Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Board meeting with Anderson

millersnose

sorry PJ

but i will trust the clubs judgement on this as they have a legal department

all due respect to your two mates though

PJ

No problems Millers, but is this the same legal team that told the club they wouldn't have to pay Gow anything? Spent a $100k or so on court fees etc. and ended up paying Gow?

And one of those mates is pretty close to the action

cheese

Aries said:
[The first part of "a)I doubt he would have chopped them all..." said it all for me cheese... you have then answered the rest according , post: -) [/quote"]
aries, i fail to see how it says it all :p ....because ...we didnt win ......no heart was shown! We lost to a mediocre(imo) new zealand side who have been in the comp only a few years! Our team hadnt won a comp in 36 years, and last year was one of our best opportunities to get to a grandfinal, but the players didnt want it enough! We should have smashed 'em! There is no way in hell that they could have possibly wanted it more than we did .....BUT, they did! .......weird.....losing culture maybe?! :idea:

And the gameplan thing .......i still reckon it would have worked with a better squad of players.......but hey, we'll never know will we! But yes, it wasnt working blah blah blah.........

f**k it ....this is all old news ......lets just see what happens!

Frenzy

blacktip-reefy said:
uummmm...wasn't the extension only applicable if the top 8 is made twice .

But even 650k is too much.

it won't come to that.

No, that has been our general belief but the wording is quite different I have found out. What most here thought was a 2 year option at the end of 2004 is not 100% correct.

The contract says, in legalese of course, that each time he makes the semis he is entitled to a 2 year option after that year.

This is why I am against the club doing anything silly that could see them get into big fiscal shit.

If they give him the rocket now they take away potential earnings for 2005 and 2006 as well. If he was to litigate successfully he'd be able to claim his wage x 3, plus bonuses that are in the contract and possibly punitive damages as well I believe.

So the risk is obvious from the club's point of view. If they let him go on for 2004 and the side happens to make the semis he gets 2005 and 2006 as well - as per the contract. If they dismiss him mid contract they stand to be up for a lot of money. Enough to, as E_S said, see the downfall of the club altogether.

It's not as easy as people think, it's a long way from over yet. Ando will not walk I wouldn't think unless any settlement offered covers his mortgage at least. How much did the press say he payed for the house? $1.5m wasn't it. Like we other workers he can't afford to walk away unless it's into another job - so I doubt he will.

Realistically, I don't see the side making the 2004 semis so I still maintain the club is better to bite the bullet for 2004 and keep him on.

The club has to be very clever and very cautious because so far Ando and the people who made this contract have been a step ahead all the way.

Who's the dipstick lawyer for the Sharks that accepted this contract is what I wanna know?

Aries

PJ said:
No problems Millers, but is this the same legal team that told the club they wouldn't have to pay Gow anything? Spent a $100k or so on court fees etc. and ended up paying Gow?

And one of those mates is pretty close to the action

Not to mention the poor buggers that were on ACA last night, and got legal advise on a defective copying machine and the $1600 bill that they got wanting to service it. It never ran right from day one, spent heaps trying to fix it and then refused to pay the last service of it because it was crap (sound familiar :? )

They maybe up for $250,000 in legal fees to the company they sued, plus the $37k they spent on the copier in the first place, plus all other lost revinue, plus the costs to the legal team that represented them, even though it was a no win no pay case :?

The only winners will be the lawyers, as always... Same here I fear!

cheese

hmmm ......we're definitely in a pickle!

The bite the bullet option does sound the more plausible ..........but if there really is an unrepairable underlining hatred between a few of the involved partys, and if anderson was to make the finals .........I can picture 3 more years of "he said, she said" spammed across the sun herald every week!

As someone else said on here .....they need to sit around with a few cartons, get tanked, punch on, make up, and move on!

Aries

cheese said:
Aries said:
[The first part of "a)I doubt he would have chopped them all..." said it all for me cheese... you have then answered the rest according , post: -) [/quote"]
aries, i fail to see how it says it all :p ....because ...we didnt win ......no heart was shown! We lost to a mediocre(imo) new zealand side who have been in the comp only a few years! Our team hadnt won a comp in 36 years, and last year was one of our best opportunities to get to a grandfinal, but the players didnt want it enough! We should have smashed 'em! There is no way in hell that they could have possibly wanted it more than we did .....BUT, they did! .......weird.....losing culture maybe?! :idea:

And the gameplan thing .......i still reckon it would have worked with a better squad of players.......but hey, we'll never know will we! But yes, it wasnt working blah blah blah.........

f**k it ....this is all old news ......lets just see what happens!

My point is, that you and others screamed from the roof tops that CA was right in cleaning out the joint... you then say "I doubt he would have chopped them all..." THAT says it all cheese...

It is easy to forget last year if you wish. The fact is that we were the dominant team, we had a roll on going and then the "goal posts were moved". The Kiwi's were shown how to beat us, twice, by the chooks, who got the rule changed. I was at that game last year, and Treister could hardly walk after tackling himself to a stand still and had a shoulder injury, McKenna chased a bloke for 70 meters and tried his guts out to do a "Sattler" but his ribs just wouldn't let him. He could hardly move, but he tried mate... that was our turning point in the match!

Peach was also on crutches... yes, how soon ppl forget!!

cheese

Aries said:
My point is, that you and others screamed from the roof tops that CA was right in cleaning out the joint... you then say "I doubt he would have chopped them all..." THAT says it all cheese...
wtf ....you make no sence .............my answer would have been "no he definitely wouldnt have" ...but how the fug am i to know as IT DIDNT happen!.....i answered with a typical fence sitting responce! Im not nostradamus ........im not going to pretend i know whats going to happen in the future .......for all i know opes could have run away to the circus and married a transvestite ape.......

