Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Bennett to be axed.

ouryears

Until he took on Matt Lodge, I would say Bennett did have integrity. Not anymore OY. I think this may have been his downfall.

Mate I don't really agree.

Lodge got drunk and went on a dumb rampage.

It was less than what Packer did and we got him back into humanity.

I believe we need to first penalise wrong doers...but we must then help them become the people we hope them to be.

We can't just toss them on a scrap heap, we need to give them the boundaries, enforce the rules, but we need to also help make better men of them.

If we just washed out hands of them, they would reoffend and most likely eventually take theirs or another life.

I admire and respect people who help rehabilitate people.

Geeze, we all deserve another chance.

Bennett goes up in my esteem, not down.

ouryears

Wayne Bennett has not lost it at all. I mean, he went to a prelim last year and a grand final 2 years ago (and let's be honest, it probably should have been a premiership if not for a few brain snaps). And 2016 was semis I think?

I'm not saying I would sack Mary for him, but the notion he has lost it based on 12 up and down games always makes me chuckle.
Yes me too.

He is a living legend to my thinking.

Him and Jack Gibson.

Not Bellamy, the little sneaky rorting d..k head.

ouryears

Listening to John Stanley yesterday he said that when Bennett almost came back to us. The plan was for him to coach us for 2 years and then joint coach with Dean Young for the 3rd year, then Deano would take over. What would we have thought about that?
Bennett great.
Deano < Price.

ouryears

Have just read today's Tele. Melbourne has told Brisbane that if it comes to a bidding war for Bellamy's services that they will match the Broncos dollar for dollar .

And they are referring to the princely sum of $ 5 .4 million dollars , chicken feed to them .

And people wonder why those 2 teams are always at the top of the tree , picking the juiciest fruit of them all - the Premiership ?
Well mate, they must shit in their nappies when Sharks, Cowboys, Dragon's win comps.

I mean with our $5 vs their multi millions.

Ohhhh wait, but you can't buy heart and spirit!

Sucked in RoRters!
Storm, Roosters and the Donkeys!

ouryears

You don't need to like everyone you work with or for.
He was on the up with our great club after winning a comp with cutters. He could have been the next NRL Dragons coach if he played his cards right.
Where is he now? A long way from anywhere near NRL Head Coach....
Within the next three saCKings he will get a gig.

Parramatta, Raiders, or Cowboys if Greene doesn't turn it around.

Well mate, they must shit in their nappies when Sharks, Cowboys, Dragon's win comps.

I mean with our $5 vs their multi millions.

Ohhhh wait, but you can't buy heart and spirit!

Sucked in RoRters!
Storm, Roosters and the Donkeys!

ouryears - get of that bluudy sherry or whatever it is you have been slurping . I don't believe that the Narkies and Cowboys are short of a quid ! The Sharks are already making arrangements to bring Barba back whilst the Cowboys are out shopping once again . I am afraid that it may very well be only the Dragons who are shopping in the bargain basement store .

John moz

Saint wayne he is part of the red v family now and forever. Part of our history in coaching and winning a GF also 2 minor premierships and world champions. Come back as a CEO of the club take over doust and attract sponsors and players like gould has done for penrith

Frank Facer

The old bloke has been a tremendous coach.

Doesn't appear himself at the moment. Bennett may have lost his passion to coach.

The blonde may have secured his focus below the waist line.

I would prefer someone much younger if Mary were to fail this year.

If Broncos sack him I would expect him to retire or head to Super League.
Bennett said that he doesn't want to go and coach in England. He also said that he does want to continue to coach in the NRL next season and that there are already offers on the table?

Frank Facer

Based on empirical evidence only, the notion of Bennett returning may not as fanciful as some may believe.

One aspect overlooked is his friendship with Peter Doust - this may (although unlikely) be influential with any decision.

I also feel the Board would have him back in a jiffy.
While we are leading the comp this year, I doubt that we will be approaching any other coaches this season.

Based on what exactly would you have Demitrou at SGI...his first grade experience at NRL level?

The perpetual fawning over an unproven bloke has reached hysterical proportions.

