait for 2019. Got to be top 4. Here we come nontime
same brother! you really give it to them! love all your posts , strait speaking is the only thing going to get us out of this.....

nontime111

I cant see why not, Specially with Dufty having a full year so will have some experience and with Lomax hopefully getting a full season, If Pearsons as good as my friend says it may just happen that our backline actually clicks into gear specially if Hunts back in form for a consistent stretch aswell, Luch also will only get better a lot of positives brother!
I think with the Storm not being half what they were our only real block will be Rorters....but we all know how much we have their measure! I say top 2 and hopefully a GF appearance.....lets see! far more excited than this time last year anyway!

nontime111

Ive been a literal Fanatic since 75! I just turned 50 and Billy Smith was my first Dragon hero because I saw an article on him in the old black and white Rugby League Weeks ( it was the article on how many broken bones hed had in his career and I just thought oh man this guys TOUGH! so inspiring!) that my Dad , who was a fitter at a sugar mill in QLD back then used to get every Friday religiously, and us 3 brothers would fight over who got it first! wed take turns reading it over a plate of fancy cereal Mum would get us to go with it each Friday afternoon as a treat.. ahh the simple joys of life back then as kids!

nontime111

My favourite Dragons seasons were 77 and 79 obviously! so young and 2 GFs in such fast succession I thought it would never end.....82 as we were on fire and almost made the GF if not for that last minute Parra try... Eric Grothe....85 oh yeah!! then Id have to say 96 as we were just written off at the start of the season so that was pretty magic specially the Semi finals run Ill never forget that...and of course 2010!
The last few years with Price then Mcfroghead have been a pretty black time for all of us Im sure, not used to going SO bad for So long... but Mcfroghead may just be one of those slow poke coaches that take a few seasons to really learn I damn well hope so! One positive about him is he has improved each season so top 8 this year maybe top 4 next time! I am so one eyed I simply get so excited about each game, each play actually.....so I cant not be positive.....I think the Price years were my worst times as a supporter and of course that black day in 99!

ouryears

Ive been a literal Fanatic since 75! I just turned 50 and Billy Smith was my first Dragon hero because I saw an article on him in the old black and white Rugby League Weeks ( it was the article on how many broken bones hed had in his career and I just thought oh man this guys TOUGH! so inspiring!) that my Dad , who was a fitter at a sugar mill in QLD back then used to get every Friday religiously, and us 3 brothers would fight over who got it first! wed take turns reading it over a plate of fancy cereal Mum would get us to go with it each Friday afternoon as a treat.. ahh the simple joys of life back then as kids!
I was in year 9 at Hurstville boys high back when Saints with Smithy and Changa would play most weeks at the SCG match of the day. I would go out every Saturday arvo with a few mates from my footy team Arncliffe Scots, cheering the side stepping freak that Changa was, such a wonderful amazing player, and his cohort in Billy a Smith, who was playing half back. Smithys combination with Changa was magic, something happened every time he touched the ball.

Heartbroken 1971 GF when as massive underdogs we got to 11/10 vs the great Rabbitoh team with 10 mins to go, final score 16/10 rabbits, but great games from our boys, massive underdogs. Then the 1975 white boots GF......

The amazing thing was just 2 years later, 1977 we turned it all around, beating eels.

Watching players like Teddy Goodwin, Smithy, Changa, Johnny King, Rasmussen, Wittenberg, Steve Edge, Stevie Morris, Johnstone, Rocket Rod Reddy.....awesome.

85, 92, 93, 96......all so close. No shame in runners up.

1999, gut wrenching, we had the purple cheaters on toast, we lost, but the better team lost that day. I don’t blame Mundine, he did what he thought was right, went hard at the line.

2019.....bring it on, the rorters are rorting......karma will get them.

nontime111

immense images you gave me there! Idang wish I could have seen the 60s boys in action...,my only regret in life! Ill probably play a game tonight in my dreams for the Red V after those amazing stories and memories! thanks so much! funny thing, I was such a huge Slippery fan even my pet chicken in about 82 was called Slippery Steve..why? I could never catch the fast little bugger!

Ted bartolo

I was in year 9 at Hurstville boys high back when Saints with Smithy and Changa would play most weeks at the SCG match of the day. I would go out every Saturday arvo with a few mates from my footy team Arncliffe Scots, cheering the side stepping freak that Changa was, such a wonderful amazing player, and his cohort in Billy a Smith, who was playing half back. Smithys combination with Changa was magic, something happened every time he touched the ball.

Heartbroken 1971 GF when as massive underdogs we got to 11/10 vs the great Rabbitoh team with 10 mins to go, final score 16/10 rabbits, but great games from our boys, massive underdogs. Then the 1975 white boots GF......

