Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Benji Marshall not guilty of assault occasioning actual bodily harm

AlwaysGreen

who gives a f**k if they're pissing up at 3am ffs, they're young australian blokes. what do you expect? hypocritical wankers
I do. They should be tucked up in bed at 8pm every night and the strongest thing they are allowed to drink is milo. And they should remain virgins until their careers are over. And they should not be allowed out of their bedrooms unless to train and play. And when this occurs they should have a electronic tracking bracelet on each ankle. Any money they earn should be put into a trust account, I would give them $20 pocket money a week.

If they don't like it then send them to antartica.

Not impossible. But who in their right mind feels like a coffee at 3:20 AM?

Having a coffee at 3 AM makes about as much sense as going to the pub and having a schooner at 9 AM.

Well...if youre not on the turps, but still out late....maybe a coffee isnt so senseless

Some people do go out without drinking booze at all

Evenflow

who gives a f**k if they're pissing up at 3am ffs, they're young australian blokes. what do you expect? hypocritical wankers

That's drawing a ridiculously long bow and the circumstances couldn't be any different. I think it's fair to say none of us are elite athletes earning hundreds of thousands of dollars a year to compete at the top level in a professional sport. If i ever was which i think is fair to say will never happen i won't piss on on until the early hours of the morning a week before the season starts.

when I was 24 if someone had said to me " mate you can earn $400k+ a year but for that you have to not drink and not be out after midnight" I would have bitten their arm off. They can drink and fight as much as they like once they reach 32. Until then they are responsible for the image of the game, if they want to drink and stay out till 3am there are plenty of brickie jobs out there.

why should they have a curfew :?

So Marshall has come out and admitted that he did hit a bloke who racially abused him...

Should has just walked away IMO..

when I was 24 if someone had said to me " mate you can earn $400k+ a year but for that you have to not drink and not be out after midnight" I would have bitten their arm off. They can drink and fight as much as they like once they reach 32. Until then they are responsible for the image of the game, if they want to drink and stay out till 3am there are plenty of brickie jobs out there.

whilst i agree 100%, its important to note that benji has said he was staying at the hotel over the road, not out drinking, and just left to get some maccas.

in hindsight he should have just ordered some room service, however its not exactly asking for trouble walk across the road and get something to eat with a mate.

Funny thread.

Its always amusing to see so many rush to judgement.

How about we find out exactly what happened first?

Being the corner of bridge and george st there is very likely to be cctv footage of it , there is always trouble around there.

It is if you're a professional footballer who feels the need for caffeine at 3am

what has occupation got to do with coffee :?

Obviously not. But due to licencing laws, the staffing and other costs involved, the time it takes to clean up, and trying to cater to attendees regular 'going home' patterns just about all functions wrap up at a reasonable time. ie. well before 3am.

so basically you have no idea

The Gambler

Not impossible. But who in their right mind feels like a coffee at 3:20 AM?

Having a coffee at 3 AM makes about as much sense as going to the pub and having a schooner at 9 AM.
To be honest I don't give a sh!t if he ate 6 Big Macs - they guy trains at least 6 days a week and is fit as a fiddle.

Brett Hodgson used to eat Maccas for breakfast before every training session - he held up alright.

Is not a part of anyone's contract.

That's drawing a ridiculously long bow and the circumstances couldn't be any different. I think it's fair to say none of us are elite athletes earning hundreds of thousands of dollars a year to compete at the top level in a professional sport. If i ever was which i think is fair to say will never happen i won't piss on on until the early hours of the morning a week before the season starts.

A whole week away for the season...ages to recover :) seriously what professional team sportsmen don't piss up? The long bow to draw is expecting young blokes to behave themselves all of the time. Dead set this is the first notable issue in Marshall's career that i can think of off the top of my head

:?

you're Victorianian

you can be the biggest unco on the planet and earn a fortune playing AFL

Evenflow

Victorian alert

shouldn't you be watching fumbleball?

No, why? Ahh i see what you did there, i live in an AFL state so you assume i'll be watching AFL. using that "logic" shouldn't you be watching union? Geez you're a genius of Gaba like proportions, now the Terrorgraph are paying the public to bait footy players so they retaliate while hiding behind the bushes with their camera at the ready. You've got some serious f**king issues champ :lol:

why should they have a curfew :?

do you read the papers or watch the news?????

