Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Benji Marshall ?

TheRev

Really keen to know where he is going to play.. if its in the halves you'd wonder what's going to happen to Witt/Williams/Stanley, we need someone to cover injury but the queue gets a lot longer.

Quinlan is playing fullback only atm so no real change for him, hes still next in line for the #1 jersey.

krispyredv

Really keen to know where he is going to play.. if its in the halves you'd wonder what's going to happen to Witt/Williams/Stanley, we need someone to cover injury but the queue gets a lot longer.

Quinlan is playing fullback only atm so no real change for him, hes still next in line for the #1 jersey.

Either right centre or half, would kill it at centre IMO with his footwork and flick passes

nrlnrl

if it eventuates ( seeming more & more likely ) wonder if club will grant Williams or others a release ?

Redvpassion

Seeing we have the depth in the halves and also could say depth in the centers, if Benji does sign, is this an approach that the club is taking because they are in panic mode or is it because of his once known calibre.????

Makes you feel for players like Williams who has about 10 plus years of footy ahead of him, not really been given a good chance to prove himself.

Just wondering if this is a panic signing cause as you have all touched on this, we have players that are waiting for their chance to shine in the halves and centers. Where does that leave Quinlan, style, matai dude In the cutters, just to name a few.??? Thoughts????

Highland Saint

Good questions Passion, with a young squad they may be looking for another experienced hand at the tiller but will he provide a steady influence. If he is signed I'd hope there is a fixed spot allocated for him becauseif we start experimenting again the season could be over before there is any sort of structure. And as Benji has an expiry date you don't wanna waste too much opportune time

Couldn't agree more highland saint, if the club signs benji surely they agree to throw him in at half or possibly right centre (given Farrell is out for an indefinite time) and use him as a senior figure to help aid the development of young players like Williams. Williams May have ten years of footy ahead of him but not all young halves achieve their potential early like a DCE or. Thruston. Look at Hodgkinson, break out season with Manly about five years ago then nothing for almost three seasons and only the last year or so is starting to show how consistent he can be, Williams has had his moments and will improve with age (hopefully), having a guy like Marshall at the club may really enhance his development.

nrlnrl

funny that an article in the SMH mentions the meeting between Benji Marshall & the Dragons didn't happen at St George Leagues Club, plus the fact Wayne Beavis is negotiating on Marshall's behalf after the Tim Moltzen fiasco ( for those that don't know, at the time Marshall & Moltzen had the same manager ). The Telegraph article explains that Beavis is doing this for certain clubs.

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sp...+dailytelegraphnrlndm+(Daily+Telegraph+|+NRL)

http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...etween-dragons-and-sharks-20140501-zr2st.html

goodplayer

1 or 2 weeks could be injuries ok
Good questions Passion, with a young squad they may be looking for another experienced hand at the tiller but will he provide a steady influence. If he is signed I'd hope there is a fixed spot allocated for him becauseif we start experimenting again the season could be over before there is any sort of structure. And as Benji has an expiry date you don't wanna waste too much opportune time

another experienced hand as in benji is what all teams need :cool:

getsmarty

Late Dragons bid could see Benji Marshall swim away from sharks offer

By BRAD WALTER

May 1, 2014, 10 p.m.
NRL
Benji Marshall is set to decide on Friday between St George Illawarra and Cronulla after the Dragons sensationally re-entered the race to sign the former Wests Tigers playmaker.

Benji Marshall

Marshall, who has now returned to Sydney permanently, met St George Illawarra coach Steve Price on Wednesday and is considering a deal to join the Dragons until 2016.
He has also met Sharks officials and intends to decide quickly where he will resume his NRL career after rejecting an offer from Melbourne.
While Marshall had been interested in playing under Craig Bellamy in a team featuring Cameron Smith, Cooper Cronk and Billy Slater, the deal with the Storm was only for the remainder of the season.
St George Illawarra and Cronulla have proposed 2½-year deals.
With former Tigers teammates Andrew Fifita, Chris Heighington, Beau Ryan, Bryce Gibbs and Blake Ayshford at Cronulla, along with ex-chief executive Steve Noyce, who was in charge of the joint venture when Marshall began his career in 2003, the Sharks have been favourites to sign him since Fairfax Media revealed 10 days ago he was quitting the Auckland Blues.
However, the Dragons also appeal and his signing would complete an all-star backline that includes Gareth Widdop, Jason Nightingale, Gerard Beale, Brett Morris, Josh Dugan and Dylan Farrell.
Marshall also has close friends in Wollongong and he drove there to spend the night after flying into Sydney last Thursday for a weekend visit to consult manager Martin Tauber and begin sorting through his options.
The Cowboys and Parramatta also expressed interest in the 29-year-old but Fairfax Media was told he had ruled out all but the Sharks and Storm before returning to Auckland.
However, the Dragons re-emerged as a serious option midweek and Marshall is understood to have met Price on Wednesday - but not at St George Leagues Club as reported on social media.
Before his return to Sydney on Wednesday, Marshall and wife Zoe managed to sell their house in Auckland.
Zoe, who had television and radio work in Auckland, will follow Marshall to Sydney next week.
If he signs with St George Illawarra, Marshall's first game could be as soon as next Sunday against Canterbury at ANZ Stadium.
With the Mother's Day clash being a Dragons home game, the club could cash in as Marshall's presence would be sure to attract a lot of interest.
The Sharks play the Eels at Parramatta Stadium the following night then host Wests Tigers the following weekend in a match guaranteed to draw a big crowd if he played.
The Tigers are seeking compensation from whichever club signs Marshall, as there was a clause in his deed of release at the end of last season in which he agreed not to play for anyone else in the NRL before 2016. Salford and Catalans Dragons also expressed interest, but Marshall did not want to play in the Super League.

