Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Blacklock wants out of Rugby

El: "So seeing that you have spoken on behalf of Blacklock I simply ask"
No, it was a stupid question. Initially you said, 'what would he call it, umm darts?'
In the interest of doing you a favour, I ignored you.

But you ask it again and I said it was a stupid question. Firstly because I have already answered it in simple terms. But when thats not good enough I have to say, 'why dont ask him?'

Bronco: "Willow basically thinks hes channellingBlacklocks thoughts "
You mean as opposed to you channeling my thoughts? Since when did you work out how to put words into my mouth?

In a nutshell, the town of Tingha is a Rugby League community. Its a small place but they 'love their footy' - so to speak. I would assume that that they call RL 'footy' there just like I called RL 'footy' because I was also brought up in a RL community. Additionally, I've heardBlacklock callRL 'footy' after matches.

...but I have no idea what he calls RU...thats why I said 'ask him yourself'. If I said he called it 'Rugby', I'd be guessing.

If you guys cannot grasp this simple notion, then there's not much else I can do.

El: "It seems you only speak on Blacklock's behalf when it suits you."
I dont speak on anyone's behalf - I leave that up to others. All I have done in this thread and repeat what has already been said in TV and audio interviews. I made one assumption that Blacklock calls RL 'footy' because he comes from a RL background.... pretty safe bet I thought. Meanwhile, protagonists like yourself rely on believing in and repeating hearsay... ie bullshit.

El Duque

El: "So seeing that you have spoken on behalf of Blacklock I simply ask"
No, it was a stupid question. Initially you said, 'what would he call it, umm darts?'
In the interest of doing you a favour, I ignored you.

Bzzzzzz wrong. Below is what I asked

<table cellspacing=0 cellpadding=0 width="100%" border=1> <tbody> <tr class=ThmBgAlternate> <td nowrap align=middle background=http://sc.communities.msn.com/themes/pby/img/mb/reply_bg.gif>
c.gif
</td> <td width="100%"> <table cellspacing=0 cellpadding=0 width="100%" border=0> <tbody> <tr> <td> Recommend </td> <td align=right><a target=_top title="Delete this message">
small_delete_1.gif
Delete</a>Message 123 of 143 in Discussion </td></tr></tbody></table></td></tr> <tr class=ThmBgHighlightLight> <td width="100%" colspan=2> <table cellspacing=0 cellpadding=4 width="100%" border=0> <tbody> <tr> <td nowrap width="100%">From: El Duque</td> <td nowrap>Sent: 25/04/2003 3:40 PM</td></tr></tbody></table> <table class=ThmBgStandard cellspacing=0 cellpadding=10 width="100%" border=0> <tbody> <tr> <td> So Willow are you saying if I asked Blacklock if he was playing footy his answer would be no?

What would Blacklock say he's playing atm? Darts? :(
</td></tr></tbody></table></td></tr></tbody></table>

But you ask it again and I said it was a stupid question. Firstly because I have already answered it in simple terms. But when thats not good enough I have to say, 'why dont ask him?'

Bzzzz wrong. You have never answered it despite the fact you seem to think you know what Blacklock calls footy.

And how the f**k am I going to ask him? What a dickhead response!!!

El: "It seems you only speak on Blacklock's behalf when it suits you."
I dont speak on anyone's behalf - I leave that up to others. All I have done in this thread and repeat what has already been said in TV and audio interviews. I made one assumption that Blacklock calls RL 'footy' because he comes from a RL background.... pretty safe bet I thought. Meanwhile, protagonists like yourself rely on believing in and repeating hearsay... ie bullshit.

Bullshit!!
Countless times you have stated what Blacklock calls footy and in your last post you have practicallyspoken on behalf of the town of Tingha.

FMD... this isn't a discussion...its a mindless load of rubbish. WTF are you going on about now?

"'what would he call it, umm darts?'"
or
"What would Blacklock say he's playing atm? Darts? "
Whats the difference. Don't be silly.

"And how the f**k am I going to ask him? What a dickhead response!!!"
Bzzz...
Send him an email or do some research or watch a few interviews or get a life or don't bother... pick a box.

"Countless times you have stated what Blacklock calls footy and in your last post you have practicallyspoken on behalf of the town of Tingha." Crap. Thats because brainless cretins like you have to have it explained fifty bloody times - I rarely say anything outside of what I know first hand and on other occassions, its bleeding bloody obvious that Tingha is a RL town... thats what I've read and seen on the box... what do you want? Someone to go the Antartic to prove to you that its cold?

I can't help if you're bored shitless and have decided to waste someone else's time besides your own. Like I said, if you cant grasp what I'm saying, then there's not much else I can do.

Go ahead, have the last word...

El Duque

"'what would he call it, umm darts?'"
or
"What would Blacklock say he's playing atm? Darts? "
Whats the difference. Don't be silly.

That's two times you've failed to mention the first question which was

So Willow are you saying if I asked Blacklock if he was playing footy his answer would be no?

And how the f**k am I going to ask him? What a dickhead response!!!" Bzzz...
Send him an email or do some research or watch a few interviews or get a life or don't bother... pick a box.

I really wasn't wanting to know HIS answer I was wanting to know YOUR answer seeing you're his mouthpiece. Read the f**king question again!

