Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Birds cheapshot in perspective

Sure, dumb!! Dumbest thing ever becuase it was never going to do any damage & was always going to get caught.
Lets look at some other incedents.

Stephen kearney
Breaks a guys neck in vicous, deliberate spear tackle. 4 or 6 weeks?

Morley
week in week out his cowardly powerful blindside shots concuss somebody. 2-4 weeks each time?

Ex Tiger dude
Breaks guys face into 100 bits in powerful full force swinging arm. 10 weeks?

Maddo
Same deal, not as destructive, but for some reason he gets 12 weeks?

There is a start, I'm sure there are a lot more.
I won't mention Jason Stevens in England either ssssshhh!

Not condoning what Bird did but I have watched the slow mo of the entire event a few times now.
I think I know why his brain snapp occurred.
going into the tackle, Marteene leapt into the air & lead with his knee into Birds knackers. It looks like it may be accidental but I bet it hurt.

Anyone else seen it again yet?
Comments?

givmeabeer

Hey Shireshark Have you ever tackled Beattie front on?

Give it a go

Then you'll find out if he really is a big softie..

Bickers is a great bloke, he might start next week.

Hey Shireshark Have you ever tackled Beattie front on?

Give it a go

Then you'll find out if he really is a big softie..

Bickers is a great bloke, he might start next week.

Havent tackled beattie front on
But the point I make is that he used to be a lot tougher than he is now

Agree on Bickers, a top bloke and a guy with integrity. Doesnt shy away from the tough work and would never let his team down. The complete opposite of Greg Bird. I think he'd be good medicine right now, get rid of Nutley out of the 17.

carinashark

Nutley was the real idiot last night ! Why Raper didnt haul him off is amazing . Once he starts it seemes he cant stop making an ass of himself.If only he would concentrate on his play! Bickerstaff had a great game , he is a must for next week as is Isemonger both gave 100%. Bird ? Ummm well Marteen was at him all night with the dirty stuff ,in the end he was the one who lost it. He needs a rest. Blacktip has been right about Saleh tho . On the feild he is all class.
Carinashark

the angle isnt clear but it would explain his burst of anger
:?
no it wouldnt

lets not make excuses for the git
plus if he got hit in the nuts and it hurt, you'd reckon he'd look hurt
he looked fine
he's just a spiteful moron

I can't wait to get a good look at it.

There is a very high knee & Bird goes backwards & away.

The right angle will be good.

Foz

If he did get kneed in the Jatz Crackers he should have come in swinging with the punches. The video ref may then have had a look at it. Doubtful he would of got sent then.
How he has gone about it is cheap and underhanded IMO.

millersnose

no excuses for him at all SS

it would just explain the bizarre reaction

doesnt make any difference to me it was still low

and as foz says he should of started swinging straight away in that case - not go to marker and walk back again

givmeabeer

Beats will get better once he starts. on Birdy, you can play the game tough and hard, but there is a boarder line. That knee was not on at all. The basics of our game are letting us down and the way we react under pressure is too, cause it is not the refs fault. Birdy is a good young kid but last night was a shocker. He'll cop it on the chin and so he should but we must start respecting the rules of the game. Its simple, play by the rules, we win games.

We've got to get rid of old habits from the last two seasons, cause where alot better footy side then what we are displaying. We have to be mentally strong and well as physcally strong.

We'll be ok though

beekershark

Maturity, and birds lack of it.

he was niggled all night, no question, remember he and mc druggal jnr nearly went fistys a few minutes before marteene cruelly head butted birdy in the knee.

but bird showed he lacked a big part of what is required to survive in first grade.

Birdy is a good young kid but last night was a shocker

That's the thing
He's NOT a good young kid

He's a lair and he is only thinking of getting his face in the papers and boosting his profile so he can pick up cheap tarts around the joint

He lacks discipline and doesnt have what it takes to be a true professional

SirShire

ShireShark said:
He's a lair and he is only thinking of getting his face in the papers and boosting his profile so he can pick up cheap tarts around the joint

:roll:

SirShire

I'm not sticking up for him but I wont deny the fact that he is a good little player and that some of you have always been out to get him.

I find that remark pretty ironic coming from you SS.

I think he has what it takes.
I just don't hink he's there yet.
But in the end this thread is no a bird bash. It was posted to put the incedent in perspective before the NRL handle it.
Was it really as bad as the roosters deliberate head slams on Friday night?

Foz said:
If he did get kneed in the Jatz Crackers he should have come in swinging with the punches. The video ref may then have had a look at it. Doubtful he would of got sent then.
How he has gone about it is cheap and underhanded IMO.

Foz, totaly agree mate. If he'd run past and snuck in a lttle left jab, we wouldn't be so disgusted, its the knee that makes it such a low act.

I wont deny the fact that he is a good little player
no he's not

some of you have always been out to get him.
i used to be a fan of his, but then i saw the light
and i figured out what sort of bloke that he is
he's a lair and very unprofessional
he showed his true colours last night
i think that the anti-bird camp has been vindicated in its beliefs after the disgraceful performance of last night

i dont want him dirtying the jersey ever again