The amazing thing was just 2 years later, 1977 we turned it all around, beating eels.

Watching players like Teddy Goodwin, Smithy, Changa, Johnny King, Rasmussen, Wittenberg, Steve Edge, Stevie Morris, Johnstone, Rocket Rod Reddy.....awesome.

85, 92, 93, 96......all so close. No shame in runners up.

1999, gut wrenching, we had the purple cheaters on toast, we lost, but the better team lost that day. I don’t blame Mundine, he did what he thought was right, went hard at the line.

2019.....bring it on, the rorters are rorting......karma will get them.
still think it was a conspiracy (1999 grand final)to promote footy in Melbourne.hollywood harrigan gave a lot of dubious decisions .Bath babes was favorite grand final win

qld redvee

Ive been a fanatic since 1967 ! and Ive just turned 60 . Early memory was meeting John Raper at Kogarah in 1968 . Did a heap of match of the days at the SCG at the sheridan stand .
kogarah v souths with the record crowd and many many matches at Kogarah 77 replay was awesome to be at and then 2010 we finally broke the bloody drought. Too many memories and its great that everyone has varying memories
2019 will be an interesting year if the right players ( form) are picked but we should expect a top 4 finish to be deemed successful. Once again Ill be yelling and screaming for the mighty red and whites !!!!!!!!!!!

nontime111

Ive been a fanatic since 1967 ! and Ive just turned 60 . Early memory was meeting John Raper at Kogarah in 1968 . Did a heap of match of the days at the SCG at the sheridan stand .
kogarah v souths with the record crowd and many many matches at Kogarah 77 replay was awesome to be at and then 2010 we finally broke the bloody drought. Too many memories and its great that everyone has varying memories
2019 will be an interesting year if the right players ( form) are picked but we should expect a top 4 finish to be deemed successful. Once again Ill be yelling and screaming for the mighty red and whites !!!!!!!!!!!
woahh! massive respect!! I was almost dying of a heart attack as a 9 y.o watching that 77 GF!! oh man you must have been almost falling off your seat at the actual ground!!! most intense game Ive ever seen! When Magic Mick was lining up that kick....man I thought it was all over and when he missed!! SO sweet!! How good was Lord Ted in that game?? SO good to hear I love the ld stories! Only GF i was evert lucky enough to attend as ive never lived within rocket zone of Sydney...was 1982, it was so incredible being on the Hill , I actually wore my Dragons jersey of course, but it was a little bit cold so had a coat on over it, now the whole game I was sammiched between this HUGE 7 foot hulking lovely though, black genteman from USA, whod never even been to a game and he was so vocal, also 2 paraletic drunk, I mean not even able to hardly stand woman who this guy was hitting hard on, I was sammiched a a kid between the 3!! it was pretty damn insane....trying to see through them as I was league mad and at the game was going for Para of course! now at the end after they hammered Manly ( so good to watch those long perfect flowing sweeping epic backline moves right out to the wingers to score a lot of their tries live! Ella, Sterling, Kenny, Grothe etc...it was amazing to watch!) anyway after the presentation I stood up on something higher and proudly took off my coat as I HAD to eventually reveal my TRUE team and being at the most sacred league site of all simply HAD proclaim my DRAGON NEESS! to the mob going out....and this super drunk old man who was screaming for Parra near us the whole game came up to me and was standing there swaying back and forth pointing his fingers berating me , friendly kind of bloke nothing malicious as I was a kid...as my Dad and Brothers were cracking up. watching on..he was going mad at me as hed seen me supporting Parra pretty vocally all game.. saying over and over waht! "YOUR AN IMPOSER!! your an IMPOSER!!"

BLM01

I LOVE my Broncs connection! Im from QLD and my friend is for real..chock a block just loves league and told me he should be in the team first round, mad if we dont kind of thing! possibly another Tingah, maybe....just needs a good go, I dont know for sure but he was blocked getting a go up there by 2 other really good wingers apparently I only keep up with Saints so I dont know much about them...but Im SO excited to see him in trials! could be one really positive thing for next season, he thinks hes better than Nene and tries harder, goes harder really puts in, unlike lazy ol Nene with flashes of brilliance then thats it... My friend also said he was one of THE fastest speedsters up there!! and they were all cut, all wanted to keep him hes still going on about it! we did well her i can feel it in me bones!
Yeh but he debuted in 2015. How could he not secure a spot since then especially with their injuries in the backs and Isaako just leap frogged him. Bennett did not see much in him?.That speaks volumes but willing to give any outsider a chance at our club but we have been down that road before with Kemp (all similar features) which what worries me.