If Demetriou was capable of leading an NRL club, he wouldn't currently be overlooked at Brisbane. After all, it was Bennett who 'headhunter' him a couple of years ago.
So when McGregor was preferred over Demetriou "a couple of years ago" how much first grade experience did McGregor have?
Bush coaching and a couple of ordinary years coaching reserve grade?
Demetriou actually has nothing to prove - he has an impressive coaching record and just hasn't been given a chance in FG.
I would have him at St. George based on his back to back ISP premierships - one he won with the Cutters.
The style of entertaining football he played that year which was a joy to watch.
His technical ability as a coach - also on display supporting Bennett.
I mean if you can't see his ability then you are not looking close enough.
Siebold is an examples of a good young coach who was given a chance at Souths and has done very well.
We should have given Demetriou a chance.
"Fawning" + "Hysterical" = over exaggeration my friend.

Pro Dragons

What's not often considered is Melbourne has won only 31% of their games without Smith playing. It remains to be seen how Bellamy will go without Smith in his squad. Many good coaches would be successful with Slater, Smith and Cronk playing year after year in their team.

ouryears

ouryears - get of that bluudy sherry or whatever it is you have been slurping . I don't believe that the Narkies and Cowboys are short of a quid ! The Sharks are already making arrangements to bring Barba back whilst the Cowboys are out shopping once again . I am afraid that it may very well be only the Dragons who are shopping in the bargain basement store .
What i meant was i don't think the Sharks or the cowboys rort the salary cap.

Melbourne are proven rorters.
and the Broncos have huge TPAs

Drag Queen

I believe we need to first penalise wrong doers...but we must then help them become the people we hope them to be.

We can't just toss them on a scrap heap, we need to give them the boundaries, enforce the rules, but we need to also help make better men of them.

If we just washed out hands of them, they would reoffend and most likely eventually take theirs or another life.

You need to look into the full story mate. This prick not only assaulted a guy but terrorised a young woman and her kid. Not to mention he regularly beat up his girlfriend. Fact, as reported recently. Packer's charges were nothing like this and yet he did his time. Totally disagree with you on this one ouryears. Did no time and paid no compensation to the traumatised family. Yet he gets a second chance in footy. Go figure!

ouryears

You need to look into the full story mate. This prick not only assaulted a guy but terrorised a young woman and her kid. Not to mention he regularly beat up his girlfriend. Fact, as reported recently. Packer's charges were nothing like this and yet he did his time. Totally disagree with you on this one ouryears. Did no time and paid no compensation to the traumatised family. Yet he gets a second chance in footy. Go figure!
I agree DQ, what he did was terrible.

Packer bashed a bloke and then when the guy was lying defenceless on the ground he romper stomper him in the head.

Equivalent to a coward punch.

I think he and Lodge are on par.

If Lodge steps out of line once, I would support a life time ban, but I still think he deserves this chance.

Otherwise we would have a scrap heap larger than half the Earth's land mass.

im sick of sporting bodies being the moral authority let the law deal with them and once their sentences are complete it should be their right to move on in life

ouryears

im sick of sporting bodies being the moral authority let the law deal with them and once their sentences are complete it should be their right to move on in life

Yep I agree with you.

Otherwise... let's ban them from all work places, don't let them go shopping, or drive a car, don't let them have friends or ever get married.

Let's just bury them.

Or we could let them just get on with life once punished.

Drag Queen

I agree DQ, what he did was terrible.

Packer bashed a bloke and then when the guy was lying defenceless on the ground he romper stomper him in the head.

Equivalent to a coward punch.

I think he and Lodge are on par.

If Lodge steps out of line once, I would support a life time ban, but I still think he deserves this chance.

Otherwise we would have a scrap heap larger than half the Earth's land mass.
I was one of the first to say Packer had no right to get back into footy. I stand by that. He did a stint in jail which he deserved. Should have been longer in my opinion if I'm honest. Lodge managed to avoid this which to me is incomprehensible. He has left a woman and child with PTSD, has not paid compensation, and to my knowledge has not shown much remorse except to the media. Nope.

ouryears

They werent the Australian spine when Bellamy took over.
I hardly think he made them into what they became.

Without Smith the grub... Bellyache only wins 33 per cent of games.

I think that says it all.

Before claiming great coaching status, he needs to coach another team to success....I doubt he can.

Didn't work out at SOO level.

ouryears

Hate him!

The Chicken Wing. The Grapple. The Crusher. The Cannonball. The Reverse Cannonball. Grego Roman Wrestling and the exploitation of Pressure points. Plus, lets not forget the ever reliable Christmas hold!

Did I leave any out?

People of his ilk are ruining the game. Personally, I think that his style of coaching is the kind of pox that NRL researchers need to find a cure for.
Agree mate, in fact I am researching one way tickets to Siberia... and will send the little fu##er a ticket in the mail.