Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Best Pub in Brisbane to watch the Footy??

PJ Marshal

crushers had that dodgy asian restraunt in there the last time i was there

arana goes allright, i reckon the best pubs are in caxton street

Sir Biffo

crushers had that dodgy asian restraunt in there the last time i was there

arana goes allright, i reckon the best pubs are in caxton street

Don't speak ill of Mr Choks Buffet World!

It's a sh*thole club, smack bang in a bloody resedential area. I'm a member there, we go out for the $18 all you can eat every few weeks. Never more that 20-30 people in the place. Mind you, we don't go on Fri/Sat cos they put the price up to $25 or something outrageous.

Packy

What pubs play AFL/Yawnion over League?

Been in Brisbane since 2003 and apart from Bloodyslow never seen it ... And if they are on fox on a Friday night watching an AFL game, just ask them to change it. You won't get any complaints :lol:

The Stocky or Exchange or whatever they call it now days... Ever since the world cup they have been up Unions arse.

And with regards to Crushers... I hadn't been there in many years.. figured it should have been ok still.

Sir Biffo

The Stocky or Exchange or whatever they call it now days... Ever since the world cup they have been up Unions arse.

And with regards to Crushers... I hadn't been there in many years.. figured it should have been ok still.

Yeah they used to have those "clubhouse" posters up I remember now. It's not really a venue for sport now that it's re-opened ... they're trying to re-badge themselves as a classy joint, when the reality is it's still a sh*thole.

miccle

I love watching the Broncos when they lose at away games at the leagues club. The place empties out about 20 minutes before full time.

Hmm I seem to remember a certain team with a Red V staging the biggest ever comeback in the final 20 minutes of a match against Manly in recent years. Enthralling finish, pity only 210 people were left in the stands to see it. ;-)

PJ Marshal

the exchange is sh*t ive always hated it, porto goes allright...i remeber the days before the nets around the top deck with glasses mysteriously smashing down on and caround cars below lol

Brothers Leagues Club at the Grange was renowned for old shaggers blowing their smoke everywhere during bingo. Thanks nanna for taking me to bingo - it was great for the lungs.

And now I hear they are trying to turn the old establishment (now the Crushers Leagues club) into a classy joint.

How times have changed:lol:

Joker's Wild

Brothers Leagues Club at the Grange was renowned for old shaggers blowing their smoke everywhere during bingo. Thanks nanna for taking me to bingo - it was great for the lungs.

And now I hear they are trying to turn the old establishment (now the Crushers Leagues club) into a classy joint.

How times have changed:lol:

No evidence of "classy" yet mate :lol:

The Stafford Tavern up the road is far better

t-ba

Hmm I seem to remember a certain team with a Red V staging the biggest ever comeback in the final 20 minutes of a match against Manly in recent years. Enthralling finish, pity only 210 people were left in the stands to see it. ;-)

The moment Watmong started charging down kicks when we were 30 up I knew I was about to watch something more painful than the end of the 1997 grand final and rd22 of 2006 combined.

Crushers is pretty damned good, and their bistro there is the greatest you'll ever experience!

Don't know about the best, but if your southside the Monier Hotel has quite a few screens to watch it on.

I miss the Brewhouse, quite a regular I was.

christopher

WHAT pubs in the city don't prefer league over everything else?

The Vic, the Casino or one of the many Irish pubs in the city is prob the best option.

Why would you want to go to the suburbs if you are a tourist??

In the city perhaps Pig and Whistle is the only joint which doesn't show much league... but that's cause it doesn't hsow much Australian sport full stop.

Its always got soccer or NFL or NBA or some weird international sport as there essentially a backpacker bar.

The re done Vic has a great huge big screen in the beer garden which would always be showing league, perhaps unless its a big union test match or something.

And The Caxton is obviously another good spot. The strip joint across the road is also excellent, one of Australia's best.

The Normanby is pretty ferel but entertaining and has another massive screen which will always show league matches. My girl friend works the bar there, they average one glassing per weekend so getting sh*tfaced there is not a good option.