You're speculating .....im answering with fact

yes, how soon ppl forget!!
I havent forgotten anything .......I remember we were'nt good enough

Aries

cheese said:
Aries said:
wtf ....you make no sence .............my answer would have been "no he definitely wouldnt have" ...but how the fug am i to know as IT DIDNT happen!.....i answered with a typical fence sitting responce! Im not nostradamus ........im not going to pretend i know whats going to happen in the future .......for all i know opes could have run away to the circus and married a transvestite ape.......

You're speculating .....im answering with fact

yes, how soon ppl forget!!
I havent forgotten anything .......I remember we were'nt good enough

I'm not going to repeat myself mate... Read what I said again... slowly this time and from the top...

Don't bother answering though, as you already did SAY IT ALL, as I said, and conveniently forgot, if you think the guys didn't try in the prelim last year ;-)

cheese

banghead.gif

Frenzy said:
blacktip-reefy said:
uummmm...wasn't the extension only applicable if the top 8 is made twice .

But even 650k is too much.

it won't come to that.

No, that has been our general belief but the wording is quite different I have found out. What most here thought was a 2 year option at the end of 2004 is not 100% correct.

The contract says, in legalese of course, that each time he makes the semis he is entitled to a 2 year option after that year.

This is why I am against the club doing anything silly that could see them get into big fiscal sh*t.

If they give him the rocket now they take away potential earnings for 2005 and 2006 as well. If he was to litigate successfully he'd be able to claim his wage x 3, plus bonuses that are in the contract and possibly punitive damages as well I believe.

So the risk is obvious from the club's point of view. If they let him go on for 2004 and the side happens to make the semis he gets 2005 and 2006 as well - as per the contract. If they dismiss him mid contract they stand to be up for a lot of money. Enough to, as E_S said, see the downfall of the club altogether.

It's not as easy as people think, it's a long way from over yet. Ando will not walk I wouldn't think unless any settlement offered covers his mortgage at least. How much did the press say he payed for the house? $1.5m wasn't it. Like we other workers he can't afford to walk away unless it's into another job - so I doubt he will.

Realistically, I don't see the side making the 2004 semis so I still maintain the club is better to bite the bullet for 2004 and keep him on.

The club has to be very clever and very cautious because so far Ando and the people who made this contract have been a step ahead all the way.

Who's the dipstick lawyer for the Sharks that accepted this contract is what I wanna know?

I can't se any contract ever being written like that.
He makes 8 th spot 3 times & that entitles him to 6 extra years!!!
9 years in total!!
No way. Don't believe it.
I'll go with the 3rd year top 8 scenario. It is logical.

& if he has breached PJ, prior to year 3, one would think that year is excluded.

PJ

I agree and disagree Griefy.

If he has breached means little, it was what can be proven and accepted by a court of law.

If it is proven he has breached 3 times, then the add ons are null and void.

It is the proving the breaches that I fear they will fall apart.

And if they do then the club will either have to reinstate him or pay him.

hhhmmmm
Maybe they should have chosen a few other things he did as breaches.
Such as bringing the Sharks into disrepute.
Calling the club, past players, supporters, shire all losers.
Sacking of contracted players.
Extremely poor performance.
Inability to attract any big name players.

I wonder aif they can have a look at all of his breaches & let the court select which ones are worthy.

Geez it's like Ando's greatest hits.

Frenzy

blacktip-reefy said:
I can't se any contract ever being written like that.
He makes 8 th spot 3 times & that entitles him to 6 extra years!!!
9 years in total!!
No way. Don't believe it.
I'll go with the 3rd year top 8 scenario. It is logical.

& if he has breached PJ, prior to year 3, one would think that year is excluded.

No, no, no it's not cumulative. It's only 2 years following the current year of making the semis not 2 for each. 2002 +2 = 2003 and 2004. That's where he is now

Make the semis in 2004 you add on 2005 and 06.

You'll have to trust me on this one reefy, 3 different board members told me at the GF luncheon.

Aries

Frenzy said:

WTF? You seem to have certanly changed your tune on the "rebuild" theory you pushed so hard all year... :shock:

Jimbo

blacktip-reefy said:
bringing the Sharks into disrepute.
When?

The board is bring the club into disrepute through the petty and unprofessional way it is carrying on.
Calling the club, past players, supporters, shire all losers.
Can you quote him?
Sacking of contracted players.
Coach's perogative. And done with the board's support.
Extremely poor performance.
4th place, with a record victory and winning streak in his first year is 'extremely poor performance?' Hardly...
Inability to attract any big name players.
Anderson has bought Kimmorley, Bailey, Bird, Vagana and Lomu. All are current internationals...

Frenzy

blacktip-reefy said:
Yeah well that makes logistic & legal sense.
So he has nothing ATM & is still bound to his base contract.

I'd say so, except it's the old chestnut "potential to earn" which has the potential to be a problem.

If and when he goes the first thing the Sharks should do is hire his lawyer or whoever penned this contract for themselves.

This is way messy

More red herrings than a can of King Oscar in tomato sauce.

Marty Moose

As a manager and supervisor of a number of staff. My understanding is if I give someone a written warning as an employer I am responsible to work with the staff member to assist them in overcoming their deficiances before I can give them a second warning.