In an ideal world they shouldn't, but we live in a far from ideal world. The public won;t care if Benji was drunk or sober, they won;t care if the bloke deserved a smack in the face, all they will read is NRL star in fight and the perception of NRL and RL players takes another nose dive. Why does public perception matter? Because it effects popularity of the game which effects sponsors, crowds, TV deals etc etc.

Personally I don;t care, I love the game and Benji getting into a tiff won;t change that a bit, but for the other 99% of the public that are not die hard fans of RL it does matter as they are like sheep and blindly follow what the media tells them.

Mader45

I know the bloke personally who was involved in this particular incident. It was a set up for cash, his best mate was ready with the camera.

Not the first time he/they have tried it by the way..

Alot of people put sh*t on this post. Can't obviously be true. Don't know why. My bro is great mates with a Socceroo and has told me quite a few times about how when he goes out with him when he is in the country that it's a pain in the ass cause you always get 1 or 2 gronk drunk dickheads trying to start sh*t and one of them always has a camera phone at the ready. Mentioned a time when he was with him and Jarryd Hayne at the races and was saying Hayne was copping far more sh*t then his mate from the gronk wankers.

Don't know about you guys, but I can't imagine every incident is always going to be able to end in a 'yeah, good on ya mate', respectably walk away situation in such a tall-poppy, media hungry piss head boganized country like this.

AlwaysGreen

do you read the papers or watch the news?????

In an ideal world they shouldn't, but we live in a far from ideal world. The public won;t care if Benji was drunk or sober, they won;t care if the bloke deserved a smack in the face, all they will read is NRL star in fight and the perception of NRL and RL players takes another nose dive. Why does public perception matter? Because it effects popularity of the game which effects sponsors, crowds, TV deals etc etc.

Personally I don;t care, I love the game and Benji getting into a tiff won;t change that a bit, but for the other 99% of the public that are not die hard fans of RL it does matter as they are like sheep and blindly follow what the media tells them.

Just because you put a curfew on players doesn't mean that Joe Public is going to follow it. Instead of taunting him at 320am they would just taunt him at 320pm.

Marshall seems to have gone about this the wrong way by klonking the bloke but he's allowed to live.

No, why? Ahh i see what you did there, i live in an AFL state so you assume i'll be watching AFL. using that "logic" shouldn't you be watching union? Geez you're a genius of Gaba like proportions, now the Terrorgraph are paying the public to bait footy players so they retaliate while hiding behind the bushes with their camera at the ready. You've got some serious f**king issues champ :lol:

get it right

they pay for mobile footage where dickheads have set up players

I have had some fun with this thread just to stir up Tigers fans but here's my actual opinion.

Benji has probably done the exact same thing any one of us would have done under the circumstances. The level of scrutiny NRL players get is way over the top. But they should be aware of this. These guys earn up to 10 times what most people their age are earning and their is responsibility to come from that.

Not just responsibility but they should be aware of the fact that if they head out at 3am in the middle of the city where just about everybody else is drunk off their toes, then there could be trouble regardless of whether they instigate it or not. Because everybody knows who they are and if they cop an odd insulting comment, racist or otherwise, they should be smart enough to just ignore it as opposed to decking a bloke. Because having such a high profile has it's downside.

So if Benji hit a bloke in the face because he was racially taunted, well he should known better really. With a profile like his, you cannot just do something like that and expect it to go un-noticed. It's not a hangable offence and hopefully not as bad as it sounds. People get into fights every weekend in the city and far worse than this one... but the best thing to do is walk away ESPECIALLY if you've a profile like Benji does. If he'd have done that he wouldn't be in this position at all, wouldn't have to speak to police etc. But you cannot have it both ways.

pff. responsibility. NRL players get money due to the sheer amount of fans that watch it. LUers generally some of the biggest fans going around, do you pay up to see footy, or "role models". I honeslty don't care if Benji decked some merkin for being a merkin. Wish the media would stop wasting our time.