http://www.illawarramercury.com.au/...-marshall-swim-away-from-sharks-offer/?cs=302

mickeylane

Benji Marshall will lift the club and give us an unbelievable confidence in attack. Watch Duges, Widdup and even the forwards like Frizell and Merrin lift!

I can't believe the mob on this site do not want Marshall at the club... If he signs I'm sure he"ll fast become the forums favourite..

Pray he signs!!

Dragons4lyf95

Benji Marshall will lift the club and give us an unbelievable confidence in attack. Watch Duges, Widdup and even the forwards like Frizell and Merrin lift!

I can't believe the mob on this site do not want Marshall at the club... If he signs I'm sure he"ll fast become the forums favourite..

Pray he signs!!

100% agree !! It will be nothing but good for the club especially on a price like that he will want to prove massively how much of a player he is and soon enough could potentially be back to his best he does look like he has a point to prove it will do nothing but boost the club

goodplayer

all merchandise sales will go up

the benji hype will lift the crowds , fans , tv rateings

i would have got benji in the anzac test match . even on the bench

you should take all the chances you get

benji could not stay away from the game he loves

nrl fans love benji

benji is back where he belongs

benji is back baby

rush benji on the nz kiwi bench

not - heer anzac test is dead , no promo . hhaa benji might be in nrl soon wawa i dont what to do . geegee confusion sets in bla bla

saints4me

Pray he signs!!

Well said ML. I can't believe some of the negative comments on here!
Bring it on I say! Come on Benji.

:D

BennyV

Couldn't agree more highland saint, if the club signs benji surely they agree to throw him in at half or possibly right centre (given Farrell is out for an indefinite time) and use him as a senior figure to help aid the development of young players like Williams. Williams May have ten years of footy ahead of him but not all young halves achieve their potential early like a DCE or. Thruston. Look at Hodgkinson, break out season with Manly about five years ago then nothing for almost three seasons and only the last year or so is starting to show how consistent he can be, Williams has had his moments and will improve with age (hopefully), having a guy like Marshall at the club may really enhance his development.

There's more than just Williams, Quinlan will be earmarked as a 7 before long, and we have Clune, Crook and Hutchison still to graduate from NYC. Having Benji on top of Widdop and Witt provides decent mentors for young halves.

The Footy Show have him at a guest host next week...if we sign him, I hope it's not a regular thing, he's got an uphill battle in front of him to get his body and mind right to re-enter the NRL, he's no good to us if he gets caught up in his former media circus..

I would definitely not play him at centre, doesn't have the speed (at least, he didn't when he left), strength or defense for it. Needs to be a 7 (or 6, with Widdop at 7), his strengths are a bit of footwork, slight of hand and creativity with the ball. With a Mata'utia type outside him, and Widdop mainly running the show (cause he's so calm, right) he will look ok in the backs. .

Mattc

I think we are being used.
'Money or Mates'.
He'll choose the Sharks, and show everyone what a good guy he is and how it's not all about the money.
The media PR campaign is in full swing, and we are caught in the middle.

For the record, I hope I'm wrong.
I reckon he would be a good signing for us.

hewi

Surely it would be to play halfback or allow Widdop to go to half and Benji to 5/8. I thought I saw one comment from him that he wanted to play in a team that had a chance of making the finals and I don't think that will happen this year for the sharkies. I say sign him ASAP.

18to87

I think we are being used.
'Money or Mates'.
He'll choose the Sharks, and show everyone what a good guy he is and how it's not all about the money.
The media PR campaign is in full swing, and we are caught in the middle.

For the record, I hope I'm wrong.
I reckon he would be a good signing for us.

This