"Countless times you have stated what Blacklock calls footy and in your last post you have practicallyspoken on behalf of the town of Tingha." Crap. Thats because brainless cretins like you have to have it explained fifty bloody times - I rarely say anything outside of what I know first hand and on other occassions, its bleeding bloody obvious that Tingha is a RL town... thats what I've read and seen on the box... what do you want? Someone to go the Antartic to prove to you that its cold?

You've explained nothing 50 times You state things as fact when you have NO f**kING IDEA!

Have you ever been to Tingha? Do you know that they don't call Union footy there?

Of course you know as you think you're some f**king genius because you saw something on TV once.

When I lived in a country town many people said they played footy on Saturday and Sunday. That meant they played League one day and Union the next, but you probably knew that already because you saw it on Sesame Street or Hi 5.

Ican't help if you're bored shitless and have decided to waste someone else's time besides your own. Like I said, if you cant grasp what I'm saying, then there's not much else I can do.

You're the one one who can't answer one f**king question.

Go ahead, have the last word... can't help if you're bored shitless and have decided to waste someone else's time besides your own. Like I said, if you cant grasp what I'm saying, then there's not much else I can do.

You need to say things twice in one post? Who's the one that's bored shitless?

Go ahead, have the last word...

No, why don't you?

"You need to say things twice in one post? Who's the one that's bored shitless?"
Just a technical point there but I never said the same thing twice in my last post. You're losing grip with reality.
In the words of a very wise and wordly dwarf: bzzz...wrong again.

FYI, Tingha is a tiny town of about 900 people. Blacklock played RL there as a kid.

Lets end this argument here, its getting silly

Willow, i think its pretty bleeding obvious that you drew the short straw in this argument. To suggest that Blacklock would not refer to union as footy is...um...odd. But hey, lets just move on

Cheers,
Moffo

Moffo, LOL.... I guess Tuqiri is real relevant to the convo.
emdgust.gif

I think you'll recall the point I was trying to make. That Blacklock never ruled out a return to League.

btw Moffo, I thought it was safe bet to assume that Blacklock calls RL footy, I was told that they don't play RU in Tingha... I never thought this was wrong because its such a small place and one school.

This is from a NSW Dept Education press release:
Students and staff at Tingha Public School are thrilled to be receiving a unique piece of sporting memorabilia from a former student and Kangaroo, the Dragons fullback and winger, Nathan Blacklock.
Nathan has lots of memories from his time at Tingha: 'I was school captain.just knowing that I have come from a small town and went to a small school where I really enjoyed going to school and making new friends. Also playing footy down the back where there were stacks of bindy burrs.

I don't know what he calls RU...you were quick to say he calls it footy. But I guess thats allright... its not the first time people have launched into argument without even looking in it.

Things went a little haywire over the district definition ofone word - whichyouand I were happy to drop. Nevertheless, I'm still not sure what Tuqiri has got to do with it. I know very little about his background. He comes from the Logan area doesnt he?

The relevance lies in the fact that Tuqiri, another ex-leaguie, referred to union as footy. I thought that was rather obvious upon first observation :(

Does the mere fact that Blacklock grew up in Tingha preclude him from exposure to union?

"I don't know what he calls RU...you were quick to say he calls it footy. But I guess thats allright... its not the first time people have launched into argument without even looking in it"

You were just as quick to say that he doesn't refer to RU as footy! lol, now this is getting humourous :p

" think you'll recall the point I was trying to make. That Blacklock never ruled out a return to League"

Fair enough, i never argued that either. Im saying that at the time, blacklock turned his back on league, only to return a year later. Can we at least agree upon that point?

Cheers,
Moffo

Moffo: "Im saying that at the time, blacklock turned his back on league, only to return a year later. Can we at least agree upon that point? "
Mate, I'll agree with you on that. I just said that he never ruled out returning to League. A statement which is at the very least, equally correct.
I said this in response to your claim that he 'changes his mind quite regularly'... then the convo got hi-jacked by definitions.

"You were just as quick to say that he doesn't refer to RU as footy! "
No, thats not correct...it certainly isnt my intended impression.
I said a number of times that he often calls RL 'footy' and was most likely referring to RL when he 'said' he needed a break from 'footy' (which I still havent found this quote anywhere btw) - I dont know what he calls RU... I've said that a number of times as well.

What he did say he needed a new challenge.

I thought the side argument was about what people call footy in their districts. Tuqiri and Blacklock come from pretty different areas - thats why I can't see what Tuqiri has to do it. I know lots of people call Union 'footy'. I never said anything to suggest otherwise.

I always assumed that the word 'footy' was used depending on where brought up with. It may be Union, League, Soccer or a mixture of all three. In my experience, we had all three sports and I played all three but we still called RL 'footy' because it was the dominant football code (we called RU 'Rugby'). I can't say what Blacklock calls Union but I know he calls RL 'footy'.
Having said all that, its pretty likely that he doesnt give a shit what you call it.

This is like one of those pub bets which will only be resolved by going to the source... only to get a blank look and a 'who cares?' in reply.

Anyway, I'm getting hassled to play cricket in the rain. Believe me, I'd rather be having a coldie and discussing this well into the afternoon with you, but duty calls. Cheers mate.

"This is like one of those pub bets which will only be resolved by going to the source... only to get a blank look and a 'who cares?' in reply"

Ahhh, a great summation of the last 50 posts. lol, great call. I dont know where i would be without my weekly dose of silly discussion

Cheers mate, have a good arvo

Moffo