Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Bennett calls for Norm Provan to be the next immortal.

Blood Shot Eyes

A record second to none and if we had of played the number of games and test matches we do today back then "Sticks' record would be even more imposing.
IMO next 2 immortals without a doubt should be N. Provan, K Irvine.
Irvine's record is so great that the so called superstars of today still can't catch him despite in some cases playing almost 100 games more than him.
The game of RL was made great by these 2 giants of the game.
Yep I agree re Proven and Irvine OT......not suggesting he should be an immortal but Johnny King wasnt that far behind Ken imo

ouryear

A few of these immortals were of course legends on the field but questionable to say the least off it.
Provan, though I never saw him play, has an unbelievable record on the field and perhaps even better off it, a true gentleman, astute businessman who never took a backward step

Proven was a master of the game,
And a magnificent man manager.

He controlled the game, not the ref.
He called the shots, not always leaving it to his halves.
Touch one his players, then pray to god that sticks wouldn't break you in two.

Sticks had a super strategic brain, planned everything.
Awesome communicator.
Tough as a bull.

No.... He was tougher.

Great player, great coach, did everything.

Imagine a player coach today, let alone 10 grand finals.

Can't even get a coach to coach.. nor a player to play.

His job wasn't easy just because he had some great players, they each had egos, each had their issues, each thought perhaps they knew better.

But sticks kept his team together, all working for the same goal. They trusted him, they loved him, but he didn't take it easy on them. He drove it hard.

Then there was Australia... Geeze, what a player.

How the hell hasn't he already been selected. It's totally ridiculous.

Andrew Johns?? FMD

TruSaint

Signed the petition.

Geez, there’s some action there. The number of signatures went crazy while I was on...like watching the pokies spin. Now in excess of 500 .

Thanks Tru and let’s hope he gets there.

Thank you mate... Lets spread the word and see what we can do.. Great start indeed.

Signed the petition.

Geez, there’s some action there. The number of signatures went crazy while I was on...like watching the pokies spin. Now in excess of 500 .

Thanks Tru and let’s hope he gets there.

I signed also and as you said the thing was spinning just like those good old fashioned 1 armed bandits ! Did anyone get the other petition for Tony Abbott to be Prime Minister again ?

Red V for life

I’ve been thinking more on this.

If this concept is fair dinkum, there are no other ‘real’ candidates. What he has achieved is unsurpassed and unlikely to ever be surpassed. He is the best candidate worthy of ‘lasting fame’ which is the definition most appropriate for the term Immortal in this context. So, they should be able to announce it now, but that doesn’t make news or sell papers.

What scares me is that Provan may not be seen as ‘commercially’ a good choice compared to a Lockyer for example. This of course would be covered up by the ‘different era’ sh!t excuse.

Anyway, I won’t put the cart before the horse and fly into a rage just yet. All i’ll say is that I hope he gets the nod and is here to enjoy an honour that shoud’ve been bestowed on him YEARS ago.

Do you think Cam Smith (don’t get me started) and JT will wait as long? Judging by Johns, no.